It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

96 results for SIGH

40 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for SIGH.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wed May 9, 201844A[That's so ... sad]Jeff Chen
Tue Oct 31, 201757A[Ugh, here we go again]Alex Eaton-Salners
Sat Oct 21, 201728DIt may accompany an eye rollSamuel A. Donaldson and Brad Wilber
Mon Sep 11, 201742D[Alas]Erik Agard and Paolo Pasco
Thu Jul 6, 20175A[Ask me what's wrong]Erik Agard
Thu Jun 22, 20171DHeaved "ho"?Ruth B. Margolin
Wed Feb 8, 201713A[Oh, well] (2)Ned White
Tue Oct 4, 201646D[Ah, me] (3)Sam Buchbinder
Mon Nov 23, 201541D[Ah, me] (3)Parker Lewis
Sat Aug 1, 201514D[Not that again]Kameron Austin Collins
Sun Mar 23, 201420D___ of reliefIan Livengood
Tue Mar 27, 201224DWeary reactionTodd McClary
Mon May 18, 200912DSound of relief (4)Billie Truitt
Fri May 1, 200943AIndication of longingJoon Pahk
Sat Apr 11, 200939ADramatic exhalationKaren M. Tracey
Wed Apr 16, 200854DSound of resignationEdward Sessa
Mon Sep 10, 20073DSound of relief (4)Edward M Sessa
Sat Oct 21, 200638ANostalgic person's responseDavid Quarfoot
Thu Sep 7, 20069A4615Lucy Gardner Anderson
Mon Aug 21, 200610D[Isn't he dreamy?!]Elayne Cantor
Thu Mar 9, 200617D:-<, in a chat roomJohn Farmer
Sun Feb 12, 200623ANostalgic person's utteranceManny Nosowsky
Thu Aug 25, 200554DOne may be heavedManny Nosowsky
Sun Jun 12, 200562A[Ah, me] (3)Joe Bower
Wed Dec 8, 20046ASound of relief (4)Norm Guggenbiller
Mon Oct 25, 200449D['Tis a pity!]Kurt Mengel and Jan-Michele Gianette
Thu Dec 18, 20034DPine (for)John Underwood
Thu Aug 14, 200322DCharlie Brown utteranceGreg Staples
Thu Oct 10, 20021DIt might evoke pityRichard Silvestri
Tue Jan 22, 20022DSound of relief (4)Richard Chisholm
Mon Dec 17, 200143DAudibly lamentChristina Houlihan
Sun Jul 9, 200028A[Oh, well] (2)Manny Nosowsky
Fri Oct 29, 199945ASalman Rushdie's "The Moor's Last ___"Nancy Salomon
Sat Jul 18, 199829ALovelorn's utteranceRich Norris
Sun Mar 8, 19988DSomething to heaveRichard Silvestri
Fri Jul 25, 199748DSuspireHarvey Estes
Fri Jul 19, 199623AWord from the lovelornD. Niles
Thu Jan 25, 199636ASound frustratedD. Kahn
Sun Jun 18, 199544ASound exasperatedRich Norris
Tue Feb 28, 199526ARelieved soundNancy S. Ross

1 result for SIGH from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Mar 2, 2014cryptic19ASound made by the exasperated fraternity character over the radio (4)Fraser Simpson

55 results for SIGH from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Dec 23, 19909DDeep breathJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Thu Dec 13, 19905A"Alas!" accompanimentEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Tue Jun 27, 198915AYearning soundWhittenMaleska
Tue Sep 29, 198755DWind soundR. S. JonesMaleska
Tue Oct 1, 19856AExpress wearinessJeffrey A. MercerMaleska
Fri Aug 30, 198561ALamentWilliam CanineMaleska
Wed Feb 6, 198562ALover's soundChristine TilgnerMaleska
Sun Aug 19, 198479DForlorn soundMary Cee WhittenMaleska
Wed Sep 7, 198351DPiner's emissionJohn GreenmanMaleska
Fri Apr 9, 198240DPlaintive soundKathryn RighterMaleska
Sat Dec 19, 198123A"And waft a ___ from Indus to the Pole": PopeJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Tue Jan 29, 198028DBreathe wearilyHugh McElroyMaleska
Tue Dec 25, 197946ASound of discouragementC. J. AngioMaleska
Tue Oct 30, 197932DExpress sorrowTap OsbornMaleska
Wed Jun 27, 19791ASorrowful soundHenry HookMaleska
Mon Nov 27, 197811DSound of longingSchwarzbaumMaleska
Wed Nov 15, 19783DSound from a swainJean ReedMaleska
Fri Jan 27, 197853ASound of reliefClinchMaleska
Wed Aug 24, 19773DLamentA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sat Sep 11, 197625DShow sorrowHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Tue Sep 7, 197610AYearnManny MillerWeng
Tue May 18, 197651DSound of reliefJay ScottWeng
Sat Apr 24, 197612D___ of reliefAnthony B. CanningWeng
Wed Aug 20, 19757DSound of reliefHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Sun Jul 13, 19751ASound of sorrowMel RosenWeng
Tue Dec 17, 197425DSound of resignationVirginia ButlerWeng
Fri Mar 24, 197229DLamentUnknownWeng
Fri Apr 30, 197154DSound of longingUnknownWeng
Mon Jun 1, 19701DSound of sorrowUnknownWeng
Thu May 14, 197050ASound of reliefUnknownWeng
Mon Mar 16, 197043DSound of reliefUnknownWeng
Sat Jul 22, 196750ASound of relief.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Thu Jun 15, 196761AYearn (for).William LutwiniakFarrar
Fri Dec 9, 196644AYearn (for).UnknownFarrar
Sun Sep 6, 196467AYearn (for).Will WengFarrar
Wed Nov 6, 196349DSuspiration.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Aug 4, 196366AYearn (for).Mary E. GrowFarrar
Tue Jan 15, 196345AWind sound.James E. Hinish, Jr.Farrar
Thu Aug 23, 19623DMournful sound.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 6, 196249AYearn (for).Sidney LambertFarrar
Fri Feb 3, 196145ASound of sorrow.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 8, 196059ASound of relief.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 29, 196017AWind-in-the-trees sound.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 1, 196014ALong, deep breath.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 23, 196030DAudible breath.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 10, 1960114DMurmuring breath.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Jul 31, 195941DSound of longing.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Wed May 29, 195742ASound of longing.Bernice GordonFarrar
Sun Sep 12, 19547DYearn (with "for").Ruth H. OliverFarrar
Wed Nov 25, 195341AYearn for.Willard JordanFarrar
Sat Aug 8, 19531DLovelorn sound.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sat Oct 4, 195212DSound of lament.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 25, 19516DEmotional outlet.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 6, 195154ASound of weariness.S. A. KayFarrar
Sun Apr 26, 194286DLament.A. A. WebsterFarrar