It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

139 Results for SPASM

44 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, September 12, 201740ATwitch (5)Bruce Haight
Friday, October 14, 201647AFit (2)Natan Last
Friday, August 26, 201653AKnee jerk, perhapsAndrew Kingsley
Monday, April 18, 201640DJerk (6)Janice Luttrell
Sunday, March 13, 201694AConvulsionTom McCoy
Tuesday, July 14, 201510DTwitch (5)Kevin Christian and Brad Wilber
Monday, May 11, 201568AInvoluntary twitch (3)Joe DiPietro
Sunday, December 7, 201426AGroup of jerksJeff Chen
Thursday, May 1, 201466AFit (2)Brandon Hensley
Sunday, January 12, 201496DJerk (6)Andrew Chaikin
Sunday, March 17, 201333DJerk (6)J. R. Leopold
Tuesday, March 12, 201369AHiccup, e.g.Bruce Sutphin and Neville Fogarty
Monday, August 13, 20121DInvoluntary twitch (3)Gareth Bain
Sunday, June 3, 201288DMuscle woePatrick Berry
Monday, October 25, 201026ATic (4)Jonah Kagan
Saturday, January 16, 20101DJerk (6)Ned White
Tuesday, March 31, 200965AMore than a twitchAllan E. Parrish
Thursday, January 1, 200932DTic (4)Alan Arbesfeld
Wednesday, May 7, 20085ABig jerkRichard Silvestri
Sunday, October 21, 2007103DCharley horse, e.g. (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sunday, September 9, 20076ATwingePatrick Berry
Wednesday, August 15, 200726DTwitch (5)Ray Fontenot
Sunday, November 12, 200650ABurst of energyPatrick Berry
Monday, September 19, 200527DTwitch (5)Timothy Powell
Monday, July 5, 200449DCharley horse, e.g. (2)Patrick Merrell
Tuesday, September 9, 200313DTic (4)Robert Zimmerman
Friday, July 11, 20036DContractionPatrick Berry
Tuesday, August 13, 200241DFleeting muscle problemRobert Malinow
Tuesday, March 5, 20025AMuscle contractionMarjorie Richter
Monday, December 3, 20011AInvoluntary twitch (3)Nancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Saturday, August 25, 200124ABurstFrank Longo
Tuesday, March 6, 20011DSomething beyond your controlEd Early
Monday, November 6, 200012DInvoluntary jerkNancy Salomon and Bob Frank
Sunday, September 3, 200082DShudder, e.g.David J. Kahn
Thursday, October 28, 19998ASudden outburstPatrick D. Berry
Wednesday, July 14, 199969AJerk (6)Nancy Salomon
Wednesday, June 30, 199939AParoxysmManny Nosowsky
Sunday, December 14, 199748DOutburstNancy Salomon
Thursday, July 17, 199734DTic (4)Wayne Robert Williams
Wednesday, March 12, 19974AYou can't control itBrendan Emmett Quigley
Tuesday, February 20, 19961ATwitch (5)D. Trombley
Monday, July 31, 199528AMuscle maladyElizabeth Gorski
Saturday, September 17, 19947AThroeRich Norris
Wednesday, June 15, 19941AJerk (6)Thomas W. Schier

