It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

182 results for UKE

80 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for UKE.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sun May 20, 201828AStrummed instrument, for shortWill Nediger
Tue Apr 10, 201866DLuau instrument, familiarlyAlan Arbesfeld
Sun Feb 18, 201827DHula accompaniment, for shortElizabeth A. Long
Wed Mar 8, 201740DMaui music maker, informallyPaula Gamache
Fri Aug 12, 20164DInstrument that's cradled, for shortKelly Clark
Tue Jul 5, 201616AHawaiian instrument, for short (3)Jules Markey
Tue Mar 29, 201651ALuau instrument, informally (6)Peter A. Collins
Thu Mar 24, 201641DHawaiian instrument, informally (2)David Liben-Nowell and Tom Pepper
Sat Jan 30, 201611DIt might be picked for a songSamuel A. Donaldson and Brad Wilber
Tue Aug 25, 201537DHawaiian instrument, informally (2)John E. Bennett
Sun Dec 28, 201415DLuau stapleJoe Krozel
Wed Sep 10, 201423D"Aloha Oe" instrument, for shortJim Peredo
Wed Aug 27, 201461DRelative of a cuatro, informallyGareth Bain and David Poole
Sun Jun 8, 2014120ADon Ho played itPatrick Berry
Wed Apr 16, 201465DMaui music-maker (3)Michael Dewey
Mon Jan 27, 201422DHawaiian strings, for shortJames Tuttle
Wed Jan 1, 201462DInstrument for 36-Across, informallyPeter A. Collins
Tue Nov 12, 201345DLanai stringsMike Doran
Wed Sep 25, 201337ALuau instrument, informally (6)Victor Fleming and Bonnie L. Gentry
Wed Jul 10, 201326DTiny Tim's strings, for shortEd Sessa
Sun Jun 30, 201365DDon Ho's instrument, informallyAlex Vratsanos and Jeff Chen
Wed Jun 19, 201360AHI-strung instrument? (2)Richard F. Mausser
Mon May 13, 201364DLuau instrument, informally (6)Allan E. Parrish
Mon Jan 14, 201317AHawaiian music maker, informallySteve Salmon
Mon Aug 20, 201228DHawaiian instrument, for short (3)Robert Cirillo
Thu Aug 2, 201237ASomething you might pick in HawaiiXan Vongsathorn
Thu Jul 19, 201247DLuau accompanimentAlan Arbesfeld
Tue Jan 31, 201237AIsland instrument, brieflyDoug Peterson
Sun Jan 29, 2012109AIt's picked in the PacificIan Livengood
Wed Apr 27, 201163DIsland strings (3)William I. Johnston
Mon Mar 21, 201139ALuau instrument, informally (6)Patrick Blindauer and Steve Salitan
Fri Mar 18, 201154DMarilyn Monroe played one in "Some Like It Hot"Patrick Merrell
Mon Mar 14, 201157D"Tip-Toe Thru' the Tulips With Me" instrument (3)Andrea Carla Michaels
Sun Nov 28, 201065DIt's picked in MauiJeremy Newton
Sat Sep 11, 201020AWhat a lei person might pick?Brad Wilber
Wed Feb 17, 201032DIt has four strings, in briefElizabeth A. Long
Sat Dec 5, 200941AArthur Godfrey played it (2)Brad Wilber
Wed Sep 30, 200916AArthur Godfrey's instrument, informallyKevin G. Der
Fri May 15, 200931A"Tip-Toe Thru' the Tulips With Me" instrument (3)Xan Vongsathorn
Thu Apr 2, 200962DHI-strung instrument? (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Tue Jun 10, 200861ALuau instrument, informally (6)Barry C. Silk
Tue Apr 1, 200831DHawaiian instrument, for short (3)Manny Nosowsky
Sun Mar 9, 200830AStrummed instrumentPatrick Berry
Sat Feb 16, 200835DIsland entertainerTony Orbach
Mon Jan 8, 200728DInstrument making HI notes?Harriet Clifton
Mon Oct 2, 200660ALuau instrument, informally (6)Harvey Estes
Wed Apr 5, 200655DHawaiian strings (2)Patrick Merrell
Sun Oct 23, 200591AFretted stringsDavid J. Kahn
Wed Sep 14, 200543AArthur Godfrey played it (2)David Elfman
Tue Sep 13, 200534ALuau stringsStella Daily and Bruce Venzke
Wed Mar 23, 200556DIsland strings (3)Mike Shenk
Sun Jan 2, 200548DFour-stringerPatrick Merrell
Sun Feb 29, 200419AIsland strings (3)Patrick Merrell
Sun Dec 14, 200346ATiny Tim played itElizabeth C. Gorski
Sat Oct 11, 20033DIt has strings attachedRobert H. Wolfe
Sun Jul 27, 200385ACousin of a mandolinMichael Grudzielanek
Thu Apr 24, 200339DIt's plucked in PolynesiaPaula Gamache
Tue Mar 4, 200342DHawaiian strings (2)Alan Arbesfeld
Fri Aug 2, 20028DAccompaniment for some folk musicElizabeth C. Gorski
