It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Learn about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

102 results for VIP

36 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for VIP.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sun Dec 9, 2018120AOne with a backstage passRoss Trudeau
Wed May 23, 201845DWith 54-Across, granter of backstage accessDavid Steinberg
Thu Apr 6, 201757DOne behind a velvet rope, sayDamon Gulczynski
Sun Aug 21, 201612DKind of pass (2)Kathy Matheson and Jeff Chen
Tue Jul 12, 201627AOne given the red-carpet treatmentSamuel A. Donaldson
Thu Feb 25, 201619DA-listerJoel Fagliano
Mon Feb 1, 201659DBig cheeseGary Cee
Wed Jan 20, 201640DBig wheel (2)Herre Schouwerwou
Tue Sep 22, 20151DBigwig (3)Victor Barocas and Tom Pepper
Tue Aug 25, 201539DKind of accessJohn E. Bennett
Sun Feb 15, 201564DOne given the velvet rope treatment, for shortEllen Leuschner and Jeff Chen
Wed Nov 19, 201429DBig wheel (2)Jacob Stulberg
Sat Dec 14, 201325ABig gunMartin Ashwood-Smith
Sun Oct 2, 201162DPooh-bahEric Berlin
Tue Nov 25, 200838AKind of pass that might get you backstageCaleb Madison
Fri Apr 25, 200854DKind of loungeMike Nothnagel
Wed Apr 16, 200829DB.M.O.C., e.g. (2)Edward Sessa
Sun Oct 22, 200678AMr. Big, e.g.Harvey Estes
Wed Jul 12, 200648AB.M.O.C., e.g. (2)Richard Chisholm
Mon Apr 3, 200656ABigwig, for shortLynn Lempel
Sun Jan 29, 200660AKind of pass (2)Rich Norris
Thu Jan 16, 200337DLimo passengerPatrick Merrell
Sun Dec 22, 200283DLimo occupant, perhapsFrances Hansen
Tue Dec 17, 200211ABig shot, for shortTyler Hinman
Fri Sep 14, 200150AKind of treatment (4)Mark Diehl
Fri Mar 9, 200111AMr. BigMitch Komro
Mon Oct 25, 199958DBigwig (3)Philip Lew
Sat Feb 7, 199847AKind of treatment (4)Frank Longo
Thu Jun 26, 199764DKind of treatment (4)Martin Ashwood-Smith
Thu Feb 27, 199754DBig shot (2)Raymond C. Young
Fri Mar 15, 199649DBigwig (3)A. J. Santora
Sat Dec 23, 199534DRed carpet treaderManny Nosowsky
Sat Aug 12, 199545DKind of treatment (4)A.J. Santora
Sat Mar 11, 199556AC.E.O., e.g.Nancy Joline
Mon Jul 25, 199459DOne who gets special treatmentAlbert J. Klaus
Mon May 30, 199445ABig shot (2)Raymond Hamel

1 result for VIP from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jun 11, 2000diagramless1ARed carpet recipientFrank Longo

65 results for VIP from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wed Dec 11, 19911DBig shotArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Mon Jul 1, 199138ABigwigMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Fri Apr 5, 19919ARed-carpet honoreeNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Mon Jun 19, 198946ABigwigRichard SilvestriMaleska
Fri Apr 28, 198934ABig shot: Abbr.Joel D. LafargueMaleska
Mon Sep 14, 198763DNabobChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Wed Sep 17, 198653ALimo occupantRobert KatzMaleska
Mon Apr 14, 198648ABig shot, for shortArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Sat Aug 3, 198522ABrass hatWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tue Nov 6, 198455DBig wheelAveryMaleska
Sun Sep 23, 1984105DPres. or P.M.Bette Sue CohenMaleska
Tue Sep 20, 198338AMember of the brassNancy McCarthyMaleska
Sun Oct 12, 198033ARed-carpet recipientTap OsbornMaleska
Wed Sep 3, 198056DBigwigPlesingerMaleska
Fri Apr 14, 197855DA somebodyHenry HookMaleska
Mon May 30, 197730DBig shotJohnsonMaleska
Sat Nov 22, 197554DDais occupantAllan BlackmanWeng
Fri Aug 22, 197533DType of service: Abbr.George MadridWeng
Mon Aug 5, 197430ACelebThomas SheehanWeng
Thu Sep 9, 197159DPresident, e.g.UnknownWeng
Fri Dec 18, 197040ABigwigArthur SchulmanWeng
Mon Dec 7, 197059DBig shotUnknownWeng
Sat Nov 7, 197059DBig shot: Abbr.UnknownWeng
Mon Jun 29, 197034ABig man: Abbr.UnknownWeng
Sun Nov 17, 19687ABig gunBarbara GolubFarrar
Tue Oct 22, 196841DSocial lion.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 16, 196837ABigwig.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Fri Jun 21, 196816DBig wheel.UnknownFarrar
Fri May 24, 196865DBig wheel.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 28, 1968106DA somebody.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thu Dec 28, 196741ACelebrity: Colloq.William LutwiniakFarrar
Tue Dec 19, 196731ASocial lion.UnknownFarrar
Thu Aug 17, 196734DVisiting fireman.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Sun Mar 5, 196780DLion, in a way.George LaczkoFarrar
Tue Mar 22, 196623ABig shot.UnknownFarrar
Tue Aug 3, 196560DPerson of prestige: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jul 19, 196547ACelebrity, modern style.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jun 9, 196561DMan of influence: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sun Dec 6, 196494AAdmiral, for one.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Nov 8, 196497DLion of a sort.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Sun Dec 29, 196332DKing or queen.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Sat Nov 2, 196343AHigh official: Slang.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 20, 196339DCelebrity: Slang.UnknownFarrar
Thu May 3, 196225ACelebrity: Slang.Joseph CrowellFarrar
Thu Apr 20, 196137AModern Pooh-Bah.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 24, 195910DGuest of honor: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 4, 195875AOne of the top brass.W. E. JonesFarrar
Fri Apr 11, 195811DBigwig.Geraldine W. KingFarrar
Wed Jan 29, 195834ACelebrity: Slang.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Mon Mar 25, 195757D"Big wheel."Helen FasuloFarrar
Mon Feb 18, 195721ABigwig.Helen FasuloFarrar
Thu Apr 19, 195636AD. D. E., for example.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Mon Feb 20, 195640ASocial lion.S. A. KayFarrar
Sun Sep 25, 1955107DBigwig.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun May 22, 195526ABig shot.Diana R. SessionsFarrar
Wed Nov 24, 195440AVisiting fireman.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Sun Nov 7, 195496ABigwig.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sat Sep 25, 195457DBig wheel.Roberta MorseFarrar
Sun Jul 11, 19548DCelebrity.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sun May 16, 1954121DA big wheel.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Aug 28, 195347AProminent politico.Diana R. SessionsFarrar
Sun May 17, 1953100DPersonage.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tue Jun 10, 195241APolitical bigwig.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 21, 19513DA big wheel.J. L. WilkinsonFarrar
Wed Oct 11, 195058DOne who receives priority in wartime traveling.UnknownFarrar