It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

226 results for UTTER

66 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for UTTER.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Aug 7, 201750DSpeak (4)Kevin Christian
Sun Mar 12, 201773ATotal (4)Alan Arbesfeld
Mon Jan 30, 201751DSay (5)Zhouqin Burnikel
Sun Jan 1, 201754DUnmitigated (2)Matthew Sewell
Sat Feb 27, 20166DSay (5)Julian Lim
Thu Dec 10, 201543AVerbalizeTimothy Polin
Sun Mar 29, 201542ASheer (2)Alan Arbesfeld
Thu Feb 12, 201554AComplete (5)Jules P. Markey
Mon Nov 10, 201422ASay (5)Bruce Haight
Tue Oct 7, 201419AOut-and-out (21)Matt Skoczen and Victor Fleming
Mon May 5, 201456DSay (5)Lynn Lempel
Fri Feb 14, 20149DTotal (4)Bruce Haight
Tue Feb 19, 201347DOut-and-out (21)Barry Franklin and Sara Kaplan
Wed Nov 7, 201247DOut-and-out (21)George Fitzgerald and Nancy Salomon
Fri Jan 20, 201251AAbjectPatrick Berry
Sun Dec 4, 201149DDownrightKelsey Blakley
Sat Nov 19, 201123AUnmitigated (2)Allan E. Parrish
Sun Jul 18, 201037DSpeak (4)Robert W. Harris
Sun Jun 6, 201070ACome out withDaniel A. Finan
Thu Jun 11, 200915DTotal (4)Alex Boisvert
Thu Mar 26, 200951DArticulateEdward Safran
Wed Jan 21, 200953DOut-and-out (21)Fred Piscop
Wed Oct 15, 200848DGive voice to (2)Kevin G. Der
Sun Aug 3, 200834DPurePeter A. Collins and Joe Krozel
Sun Jun 29, 200895DOut-and-out (21)Tony Orbach and Patrick Blindauer
Mon Dec 3, 200730DPure-and-simple (2)Harvey Estes
Tue Oct 9, 20074ASpeak (4)Timothy Powell
Wed Jun 28, 200649DOut-and-out (21)Myles Callum
Tue Mar 14, 200634AOut-and-out (21)Lynn Lempel
Sun Mar 13, 2005107DComplete (5)Patrick Merrell
Tue Oct 5, 200453DUnadulteratedJames R. Leeds
Mon May 10, 200431DAbsolute (5)Joy M. Andrews
Thu Apr 29, 200450DGive voice to (2)Steven Kahn
Wed Mar 5, 20039DTotal (4)Tyler Hinman
Sat Feb 15, 20037DSheer (2)Rich Norris
Tue Dec 17, 200219DOut-and-out (21)Tyler Hinman
Sat Dec 7, 20025DComplete (5)Rich Norris
Tue Nov 5, 200251DOut-and-out (21)Fred Piscop
Tue May 21, 200250DOut-and-out (21)Paula Gamache
Wed Mar 27, 200219AUnqualified (3)Sarah Keller
Sun Mar 24, 200217DMouthCon Pederson
Tue Jan 8, 200211DExpressJanet R. Bender
Sun Jan 6, 200243DAbsolute (5)Frank A. Longo
Thu Oct 18, 200121AOut-and-out (21)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thu Jul 19, 200117AAbsolute (5)Marjorie Richter
Tue Jun 26, 200119AOut-and-out (21)Stephen Windheim
Mon Jul 24, 200066AOut-and-out (21)Gregory E. Paul
Sat Apr 15, 20003DUnqualified (3)Raymond Hamel
Thu Mar 23, 200027DOut-and-out (21)Harvey Estes and Nancy Salomon
Wed Mar 1, 200052DComplete (5)M. Francis Vuolo
Wed Jul 8, 199865APure-and-simple (2)Sam Bellotto Jr.
