It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

118 Results for YON

59 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, August 25, 201738AThataway (4)Sam Trabucco
Thursday, May 25, 201762ADirection to which a pointer may pointErik Agard
Tuesday, December 6, 201619AHither's opposite (2)Ed Sessa
Saturday, July 30, 20167DThat thereLily Silverstein
Tuesday, February 9, 201650AOver there, quaintlyLynn Lempel
Wednesday, January 6, 201650AOver there, to a bardJules P. Markey
Wednesday, May 13, 201511AHither's partner (7)Jeffrey Wechsler
Monday, March 16, 201555AOver there, to a poetIan Livengood
Sunday, February 22, 2015122AOver there (11)Patrick Berry
Saturday, December 13, 201441AThataway (4)James Mulhern and Ashton Anderson
Sunday, October 20, 201365DOver there (11)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Tuesday, September 3, 201320AFarther away, quaintlyDan Schoenholz
Wednesday, November 14, 201237DIn the distance (3)Joe DiPietro
Thursday, September 13, 201217AOver there (11)Matt Ginsberg
Thursday, July 12, 201250ANot in this directionPawel Fludzinski
Sunday, March 25, 201274AIn the distance (3)Patrick Berry
Wednesday, March 21, 201225AOver there (11)Peter A. Collins and Joe Krozel
Sunday, October 2, 201118D"___ knight doth sit too melancholy": "Pericles"Eric Berlin
Thursday, December 16, 201049AOver there (11)Charles Deber
Friday, July 16, 201044A"Lo! in ___ brilliant window-niche ...": PoeMel Rosen
Sunday, December 13, 200928DOver there (11)Mike Shenk
Thursday, September 3, 200947ANot hereC. W. Stewart
Sunday, July 26, 200948AThither (4)Kevin G. Der
Thursday, April 30, 200966AThataway (4)Greg Kaiser and Steven Ginzburg
Friday, April 24, 200946A"Nightly she sings on ___ pomegranate-tree": JulietBarry C. Silk
Sunday, March 1, 200939ADirectional wordRobert W. Harris
Thursday, December 11, 200820AThat over thereJim Hilger
Sunday, July 29, 200747AThataway (4)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Friday, June 2, 200644A"Silent Night" adjective (2)Jim Page
Monday, March 20, 200643DOver there, old-styleEarl W. Reed and Nancy Salomon
Tuesday, January 17, 200618DHither's opposite (2)Nancy Salomon
Monday, November 14, 200551AHither's partner (7)Marjorie Berg
Saturday, July 30, 200535ARobert Burns's "___ Wild Mossy Mountains"Sherry O. Blackard
Wednesday, July 20, 200535AOver there (11)Roy Leban
Sunday, May 15, 200552DPointer's direction (2)Patrick Berry
Tuesday, March 15, 200545AHither's partner (7)Gail Grabowski
Sunday, March 13, 200566AThither (4)Patrick Merrell
Saturday, October 9, 200429ABurns's "O Were My Love ___ Lilac Fair"Byron Walden
Friday, July 16, 200423DThither (4)Craig Kasper
Friday, March 26, 200432DIn the distance (3)Nancy Kavanaugh
Friday, January 30, 200443A"Throw thine eye / On ___ young boy": "King John"Manny Nosowsky
Monday, December 8, 20039DHither and ___ (2)Barry Silk
Sunday, November 23, 2003130ANot hither (2)Leonard Williams
Tuesday, September 23, 200319AHither's partner (7)Nancy Salomon and Gail Grabowski
Thursday, February 13, 200312D"Silent Night" adjective (2)Joe DiPietro
Thursday, April 4, 200239AOver there (11)Trip Payne
Sunday, December 2, 200145DOver there (11)Nancy Nicholson Joline
Tuesday, May 29, 200166AHither's partner (7)Frances Hansen
Thursday, November 9, 200044AOver there (11)Richard Silvestri
Saturday, September 23, 200052A"___ light is not daylight, I know it": Shak.Rich Norris
Sunday, April 30, 200044DHither's partner (7)Cathy Millhauser
Tuesday, February 22, 200026DHither's partner (7)Dorothy E. Donaldson
Sunday, October 25, 199845AWord from a pointerNancy Nicholson Joline
Friday, June 26, 199856APointer's direction (2)Frank Longo
Wednesday, July 2, 199721DPartner for hitherRichard Hughes
Wednesday, July 17, 199663DHither and___ (2)M. Nosowsky
Wednesday, June 12, 199660DThither (4)D. C. Baldwin
Sunday, April 21, 1996108DOver there (11)M. Gaffney
Friday, January 19, 199641ANot hither (2)C. Gersch