95 results for SPASM from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, November 7, 1993104ASudden burst of activityJames E. Hinish, Jr.Taub
Saturday, August 7, 19935AParoxysmReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Saturday, August 29, 199231DSudden violent effortTap OsbornMaleska
Wednesday, January 30, 199126DBurstArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Saturday, January 19, 199151DFitC. McInerneyMaleska
Sunday, September 9, 199033DInvoluntary muscular contractionJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Tuesday, January 9, 19905ASudden, violent effortAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, October 8, 198927DBurst of energyJim PageMaleska
Tuesday, March 28, 19895ATicAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, December 18, 198860ASudden burst of activityEdward MarcheseMaleska
Sunday, October 16, 198863AFitJim PageMaleska
Sunday, October 11, 198725DFitAlan ArbesfeldMaleska
Thursday, August 20, 198736ASudden energetic spurtBetty JorgensenMaleska
Tuesday, July 28, 198725DSudden spell of activityElaine GeorgeMaleska
Tuesday, May 26, 198731AViolent effortBernice GordonMaleska
Saturday, May 23, 198733ASudden temporary activityNorman S. WizerMaleska
Thursday, April 30, 198739DBurst of energyJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Wednesday, April 22, 19875AContractionMelvin KenworthyMaleska
Monday, February 16, 198725ABurst of activityVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Friday, January 16, 198734ABurst of activityR. S. JonesMaleska
Thursday, December 11, 19865AMuscular contractionNancy McCarthyMaleska
Sunday, October 26, 19861AMuscle actionBert H. KruseMaleska
Thursday, August 21, 19861AFitWilliam CanineMaleska
Sunday, March 23, 198632DParoxysmMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Saturday, January 19, 19857ASudden spell of activityBrownMaleska
Monday, January 16, 198428ABurst of energySidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Sunday, September 18, 198330DBurst of energyBert RosenfieldMaleska
Sunday, July 24, 19838ASudden flurryStanley GlassMaleska
Wednesday, June 29, 198366ABurst of activityDorothy ElliottMaleska
Sunday, August 22, 19821DContractionCharles M. DeberMaleska
Monday, August 2, 19825ABrief spell of energyWhittenMaleska
Saturday, July 17, 198231DTwitchRobert KatzMaleska
Friday, April 17, 198142DBurst of energyC. J. AngioMaleska
Saturday, January 12, 19807ASudden, violent activity or feelingWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Monday, January 29, 19791AMuscular contractionPerrymanMaleska
Wednesday, November 17, 19761AContractionVirginia ButlerWeng
Saturday, May 29, 19765ABurst of activityAllan BlackmanWeng
Wednesday, January 21, 197639DSpell of energyStanley A. KurzbanWeng
Wednesday, October 22, 19751ASudden effortVirginia ButlerWeng
Wednesday, February 26, 197526DSudden effortWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Wednesday, June 5, 197440AViolent effortWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Friday, April 12, 197448DSpell of energyDaniel GirardiWeng
Saturday, February 16, 19746ASudden effortBert BeamanWeng
Tuesday, February 12, 19741ABurst of energyLois HillisWeng
Thursday, October 18, 197325ABrief spell of energyUnknownWeng
Tuesday, April 24, 19735ASpurt of activityUnknownWeng
Saturday, April 7, 197324DMuscle actionUnknownWeng
Friday, December 1, 19728DBurst of activityUnknownWeng
Monday, July 6, 19709DBurst of activityUnknownWeng
Sunday, March 23, 19691ASudden effortSara V. TuckermanWeng
Sunday, March 9, 196914DBurstA. J. SantoraWeng
Sunday, October 27, 196811ABurst of activityFrances HansenFarrar
Sunday, August 4, 19681ASpell of energyThreba JohnsonFarrar
Saturday, June 15, 196870ABurst of activity.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 26, 196876AFlurry of activity.Will WengFarrar
Friday, May 24, 196870ASpell of energy.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 27, 196735DSudden burst of activity.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 22, 196733DSudden violent effort.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tuesday, July 4, 196737DSudden burst of energy.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Saturday, April 22, 19675ASudden burst of energy.Bert BeamanFarrar
Tuesday, February 14, 19671DTemporary activity.Jean ReedFarrar
Friday, May 13, 19665DSudden activity.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, December 9, 19657ASudden spell of activity.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, October 12, 196551DShort burst of activity.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 23, 196412ATemporary effort.Sidney LambertFarrar
Saturday, January 18, 196413DMuscular contraction.Manny MillerFarrar
Saturday, September 21, 19635ASudden violent activity.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Monday, July 8, 19635ASpurt of activity.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 8, 196341DSudden burst of activity.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 18, 19626DSpurt of activity.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 15, 196239ASudden burst of activity.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sunday, March 11, 19621ABurst of activity.Harry GluckFarrar
Sunday, August 13, 196110ASudden burst of activity.Mel TaubFarrar
Sunday, May 21, 196168DParoxysm.Roberta H. MorseFarrar
Sunday, July 17, 196093ASudden fit.Mary GrowFarrar
Tuesday, January 26, 196025DSudden, violent activity, feeling, etc.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 2, 195928DParoxysm.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, October 23, 19581DBrief spell of activity.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Wednesday, May 30, 195627DSudden spell of activity.Anne V. AhernFarrar
Friday, February 10, 195627DSudden, brief spell.Mel TaubFarrar
Sunday, July 24, 19551ASudden burst of activity.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Sunday, July 10, 195591ASudden burst of effort.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Saturday, June 4, 195525DViolent, temporary activity.Marian MoeserFarrar
Sunday, December 5, 19548ASudden spell of activity.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, November 25, 19541ABrief burst of activity.Harold T. BersFarrar
Tuesday, March 17, 19531ASudden spell of energy.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thursday, November 20, 195255DSpell of unusual activity.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 25, 1951120AParoxysm.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thursday, November 22, 195129DBrief spell of activity.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 10, 195149AInvoluntary contraction.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 16, 1951111ASudden effort.Charles CrossFarrar
Thursday, May 3, 195125DInvoluntary contraction of a muscle.S. A. KayFarrar
Sunday, August 31, 194742AParoxysm.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sunday, July 23, 194412AConvulsive action.Alberta N. BurtonFarrar
Sunday, May 24, 194230ASudden violent reaction.Charles CrossFarrar

The XWord Info Word List is now available. Angels can download it for use with their own software.