Mon Jun 29, 199829DOut-and-out (21)Gregory E. Paul
Tue Mar 3, 199860AOut-and-out (21)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Mon Jan 12, 199824DOut-and-out (21)John Greenman
Tue Nov 4, 19975AOut-and-out (21)Thomas W. Schier
Mon Apr 21, 199756ASpeak (4)Patrick Jordan
Thu Nov 21, 199644AOut-and-out (21)M. Ashwood-Smith
Mon Jul 1, 199624DSay (5)S. Spadaccini
Sat Apr 6, 19966DOut-and-out (21)R. Norris
Sun Jan 14, 199613DVoiceC. Millhauser
Sat Nov 18, 199520DUnqualified (3)Glenton Petgrave
Thu Nov 3, 199428DPut into wordsCathy Millhauser
Sun Oct 30, 199439DOut-and-out (21)R.M. Hopkins
Wed Sep 14, 199454DAbsolute (5)Harvey Estes
Fri May 6, 19942DComplete (5)Manny Nosowsky
Sat Apr 16, 19941DAbsolute (5)Rand H. Burns

6 results for UTTER from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Dec 4, 2016panda49DButter shortening, sayJoe DiPietro
Nov 6, 2016cryptic26APronounce "sheer" (5)Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon
Jul 5, 2015cryptic6DComplete spread, except for the top (5)Richard Silvestri
Jul 26, 2009panda30DOut-and-out, sayMel Taub
Feb 1, 2009diagramless8DSayPaula Gamache
Apr 24, 2005cryptic24DTotal, say (5)Richard Silvestri

154 results for UTTER from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wed Jun 30, 199366ASayGayle DeanMaleska
Mon Apr 26, 199355DAbsoluteJames L. BeattyMaleska
Sun Jan 31, 199321ASheerWilson McBeathMaleska
Sat May 2, 19928DExtremeJesse RoarkeMaleska
Sat Feb 8, 199218APluperfectJesse RoarkeMaleska
Sat Aug 24, 199126AExtremePatterson PeppleMaleska
Tue Dec 11, 199054DPluperfectJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sat Sep 1, 199027DCompleteErnst TheimerMaleska
Tue Jun 12, 199040DExpressMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Fri Nov 17, 198919AAbsoluteChristopher PageMaleska
Sun Oct 1, 198935DVerbalizeJohn GreenmanMaleska
Mon Jul 31, 198955DSayPeter G. SnowMaleska
Sun Jul 23, 198981DAbsoluteNancy N. JolineMaleska
Fri Nov 25, 198827DAbsoluteRhonda KrausMaleska
Mon Sep 5, 198820ACompleteChristy RidleyMaleska
Mon Mar 21, 198823AExpressFrank GearyMaleska
Mon Oct 19, 198734ASayChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Fri Sep 18, 198715AArrantJune A. BoggsMaleska
Fri Aug 7, 198752DExtremeMark DiehlMaleska
Wed May 27, 198754DTotalArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Mon Oct 27, 19869AAbsoluteEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sun May 11, 198676DAbsoluteVirginia P. AbelsonMaleska
Mon Apr 29, 198510DTotalVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Mon Jan 21, 198546DSpeakJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sun Sep 30, 198473DSayHarriet Gilson RosenbergMaleska
Sun Aug 26, 198489ACompleteAlfio MicciMaleska
Sun Jun 3, 1984100AAbsoluteBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Wed Dec 28, 198362AEntireDaubertMaleska
Sun Nov 6, 198367ATotalBert H. KruseMaleska
Wed Nov 2, 19834DPronounceJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Fri Aug 12, 198324AUnqualifiedMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Sun Apr 3, 1983103DAbsoluteJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Sun Jun 20, 198265DTotalTap OsbornMaleska
Mon Jun 7, 198241DTotalNancy McCarthyMaleska
Mon Feb 22, 198226DExtremeSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Fri Nov 27, 198116AArticulateBarbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Sat Jul 25, 198164ASheerA. J. SantoraMaleska
Fri Jul 10, 198126DCompleteJim ModneyMaleska
Fri Jul 3, 198150ASpeakGerald BrooksMaleska
Wed Apr 22, 19813DSpeakJean J. DavisonMaleska
Tue Jun 17, 198050DSpeakA. J. SantoraMaleska
Fri Aug 31, 197966ACompleteJudson G. TrentMaleska
Thu May 17, 197925DPronounceJean J. DavisonMaleska
Thu Apr 12, 197961ACompleteDana GrossMaleska
Sat Nov 11, 197828DPipe upWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thu May 25, 197865ACompleteHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Fri Apr 21, 197833DStateSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Fri Sep 2, 197713AStateStephen Rosskamm ShalomMaleska
Thu Aug 4, 197731AAbsoluteBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Fri Apr 1, 197772APronounceJordan S. LasherMaleska
Sat Feb 26, 197725DAbsoluteNancy Scandrett RossWeng
Fri Sep 10, 19764DUnqualifiedEvelyn B. RosenthalWeng
Sun Nov 16, 19752DAbsoluteThreba JohnsonWeng
Wed Sep 3, 197531DAbsoluteSara V. TuckermanWeng
Fri May 23, 197518ACompleteHenry HookWeng
Sun Dec 1, 19741AOut-and-outGeorge MadridWeng
Thu Jul 25, 197412DCompleteJean ReedWeng
Fri May 31, 197464ASpeakSophie FiermanWeng
Tue May 21, 197439ASpeakLois HillisWeng
Tue Apr 23, 197422AWord with coatGeraldine Von MaluskiWeng
Sat Jan 20, 19735DCompleteUnknownWeng
Sun Jan 14, 197338AExpressWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Mon Nov 27, 197245DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Thu Nov 16, 19722DCompleteUnknownWeng
Thu Dec 31, 197019AUnqualifiedUnknownWeng
Mon Nov 9, 197016AExtremeUnknownWeng
Fri Nov 6, 197046DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Wed Oct 28, 197049DCompleteUnknownWeng
