This web browser is not supported. Use Chrome, Edge, Safari, or Firefox for best results.

XWord Info: New York Times Crossword Answers and Insights

XWord Info is the essential resource for crossword constructors and enthusiasts. Take the Tour to learn more, or read the FAQ.

Select Solution below to read daily commentary by Jeff Chen.

Showing data from:
Andrew Ries
Andrew Ries
The Saturday, January 11, 2020 crossword is by Andrew J. Ries
16x15, 71 words, 34 blocks
Evan Mahnken
Evan Mahnken
David Steinberg
David Steinberg
The Sunday, January 12, 2020 crossword, STATE OF CONFUSION, is by Evan Mahnken and David Steinberg
21x21, 140 words, 76 blocks
Alan Arbesfeld
Alan Arbesfeld
The Monday, January 13, 2020 crossword is by Alan Arbesfeld
15x15, 76 words, 35 blocks
Jim Peredo
Jim Peredo
The Tuesday, January 14, 2020 crossword is by Jim Peredo
15x15, 76 words, 36 blocks
Mary Lou Guizzo
Mary Lou Guizzo
The Wednesday, January 15, 2020 crossword is by Mary Lou Guizzo
15x15, 76 words, 38 blocks
Erik Agard
Erik Agard
Jeff Chen
Jeff Chen
The Thursday, January 16, 2020 crossword is by Erik Agard and Jeff Chen
15x16, 78 words, 40 blocks
Ryan Patrick Smith
Ryan Patrick Smith
The Friday, January 17, 2020 crossword is by Ryan Patrick Smith
15x15, 68 words, 37 blocks
PDF and Across Lite require an NYT Crossword subscription. Across Lite uses this free software.
The next (Saturday) crossword will be available in 14 hours and 15 minutes.

Variety: the January 12 cryptic puzzle is by Richard Silvestri (Across Lite, Solution) or solve the January 5 acrostic online.

Ultraball #2: Deathstrike

Jeff Chen's young adult (Grade 3-7) book series Ultraball continues!

One year ago, his first book Ultraball #1: Lunar Blitz was published by HarperCollins. January 14 this year marks the publication of Ultraball #2: Deathstrike.

Plenty of twists to keep readers guessing. Every Ultraball game is tightly written with great clarity. This series opener is still an intriguing hybrid of football and sci-fi with plenty of butt jokes.” (Kirkus Reviews)

Chen’s debut delivers a smart and subtle exploration of socioeconomic inequality. Sf and sports readers alike will enjoy the futuristic dystopia Chen has created. Fans of Mike Lupica, Dan Gutman, and Tim Green looking to get their feet wet in sf should be directed to this series.” (Booklist)

"Apparently Jeff Chen can write words that don't cross too." (Jim Horne)

Tools for Constructors

Crosswords from The Pre-Shortzian Puzzle Project

Data from puzzles before Will Shortz became editor are kept separate from modern puzzle stats. XWord Info has all 16,083 pre-Shortz crosswords from 2/15/1942 to 11/20/1993.

Selected pre-Shortz observations

Tips