This web browser is not supported. Use Chrome, Edge, Safari, or Firefox for best results.

Find clues for any answer, or answers that match a pattern

Search options:

Sort finds:
Answer length:
Include:
Examples using the [Search] button:
Find all clues for a single word ELOPE
Use ? for single letter in pattern P??CH
Use * for any number of letters (including zero) CR*Y
Use $c for any consonant, or $v for any vowel $c$c???$v$v
Square brackets for any enclosed letter [QJXZ]????
Hyphen for range of letters [X-Z]?????
Use ^ to negate specified letters [^A-W]*[^RSTLE]

Click here for detailed information, including OneLook and Regex options.

Enter a word, pattern, or phrase:

Support XWord Info today

Pay now and get access for a year.

1. Select account level
2. Choose how to pay

17 total results for SMOLDER   ( score: 50 )

10 results for SMOLDER from Shortz Era puzzles:
Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Dec 6, 202148ASlowly burnEmily Rourke
Sun Dec 13, 202084ABarely contain angerDan Margolis
Wed Jun 22, 201643DDo a slow burn (2)Fred Piscop
Tue Jul 17, 201221ABurn without a flame (2)Peter A. Collins
Sun Dec 20, 200915DBarely contain one's angerAlan Arbesfeld
Thu Aug 14, 200847DSmoke a littleDamon J. Gulczynski
Thu Sep 20, 200715ABurn slowlyAlex Boisvert
Wed Jan 31, 200746ANot quite catch fireBrendan Emmett Quigley
Mon Nov 15, 20049DBurn without a flame (2)Alison Donald
Wed Jan 25, 199545DDo a slow burn (2)Norma Steinberg
7 results for SMOLDER from pre-Shortz puzzles:
DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sat Jun 20, 19811DSeetheDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Fri Nov 18, 197712DShow suppressed angerWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tue Aug 29, 197245DBurn without flameUnknownWeng
Sun Dec 19, 195457DBurn without flame.Ruth H. OliverFarrar
Sun May 16, 195435ABurn smokily.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Apr 13, 194714DManifest suppressed anger.Isaac KertFarrar
Sun Feb 15, 1942109AExist in latent state.Charles ErlenkotterFarrar