Thu Jul 23, 197035DAbsoluteUnknownWeng
Thu Apr 23, 197051DCompleteUnknownWeng
Sun Mar 29, 197089DCompleteArnold MossWeng
Thu Jan 8, 197051DComplete.UnknownWeng
Wed Nov 26, 196925ATotal.UnknownWeng
Sun Jun 22, 1969110DType of nonsenseEileen BushWeng
Wed May 7, 196950AAbsolute.UnknownWeng
Wed Sep 4, 196817DSpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 9, 1968110DAbsolute.S. LambertFarrar
Sat Mar 16, 196852DSheer.UnknownFarrar
Sat Dec 30, 196759AComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Wed Sep 6, 196747DSheer.Thomas E. DevlinFarrar
Fri Jun 2, 196718DComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Thu Mar 30, 196722AAbsolute.William LandisFarrar
Mon Oct 10, 196665AComplete.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 7, 196650DExpress.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jul 26, 196629DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jul 20, 196642AAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 8, 196633DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jun 21, 196636AOutright.UnknownFarrar
Mon Mar 21, 196645APure.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 16, 19663DExpress in words.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 9, 196627DAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Thu Dec 16, 196539ASheer.UnknownFarrar
Thu Jun 10, 196521DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tue May 4, 196552DSee 11 Down.UnknownFarrar
Wed Apr 7, 196550DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jan 4, 196551DAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Mon Sep 14, 196447DUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Wed Mar 18, 196436ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 26, 196463ASheer.W. E. JonesFarrar
Fri Dec 27, 196317ASay.Michael DubinFarrar
Mon Sep 9, 19638DSay.UnknownFarrar
Fri Feb 8, 196324DVoice.S. A. KayFarrar
Mon Jan 28, 196311DComplete.Jay SheldonFarrar
Mon Dec 3, 196218AAbsolute.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 13, 196219ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 20, 196238DComplete.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Tue Apr 10, 196261ASpeak.Lois HillisFarrar
Wed Oct 4, 196153DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 2, 196146DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 1, 196123APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Sun Sep 25, 196044AComplete.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Mon Jun 6, 196067AUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Thu May 26, 196048DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tue Dec 22, 19593DMake a statement.UnknownFarrar
Wed Aug 12, 195958ASpeak.UnknownFarrar
Mon May 4, 195910DComplete.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Mon Dec 8, 195869ASay.Helen FasuloFarrar
Mon Oct 6, 195855AComplete.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Wed Sep 17, 195846DComplete.Harold T. BersFarrar
Wed Jul 16, 19585DComplete.Madeline CorseFarrar
Thu Jun 19, 195818DTotal.Geraldine W. KingFarrar
Tue Jun 3, 195818AComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Mon Dec 2, 195726AUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 30, 195739DAbsolute.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thu Dec 6, 195665APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 15, 195641AComplete.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jun 5, 19563DArticulate.Walt ClarkFarrar
Thu Mar 8, 195621ASheer.S. A. KayFarrar
Sun Mar 4, 1956110DSpeak.Marjorie ConnellyFarrar
Mon Feb 13, 195652DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Fri Nov 25, 195512DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Mon May 2, 195548DTotal.UnknownFarrar
Sun Feb 20, 19556DSpeak.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Mon Nov 29, 19546DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Thu Sep 16, 195427ATotal.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thu Aug 5, 19549DComplete.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Sun Jun 13, 195489DSay.Albert CarrollFarrar
Wed Jun 10, 195341DOut-and-out.Harold T. BersFarrar
Mon Aug 11, 195224DComplete.UnknownFarrar
Sun Feb 17, 195211DComplete.Sam LakeFarrar
Thu Feb 14, 195231DTotal and unconditional.UnknownFarrar
Thu Dec 27, 19516DExpress.UnknownFarrar
Wed Oct 3, 195136APronounce.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 22, 195128DUnqualified.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 17, 195184AComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thu Apr 5, 19512DSay.UnknownFarrar
Fri Nov 24, 195059AVoice.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thu Sep 28, 195050DComplete.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Sep 10, 195029ASay.D. G. CaywoodFarrar
Sun Jun 12, 194974AComplete.Alberta N. BurtonFarrar
Sun Feb 23, 194782DSpeak.Archie KreilingFarrar
Sun Sep 3, 194424ASpeak.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sun Feb 27, 194486ABespeak.James E. KisnerFarrar
Sun Jul 25, 1943109ATotal.Howard O. SmithFarrar