It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

226 results for UTTER

66 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for UTTER.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, August 7, 201750DSpeak (4)Kevin Christian
Sunday, March 12, 201773ATotal (4)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, January 30, 201751DSay (5)Zhouqin Burnikel
Sunday, January 1, 201754DUnmitigated (2)Matthew Sewell
Saturday, February 27, 20166DSay (5)Julian Lim
Thursday, December 10, 201543AVerbalizeTimothy Polin
Sunday, March 29, 201542ASheer (2)Alan Arbesfeld
Thursday, February 12, 201554AComplete (5)Jules P. Markey
Monday, November 10, 201422ASay (5)Bruce Haight
Tuesday, October 7, 201419AOut-and-out (21)Matt Skoczen and Victor Fleming
Monday, May 5, 201456DSay (5)Lynn Lempel
Friday, February 14, 20149DTotal (4)Bruce Haight
Tuesday, February 19, 201347DOut-and-out (21)Barry Franklin and Sara Kaplan
Wednesday, November 7, 201247DOut-and-out (21)George Fitzgerald and Nancy Salomon
Friday, January 20, 201251AAbjectPatrick Berry
Sunday, December 4, 201149DDownrightKelsey Blakley
Saturday, November 19, 201123AUnmitigated (2)Allan E. Parrish
Sunday, July 18, 201037DSpeak (4)Robert W. Harris
Sunday, June 6, 201070ACome out withDaniel A. Finan
Thursday, June 11, 200915DTotal (4)Alex Boisvert
Thursday, March 26, 200951DArticulateEdward Safran
Wednesday, January 21, 200953DOut-and-out (21)Fred Piscop
Wednesday, October 15, 200848DGive voice to (2)Kevin G. Der
Sunday, August 3, 200834DPurePeter A. Collins and Joe Krozel
Sunday, June 29, 200895DOut-and-out (21)Tony Orbach and Patrick Blindauer
Monday, December 3, 200730DPure-and-simple (2)Harvey Estes
Tuesday, October 9, 20074ASpeak (4)Timothy Powell
Wednesday, June 28, 200649DOut-and-out (21)Myles Callum
Tuesday, March 14, 200634AOut-and-out (21)Lynn Lempel
Sunday, March 13, 2005107DComplete (5)Patrick Merrell
Tuesday, October 5, 200453DUnadulteratedJames R. Leeds
Monday, May 10, 200431DAbsolute (5)Joy M. Andrews
Thursday, April 29, 200450DGive voice to (2)Steven Kahn
Wednesday, March 5, 20039DTotal (4)Tyler Hinman
Saturday, February 15, 20037DSheer (2)Rich Norris
Tuesday, December 17, 200219DOut-and-out (21)Tyler Hinman
Saturday, December 7, 20025DComplete (5)Rich Norris
Tuesday, November 5, 200251DOut-and-out (21)Fred Piscop
Tuesday, May 21, 200250DOut-and-out (21)Paula Gamache
Wednesday, March 27, 200219AUnqualified (3)Sarah Keller
Sunday, March 24, 200217DMouthCon Pederson
Tuesday, January 8, 200211DExpressJanet R. Bender
Sunday, January 6, 200243DAbsolute (5)Frank A. Longo
Thursday, October 18, 200121AOut-and-out (21)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, July 19, 200117AAbsolute (5)Marjorie Richter
Tuesday, June 26, 200119AOut-and-out (21)Stephen Windheim
Monday, July 24, 200066AOut-and-out (21)Gregory E. Paul
Saturday, April 15, 20003DUnqualified (3)Raymond Hamel
Thursday, March 23, 200027DOut-and-out (21)Harvey Estes and Nancy Salomon
Wednesday, March 1, 200052DComplete (5)M. Francis Vuolo
Wednesday, July 8, 199865APure-and-simple (2)Sam Bellotto Jr.
