This web browser is not supported. Use Chrome, Edge, Safari, or Firefox for best results.

Puzzles with longest average word length

Long average word length is closely correlated with low word count.

Rebus squares are assumed to add only one to the length of the answer word.

Fri 1/21/20057.19
ULSTERLAPCAT
PICAROSTOPRATE
SEAMISTRUPERTS
ENTICERADEPTAT
TOTASTEDEALERS
REMOTESENSORS
DINETTESETS
VED
HERMETICISM
RAREINSTANCES
FERNANDINHALED
ACDELCOONELANE
ROISTERNORANDA
CUSTERSSNIGGER
EPHORSSTEERS
Sat 6/29/20137.08
CHAPPRIM
VOICEDSEEGER
LETTERCSTEANNE
OUTSKIPHURLING
GRIMIERADSITES
STANDTOREASON
EDGARWINTER
PAINT
HEARINGDOGS
HANGINGAROUND
LATTICEBILLERS
EVERTOREVILEYE
NOSEATSDETERGE
OCTETSRETEAM
SOSOSSRS
Sat 12/15/20017.00
STICKSWISTER
TENONEDELPASO
INSPIRITBLIMPS
FLATFISHPOKERS
LENIENCEAMELIE
EYECREAMGELETT
RIFENESS
PROMDRESSES
PROPOSAL
RIESENCLERICAL
UNDERSLOVEGAME
GNAWATEVERETTS
RATITESENATORS
ATONERRETINAE
TERESARETAKE
Fri 1/4/20086.96
SCALARIVINS
EASINESSCANOE
EPICTALESUPTHE
MOVIEFONEOHOH
STEADFASTCREPE
ONESTRIPER
WHERESTHEFIRE
SHAMESHEMINS
SCARESTHEHECK
PERPETRATE
INFEREMAILLIST
KERREMBROIDER
EXALTTELESCOPY
TITERDESCENTS
VISESSHYEST
Fri 7/27/20126.93
PEPCIDLACERATE
APASSAGETOINDIA
DISPUTEDBORDERS
USTAARIANELEE
ATONEMENTSSAMI
NERMINTSICIAN
MAPONTOCREDIT
SOLATESPHONENO
ILENESSOONEST
DOPEDDENSELET
EGISCENTERLANE
WISLEADINOMAN
ACTSINDIFFERENT
YALTACONFERENCE
SLEETINGWASTED

See all the grids by selecting the Thumbnail link above. Click a date below to see the full puzzle.