1 result for YON from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
January 4, 2015takeaway42AK**p an ___ (watch)Matt Ginsberg

58 results for YON from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Monday, January 11, 199353DHither and ___ (3)Jim PageMaleska
Wednesday, January 29, 199241D"Round ___ virgin . . . "Betty HinmanMaleska
Monday, December 23, 199130AThitherWilliam BaxleyMaleska
Saturday, April 21, 199033DOver that wayRonnie K. AllenMaleska
Sunday, October 1, 198955AHither's partnerJohn GreenmanMaleska
Saturday, September 2, 198933AHither's companionRhonda KrausMaleska
Saturday, June 10, 198932DMemorable organist-composerPatterson PeppleMaleska
Wednesday, November 30, 198863DHither and ___Wilson McBeathMaleska
Saturday, October 15, 198865DHither's partnerWalter CovellMaleska
Wednesday, July 20, 198862DHither's partnerCharlotte ShoreMaleska
Wednesday, April 20, 198865DThitherDorothy SmitonickMaleska
Thursday, March 17, 198818AOver thereFrances HansenMaleska
Friday, July 12, 19857DHither's partnerPatterson PeppleMaleska
Monday, August 2, 198249AHither's partnerWhittenMaleska
Friday, March 20, 198145AHither's partnerJim ModneyMaleska
Friday, December 19, 198065DOver thereJordan S. LasherMaleska
Saturday, March 1, 198028DThitherWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Friday, August 10, 197962DThitherBernice GordonMaleska
Monday, July 3, 197867DHither's partnerJean J. DavisonMaleska
Thursday, January 26, 197828DNot hitherJordan S. LasherMaleska
Sunday, April 10, 197747DHither's partnerFrances HansenMaleska
Sunday, December 5, 1976139DPartner of hitherMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Sunday, September 5, 1976107DOver thereCornelia WarrinerWeng
Saturday, May 1, 197637DOver thereDorothea ShippWeng
Sunday, January 11, 197652AOver thereA. J. SantoraWeng
Tuesday, October 1, 197436AOver thereLois HillisWeng
Saturday, July 8, 197223DMore distantUnknownWeng
Friday, June 11, 197113DCompanion of hither and thitherUnknownWeng
Tuesday, June 1, 197134ACompanion of hitherUnknownWeng
Friday, May 21, 197138DHither's partnerUnknownWeng
Wednesday, January 27, 197153DHither's partnerUnknownWeng
Sunday, May 3, 1970118AHither's partnerBarbara H. LewisWeng
Wednesday, January 21, 19706DPlace for CassiusUnknownWeng
Sunday, December 1, 196838AThitherW. A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, March 27, 196824AHither and ___.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 7, 196643DHither's partner.UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 24, 196622AOver there: Poet.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, January 25, 19664DPoetic contraction.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 7, 196445DThither.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 5, 19623DDistant, old style.Annamarie LobbFarrar
Saturday, November 12, 196049ABeing the more distant: Poet.UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 10, 196029ABeing at a distance: Poet.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 8, 1959124DOver there: Poet.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sunday, July 12, 195934DFarther: Archaic.W. E. JonesFarrar
Saturday, May 9, 195920ANot hither.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, January 21, 19594DOver there: Poet.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Thursday, May 8, 195863AThose at a distance: Archaic.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 31, 195640AOver there: Poet.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, May 17, 195639AOver there: Poet.S. A. KayFarrar
Saturday, October 8, 195558AOver there: Poet.S. A. KayFarrar
Thursday, July 28, 195523AHither's partner.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thursday, June 25, 195327DOver there: Poet.Natalie HankemeyerFarrar
Wednesday, January 14, 195348DMore distant: Poet.Victor GoldfarbFarrar
Wednesday, March 5, 19524DThe one there: Archaic.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 27, 19518DThither.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 2, 194982AOver there.Henry A. WolfeFarrar
Sunday, May 4, 194728AThither.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, December 16, 194556DAt a distance.Louis JenkinsFarrar

The XWord Info Word List is now available. Angels can download it for use with their own software.