Monday, June 29, 199829DOut-and-out (21)Gregory E. Paul
Tuesday, March 3, 199860AOut-and-out (21)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, January 12, 199824DOut-and-out (21)John Greenman
Tuesday, November 4, 19975AOut-and-out (21)Thomas W. Schier
Monday, April 21, 199756ASpeak (4)Patrick Jordan
Thursday, November 21, 199644AOut-and-out (21)M. Ashwood-Smith
Monday, July 1, 199624DSay (5)S. Spadaccini
Saturday, April 6, 19966DOut-and-out (21)R. Norris
Sunday, January 14, 199613DVoiceC. Millhauser
Saturday, November 18, 199520DUnqualified (3)Glenton Petgrave
Thursday, November 3, 199428DPut into wordsCathy Millhauser
Sunday, October 30, 199439DOut-and-out (21)R.M. Hopkins
Wednesday, September 14, 199454DAbsolute (5)Harvey Estes
Friday, May 6, 19942DComplete (5)Manny Nosowsky
Saturday, April 16, 19941DAbsolute (5)Rand H. Burns

6 results for UTTER from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
December 4, 2016panda49DButter shortening, sayJoe DiPietro
November 6, 2016cryptic26APronounce "sheer" (5)Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon
July 5, 2015cryptic6DComplete spread, except for the top (5)Richard Silvestri
July 26, 2009panda30DOut-and-out, sayMel Taub
February 1, 2009diagramless8DSayPaula Gamache
April 24, 2005cryptic24DTotal, say (5)Richard Silvestri

154 results for UTTER from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, June 30, 199366ASayGayle DeanMaleska
Monday, April 26, 199355DAbsoluteJames L. BeattyMaleska
Sunday, January 31, 199321ASheerWilson McBeathMaleska
Saturday, May 2, 19928DExtremeJesse RoarkeMaleska
Saturday, February 8, 199218APluperfectJesse RoarkeMaleska
Saturday, August 24, 199126AExtremePatterson PeppleMaleska
Tuesday, December 11, 199054DPluperfectJoy L. WoukMaleska
Saturday, September 1, 199027DCompleteErnst TheimerMaleska
Tuesday, June 12, 199040DExpressMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Friday, November 17, 198919AAbsoluteChristopher PageMaleska
Sunday, October 1, 198935DVerbalizeJohn GreenmanMaleska
Monday, July 31, 198955DSayPeter G. SnowMaleska
Sunday, July 23, 198981DAbsoluteNancy N. JolineMaleska
Friday, November 25, 198827DAbsoluteRhonda KrausMaleska
Monday, September 5, 198820ACompleteChristy RidleyMaleska
Monday, March 21, 198823AExpressFrank GearyMaleska
Monday, October 19, 198734ASayChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Friday, September 18, 198715AArrantJune A. BoggsMaleska
Friday, August 7, 198752DExtremeMark DiehlMaleska
Wednesday, May 27, 198754DTotalArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Monday, October 27, 19869AAbsoluteEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sunday, May 11, 198676DAbsoluteVirginia P. AbelsonMaleska
Monday, April 29, 198510DTotalVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Monday, January 21, 198546DSpeakJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sunday, September 30, 198473DSayHarriet Gilson RosenbergMaleska
Sunday, August 26, 198489ACompleteAlfio MicciMaleska
Sunday, June 3, 1984100AAbsoluteBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Wednesday, December 28, 198362AEntireDaubertMaleska
Sunday, November 6, 198367ATotalBert H. KruseMaleska
Wednesday, November 2, 19834DPronounceJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Friday, August 12, 198324AUnqualifiedMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Sunday, April 3, 1983103DAbsoluteJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Sunday, June 20, 198265DTotalTap OsbornMaleska
Monday, June 7, 198241DTotalNancy McCarthyMaleska
Monday, February 22, 198226DExtremeSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Friday, November 27, 198116AArticulateBarbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Saturday, July 25, 198164ASheerA. J. SantoraMaleska
Friday, July 10, 198126DCompleteJim ModneyMaleska
Friday, July 3, 198150ASpeakGerald BrooksMaleska
Wednesday, April 22, 19813DSpeakJean J. DavisonMaleska
Tuesday, June 17, 198050DSpeakA. J. SantoraMaleska
Friday, August 31, 197966ACompleteJudson G. TrentMaleska
Thursday, May 17, 197925DPronounceJean J. DavisonMaleska
Thursday, April 12, 197961ACompleteDana GrossMaleska
Saturday, November 11, 197828DPipe upWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thursday, May 25, 197865ACompleteHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Friday, April 21, 197833DStateSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Friday, September 2, 197713AStateStephen Rosskamm ShalomMaleska
Thursday, August 4, 197731AAbsoluteBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Friday, April 1, 197772APronounceJordan S. LasherMaleska
Saturday, February 26, 197725DAbsoluteNancy Scandrett RossWeng
Friday, September 10, 19764DUnqualifiedEvelyn B. RosenthalWeng
Sunday, November 16, 19752DAbsoluteThreba JohnsonWeng
Wednesday, September 3, 197531DAbsoluteSara V. TuckermanWeng
Friday, May 23, 197518ACompleteHenry HookWeng
Sunday, December 1, 19741AOut-and-outGeorge MadridWeng
Thursday, July 25, 197412DCompleteJean ReedWeng
Friday, May 31, 197464ASpeakSophie FiermanWeng
Tuesday, May 21, 197439ASpeakLois HillisWeng
Tuesday, April 23, 197422AWord with coatGeraldine Von MaluskiWeng
Saturday, January 20, 19735DCompleteUnknownWeng
Sunday, January 14, 197338AExpressWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Monday, November 27, 197245DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Thursday, November 16, 19722DCompleteUnknownWeng
Thursday, December 31, 197019AUnqualifiedUnknownWeng
Monday, November 9, 197016AExtremeUnknownWeng
Friday, November 6, 197046DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 28, 197049DCompleteUnknownWeng