Thu Jun 20, 200224AHula accompanimentSteve Jones
Sun Nov 11, 200144DIt gets picked in HawaiiJoe DiPietro
Sun Oct 14, 200125AIt comes with strings attachedElizabeth C. Gorski
Tue Sep 18, 200120A14-Across instrumentJay Livingston
Thu Jul 26, 20017DTiny Tim instrumentManny Nosowsky
Mon May 28, 200130DInstrument that's strummedGregory E. Paul
Wed Oct 18, 200059DIt's picked in HawaiiThomas W. Schier
Thu Jun 8, 200039DMaui music maker (3)Mark Diehl
Mon Mar 6, 200043A"Tip-Toe Thru the Tulips With Me" instrument (3)Gregory E. Paul
Thu Sep 3, 19987DPlucked instrumentManny Nosowsky
Sun Jun 21, 1998115DIsland guitarJim Page
Sun May 31, 1998120DStrummer's instrumentCathy Millhauser
Sun Mar 29, 1998117DSmall music-makerRobert H. Wolfe
Tue May 6, 19979DLuau instrumentBrendan Emmett Quigley
Tue Jan 28, 199767DHawaiian music makerE. C. Gorski
Sat Aug 31, 199626A"A Song of Old Hawaii" accompanimentG. Petgrave
Tue Feb 20, 199663AArthur Godfrey played oneD. Trombley
Mon Jul 10, 199523AArthur Godfrey instrumentSidney L. Robbins
Fri Jun 30, 199512DMaui music maker (3)Rich Norris
Thu Mar 2, 19954DLuau entertainerRaymond Hamel
Fri Jul 1, 199412DMaui stringsMel Taub

5 results for UKE from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jan 14, 2018diagramless45AMaui strings, in briefPaula Gamache
Sep 14, 2014diagramless38ALuau strings, informallyFred Piscop
Nov 2, 2008diagramless71DTiny Tim played itPatrick Blindauer
Jun 18, 2006panda5DReb followerMel Taub
Feb 22, 1998diagramless22DTiny Tim played oneFrank Longo

97 results for UKE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wed Aug 4, 199360DStringed instrument, for shortBonnie S. PrystowskyMaleska
Fri Apr 2, 199332AInstr. for Don HoEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sun Feb 21, 199323DOahu instr.Bert H. KruseMaleska
Mon Dec 21, 19924DHaw. instrumentJeff HerringtonMaleska
Fri Nov 6, 199260ALuau instr.Manny NosowskyMaleska
Sun Mar 29, 199264ALuau instr.Ernst TheimerMaleska
Sun Oct 13, 199180ALuau instr.Ernst TheimerMaleska
Wed Jan 23, 199136AGodfrey instrumentVirginia ButlerMaleska
Tue Feb 13, 199020ASmall guitar, for shortArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Thu Aug 24, 198941AGuitar's rel.Louis SabinMaleska
Sun Nov 27, 198872ALuau instr.Nancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Wed Jul 20, 198844AHaw. instrumentCharlotte ShoreMaleska
Thu Jul 7, 198846AHaw. instrumentMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Fri May 6, 198834DGodfrey strummed oneBert RosenfieldMaleska
Tue Aug 4, 198738AGee-tar's cousinBette Sue CohenMaleska
Sat Jun 13, 198716AHaw. instrumentPatterson PeppleMaleska
Sun Apr 19, 198730DMusical instr.Bert H. KruseMaleska
Fri Dec 26, 198630AGodfrey's instr.Lois SidwayMaleska
Fri Mar 14, 198652AHaw. guitarJudith PerryMaleska
Sat Mar 8, 198652AHilo music makerPatterson PeppleMaleska
Sun Jul 29, 198478ACousin of a "gee-tar"William LutwiniakMaleska
Mon Jun 1, 198122AIsland music maker, for shortRaeMaleska
Tue Sep 2, 19807DCousin of a gee-tarC. J. AngioMaleska
Sat Apr 26, 198010DHawaiian guitar, for shortJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Mon Apr 9, 197943DKona instrumentArnold MossMaleska
Wed Mar 14, 197962DLuau instrument, for shortMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Wed Jun 28, 197839AOahu instrument, for shortHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sun Jan 29, 197849AGee-tar's cousinJames & Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Wed Jan 11, 19782DInstrument, for shortFrank GearyMaleska
Fri Dec 23, 197746DCousin of a "gee-tar"Raymond F. EisnerMaleska
Sat Apr 16, 197723ACousin of a "gee-tar"Samuel H. BarkanMaleska
Tue Jan 18, 197745ASmall instrumentJean ReedWeng
Wed Jan 28, 19764DMusic makerSteeleWeng
Wed Oct 1, 19758DHilo instrumentMarie WestWeng
Sat Feb 8, 197541AMusic makerHerb L. RisteenWeng
Sun Aug 25, 197437DMusic makerJack WherryWeng