RankDateAvg Word LenAuthor
1.Fri Jan 21, 20057.19Frank Longo
2.Sat Jun 29, 20137.08Joe Krozel
3.Sat Dec 15, 20017.00Frank A. Longo
4.Fri Jan 4, 20086.96Raymond C. Young
5.Fri Jul 27, 20126.93Joe Krozel
6.Fri Oct 17, 20086.93Patrick Berry
7.Fri Aug 22, 20086.90Kevin G. Der
8.Fri Jun 1, 20126.88Joe Krozel
9.Fri Oct 24, 19976.85Frank Longo
10.Sat Aug 19, 20176.77Mark Diehl
11.Sat Sep 19, 20156.76Kevin Adamick
12.Fri Apr 13, 20186.71Joe Krozel
Sat Mar 20, 20106.71Joe Krozel
Sat Dec 22, 20076.71Harvey Estes
Sat Jan 20, 20076.71Harvey Estes
Sat Jul 15, 20066.71Patrick Berry
Sat May 7, 20056.71Patrick Berry
Sat Jan 1, 20056.71Raymond C. Young
19.Sat Apr 14, 20076.70Sherry O. Blackard
20.Fri Aug 22, 19976.68Frank Longo
21.Fri Mar 15, 20136.68Joe Krozel
Sat Aug 7, 20106.68Joe Krozel
23.Sat Sep 21, 20136.66Tim Croce
24.Fri Mar 11, 20056.65Manny Nosowsky
25.Sat Aug 7, 20046.60Patrick Berry
26.Sat Feb 11, 20126.56Joe Krozel
27.Sat Jul 27, 20196.55Byron Walden
Sat Jan 2, 20106.55Robert H. Wolfe
Sat Oct 31, 20096.55Robert H. Wolfe
Sat Jul 18, 20096.55Joe Krozel
31.Sat Nov 25, 20176.53Kevin G. Der
Sat Oct 28, 20176.53Roland Huget
33.Fri Jul 28, 20066.52Sherry O. Blackard
34.Sat Sep 24, 20056.52Byron Walden
35.Sat Apr 20, 20196.50Kevin Adamick
36.Sat Feb 15, 20206.48Randolph Ross
Sat Jan 23, 19996.48Frank Longo
38.Sat Sep 20, 20086.48Joe Krozel
Sat Dec 1, 20076.48Robert H. Wolfe
Sat Dec 9, 20066.48Robert H. Wolfe
41.Sat Oct 20, 20016.47Patrick Berry
42.Sat Nov 13, 20046.45Frank Longo
43.Fri Oct 8, 20106.45Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sat Jan 21, 20066.45Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sat Jun 29, 19966.45F. Longo
46.Fri Apr 24, 20156.44Joe Krozel
Sat Jan 7, 20126.44Joe Krozel
Fri Feb 5, 20106.44Joe Krozel
Fri Sep 4, 20096.44Joe Krozel
Sat Mar 28, 20096.44Joe Krozel
51.Sat Jun 15, 19966.43R. Ross
52.Sat Mar 19, 20166.42Byron Walden
Fri Mar 9, 20126.42Tim Croce
54.Sat Jul 3, 20106.41Joe Krozel
55.Fri Jul 30, 20106.41Kevin G. Der
Fri Jan 19, 20016.41Joe DiPietro
57.Fri Feb 15, 20086.38Patrick Berry
58.Sat Oct 7, 19956.37Frank A. Longo
59.Sat Jul 18, 20156.36Joe Krozel
60.Sat Jul 5, 20146.35David Steinberg
Sat Sep 4, 20046.35Patrick Berry
Sat Mar 8, 20036.35Patrick Berry
Sat Dec 22, 20016.35Trip Payne
64.Sat Dec 3, 20166.34Jason Flinn
Sat Sep 28, 20136.34Joe Krozel
66.Sat Jan 6, 20076.33Robert H. Wolfe
67.Sat Jan 14, 20126.32Mark Diehl
68.Sat Oct 17, 20156.31Timothy Polin
Sat Feb 7, 20156.31Byron Walden
Sat Oct 8, 20056.31Byron Walden
71.Sun May 17, 20206.31Byron Walden
72.Fri Oct 28, 20116.30Tim Croce
73.Fri Oct 18, 20136.29David Steinberg
Fri Feb 15, 20136.29Tom Heilman
Sat Feb 14, 20046.29Frank Longo
Sat Aug 4, 20016.29Randolph Ross
77.Sat Jun 9, 20186.28Roland Huget
Sat Mar 24, 20186.28Byron Walden
Sat Oct 15, 20166.28Mark Diehl
Sat May 16, 20156.28Byron Walden
Sat Nov 22, 20086.28Frank Longo
82.Sat Oct 9, 20106.28Joe Krozel
83.Sat Feb 6, 20106.27Frederick J. Healy
Fri Sep 10, 20046.27Brendan Emmett Quigley
85.Sat Nov 22, 20036.26Robert H. Wolfe
86.Sat Sep 25, 20106.25Patrick Berry
Sat Aug 3, 20026.25Patrick Berry
88.Sun Nov 24, 20196.25Frank Longo
89.Fri Aug 12, 20116.24Julian Lim
90.Sat Jun 3, 20176.23Roland Huget
Sat Nov 29, 20146.23Elizabeth C. Gorski
Fri Feb 18, 20116.23Patrick Berry
Fri Aug 13, 20106.23Manny Nosowsky
Sat Sep 8, 20076.23Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sat Jul 28, 20076.23Manny Nosowsky
Sat Apr 29, 20066.23Robert H. Wolfe
Sat Nov 8, 20036.23Sherry O. Blackard
Sat Aug 24, 20026.23Chuck Menning
Fri Sep 22, 20006.23Manny Nosowsky
Fri Nov 6, 19986.23Bob Klahn