Thursday, July 23, 197035DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Thursday, April 23, 197051DCompleteUnknownWeng
Sunday, March 29, 197089DCompleteArnold MossWeng
Thursday, January 8, 197051DComplete.UnknownWeng
Wednesday, November 26, 196925ATotal.UnknownWeng
Sunday, June 22, 1969110DType of nonsenseEileen BushWeng
Wednesday, May 7, 196950AAbsolute.UnknownWeng
Wednesday, September 4, 196817DSpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 9, 1968110DAbsolute.S. LambertFarrar
Saturday, March 16, 196852DSheer.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, December 30, 196759AComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Wednesday, September 6, 196747DSheer.Thomas E. DevlinFarrar
Friday, June 2, 196718DComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Thursday, March 30, 196722AAbsolute.William LandisFarrar
Monday, October 10, 196665AComplete.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 7, 196650DExpress.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, July 26, 196629DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 20, 196642AAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 8, 196633DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 21, 196636AOutright.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 21, 196645APure.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 16, 19663DExpress in words.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 9, 196627DAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 16, 196539ASheer.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, June 10, 196521DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 4, 196552DSee 11 Down.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, April 7, 196550DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Monday, January 4, 196551DAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Monday, September 14, 196447DUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, March 18, 196436ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 26, 196463ASheer.W. E. JonesFarrar
Friday, December 27, 196317ASay.Michael DubinFarrar
Monday, September 9, 19638DSay.UnknownFarrar
Friday, February 8, 196324DVoice.S. A. KayFarrar
Monday, January 28, 196311DComplete.Jay SheldonFarrar
Monday, December 3, 196218AAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Monday, August 13, 196219ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 20, 196238DComplete.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Tuesday, April 10, 196261ASpeak.Lois HillisFarrar
Wednesday, October 4, 196153DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, September 2, 196146DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 1, 196123APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 25, 196044AComplete.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Monday, June 6, 196067AUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 26, 196048DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, December 22, 19593DMake a statement.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 12, 195958ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 4, 195910DComplete.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Monday, December 8, 195869ASay.Helen FasuloFarrar
Monday, October 6, 195855AComplete.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, September 17, 195846DComplete.Harold T. BersFarrar
Wednesday, July 16, 19585DComplete.Madeline CorseFarrar
Thursday, June 19, 195818DTotal.Geraldine W. KingFarrar
Tuesday, June 3, 195818AComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, December 2, 195726AUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 30, 195739DAbsolute.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thursday, December 6, 195665APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, September 15, 195641AComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 5, 19563DArticulate.Walt ClarkFarrar
Thursday, March 8, 195621ASheer.S. A. KayFarrar
Sunday, March 4, 1956110DSpeak.Marjorie ConnellyFarrar
Monday, February 13, 195652DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Friday, November 25, 195512DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 2, 195548DTotal.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 20, 19556DSpeak.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, November 29, 19546DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 16, 195427ATotal.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thursday, August 5, 19549DComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Sunday, June 13, 195489DSay.Albert CarrollFarrar
Wednesday, June 10, 195341DOut-and-out.Harold T. BersFarrar
Monday, August 11, 195224DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 17, 195211DComplete.Sam LakeFarrar
Thursday, February 14, 195231DTotal and unconditional.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 27, 19516DExpress.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, October 3, 195136APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, September 22, 195128DUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 17, 195184AComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, April 5, 19512DSay.UnknownFarrar
Friday, November 24, 195059AVoice.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, September 28, 195050DComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sunday, September 10, 195029ASay.D. G. CaywoodFarrar
Sunday, June 12, 194974AComplete.Alberta N. BurtonFarrar
Sunday, February 23, 194782DSpeak.Archie KreilingFarrar
Sunday, September 3, 194424ASpeak.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sunday, February 27, 194486ABespeak.James E. KisnerFarrar
Sunday, July 25, 1943109ATotal.Howard O. SmithFarrar