Sun May 5, 197476DMusical instr.Louis C. Mandes Jr.Weng
Sun Dec 30, 197343ABanjo's relative, for shortFrances HansenWeng
Wed Mar 18, 197041DIsland instrumentUnknownWeng
Sun Mar 15, 197050DLuau music makerFrank NosoffWeng
Sun Mar 1, 1970122ALuau instrumentA. J. SantoraWeng
Fri Nov 21, 19699DHula accompaniment.UnknownWeng
Tue Mar 18, 196935DLuau accompaniment.UnknownWeng
Sun Feb 16, 1969100DMusical instrumentHume R. CraftWeng
Sat Dec 14, 196835AStrummer's instrument.UnknownFarrar
Thu May 2, 19689DLuau feature.UnknownFarrar
Mon Nov 27, 196725ALuau instrument.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 13, 196728DLuau feature.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Fri Aug 4, 196747AStrummer's instrument.Ronald C. HirschfeldFarrar
Sun May 21, 19677DSmall guitar.William A. Lewis, Jr.Farrar
Mon Apr 24, 196745DMusic-maker.Dorothy BauerFarrar
Sat Dec 24, 196659DRelative of 24 Down, for short.UnknownFarrar
Tue Oct 4, 19663DLuau instrument.UnknownFarrar
Tue Sep 27, 196645AStrummer's instrument.UnknownFarrar
Mon May 23, 196636ALuau item.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jan 19, 196638AMusic-maker.UnknownFarrar
Sun Sep 12, 196532AInstrument, for short.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thu Feb 4, 196552AWhat anyone can play.UnknownFarrar
Tue Dec 15, 196450ALuau item.UnknownFarrar
Mon Oct 26, 19647DLuau instrument.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 24, 196415DHawaiian instrument.Anne FoxFarrar
Sun Oct 6, 196382DSmall guitar.Brice MetcalfeFarrar
Mon Nov 5, 196241AHawaiian guitar.UnknownFarrar
Mon May 21, 196226DGuitar of sorts.James E. Hinish, Jr.Farrar
Thu Mar 22, 196222ASomething to strum.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 27, 196134DMusic maker.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jul 16, 196167AMusic maker.W. E. JonesFarrar
Tue Apr 4, 196136AMusical instrument, for short.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 19, 1961135AHawaiian instrument, for short.Harold T. BersFarrar
Mon Feb 20, 196123AMusic maker.UnknownFarrar
Fri Mar 25, 196034DInstrument, for short.UnknownFarrar
Tue Oct 6, 195957DMusic-maker.UnknownFarrar
Thu May 7, 195952DInstrument at a luau.Sidney LambertFarrar
Wed Mar 4, 19599DStrummer's instrument.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Mon Nov 17, 19588DStrummer's instrument.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jun 28, 195740AMusic maker.S. A. KayFarrar
Sun Sep 30, 1956100AFour-stringed instrument.Charles E. GerschFarrar
Sat Dec 31, 195526AMusical instrument: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 2, 19554DMusic-maker.Sidney LambertFarrar
Mon Jun 20, 195539AInstrument: Colloq.Thomas VarnerFarrar
Thu Mar 17, 195525AStrummer's instrument.UnknownFarrar
Sat Oct 23, 195451DHula accompaniment.Marian MoeserFarrar
Mon Sep 13, 195453AFour-stringed instrument.Elsie BishopFarrar
Mon Sep 6, 195439AStrummer's instrument.Roberta MorseFarrar
Thu Aug 12, 195456DStringed instrument, for short.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sat Oct 31, 195358DMusic-maker.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Mon Oct 26, 195351AStrummer's instrument.D. B. ChapmanFarrar
Wed Apr 29, 195326DAmateur's favorite instrument.Victor GoldfarbFarrar
Tue Mar 3, 195334DMusic maker.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Wed Feb 11, 195354AStrummer’s instrument.Roberta MorseFarrar
Tue Jan 27, 195339AKin of the guitar: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 9, 195234AMusic maker.UnknownFarrar
Thu Apr 17, 195237AGodfrey strums it.UnknownFarrar
Sun Feb 24, 1952117AGodfrey music-maker.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sat Jul 14, 19515DArthur Godfrey's music-maker.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 11, 195176AGodfrey's instrument.Ralph AndersonFarrar
Sun Feb 4, 195161DMusical instrument.Jack LuzzattoFarrar