It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

203 results for SATAN

60 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for SATAN.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wed Feb 21, 201844AUnderworld boss?Ori Brian and Zachary Spitz
Sat Sep 16, 201749DHe "wept with all six eyes," per DanteNatan Last, Finn Vigeland and the J.A.S.A. Crossword Class
Mon Aug 14, 201749DThe DevilRich Proulx
Tue Jul 4, 201722DThe Great Tempter (2)Mangesh Ghogre and Brendan Emmett Quigley
Tue Mar 28, 201733DThe Great Tempter (2)Ryan Milligan
Sun Jul 10, 2016100DUnderworld figure (2)Patrick Berry
Mon May 2, 201673AOne side of a Faustian bargainPaula Gamache
Sat Dec 12, 20154DJob testerByron Walden
Sun Jul 6, 201425DOld Nick (4)Daniel C. Bryant
Sun Jan 12, 201495DThe AdversaryAndrew Chaikin
Fri Jul 5, 201350A"The accuser of our brethren," per RevelationPaula Gamache
Sun Jun 23, 201345DOld Nick (4)Patrick Berry
Thu Sep 20, 201250D"Paradise Lost" figure (5)John R. Conrad
Sun Jul 1, 201231DLord of the FliesDan Schoenholz
Thu Sep 22, 201147DOld ScratchJeff Dubner
Thu Jun 3, 201037ACharacter in Tasso's "Jerusalem Delivered"Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wed Mar 3, 201052DPitchfork wielderPeter A. Collins
Fri Oct 24, 200811DBad lover? (2)Frederick J. Healy
Sat Jun 14, 20089DCharacter in Twain's "The Mysterious Stranger"Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sun Jun 1, 200813DEvildoerPatrick Berry
Sun Jan 20, 20086DSee 37-AcrossNatan Last
Fri Aug 24, 20073D"Paradise Lost" character (4)Patrick Berry
Sun Aug 19, 2007105D"Paradise Lost" figure (5)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sun Aug 20, 200648DOld Nick (4)Richard Silvestri
Tue Feb 7, 200627DExorcist's targetElizabeth C. Gorski
Sun Jan 15, 200645AFilm role played by both Vincent Price and Bill CosbyRichard Silvestri
Thu Nov 25, 20044DRole in the film "Bedazzled"Nancy Salomon and Earl W. Reed
Sun May 16, 200448DTempter (3)Patrick Berry
Sun Oct 26, 200376ASubject in RevelationPatrick Merrell
Thu Jun 5, 200323APrince of Darkness (3)David J. Kahn
Fri Jul 26, 200229DTempting oneManny Nosowsky
Sun Oct 14, 20013D"Paradise Lost" figure (5)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sun Apr 29, 200146DTempter (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sun Feb 18, 2001108DSubject of diabolismDavid J. Kahn
Mon Oct 9, 200048DMan with hornsTeresa M. Hackett
Sat Sep 30, 200013DHell-bent one?Brendan Emmett Quigley
Tue Apr 4, 200046DBeelzebub (4)D. J. DeChristopher
Wed Mar 8, 200055AWalpurgis Night figureGreg Staples
Sat Sep 11, 199921DOne leading to temptation?Rich Norris
Sat Apr 17, 199960ABad lover? (2)Jim Page
Sun Jan 10, 1999113ABig troublemakerDavid J. Kahn
Sun Nov 8, 199880AOne on the dark sideFred Piscop
Sun Sep 27, 199854D"Paradise Lost" character (4)Randolph Ross
Wed Sep 16, 19985APrince of Darkness (3)Richard Silvestri
Thu Sep 10, 199865A"Paradise Lost" character (4)Christopher Hurt
Wed May 20, 199813DLuciferFrederick T. Buhler
Tue May 20, 19979DUnderworld figure (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Fri May 9, 199749DPrince of Darkness (3)Richard Hughes
Sun Nov 10, 199628A"Paradise Lost" figure (5)R. Hamel
Sun Oct 13, 199668ATempter (3)W. R. Williams
Sun Jul 21, 1996128A"Damn Yankees" partD. Niles
Wed Mar 6, 199613D"Paradise Lost" figure (5)N. S. Ross
Sun Jan 28, 199665D"Fie, thou dishonest___!": "Twelfth Night"M. W. Perry
Mon Oct 23, 199571ABeelzebub (4)Sidney L. Robbins
Sun Jun 25, 199530AOne with a pitchforkFrances Hansen
Mon Nov 21, 199452DGuy with a tailNorman S. Wizer
Mon Sep 12, 199423ABeelzebub (4)Sidney L. Robbins
Sat Aug 6, 199448A''Paradise Lost'' character (4)Wayne Robert Williams
Mon Apr 4, 199421DOld Nick (4)Betty Jorgensen
Mon Feb 7, 19949DBeelzebub (4)Sidney L. Robbins

2 results for SATAN from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Nov 14, 1999diagramless48DThe SerpentPatrick Berry
Mar 8, 1998panda45DLaurel embraces a devilMel Taub

141 results for SATAN from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Aug 15, 199340DOld NickJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Fri Feb 7, 19924AApollyonJames L. BeattyMaleska
Sat Jan 25, 199218DMephistoErnst TheimerMaleska
Fri Jun 14, 199148AHell dwellerPatterson PeppleMaleska
Fri Sep 21, 199043AOld NickJack LechnerMaleska
Sat Jul 21, 199024AJob's testerNancy JolineMaleska
Mon Mar 19, 199027ABeelzebubSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Mon Dec 4, 198929DBeelzebubSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Thu Sep 28, 198918AOld NickBetty JorgensenMaleska
Wed Aug 9, 198930DHe smote JobJune A. BoggsMaleska
Wed Apr 12, 19899AFallen angelDon GroatMaleska
Wed Feb 15, 198935ASymbol of evilBernice GordonMaleska
Mon May 16, 198828DArchfiendRobert O. DillmanMaleska
Sat Dec 13, 198640DMephisto's leaderErnst TheimerMaleska
Fri Jun 6, 198632DPrince of DarknessGloria EvansMaleska
Wed Jan 29, 198615DFallen angelOliveros McLloydMaleska
Fri Jan 24, 19869DThe archenemyKenneth WitteMaleska
Tue Jan 14, 198630DOld NickPeter SwiftMaleska
Sat Dec 28, 19851ADiabolusWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tue Sep 3, 198524AOld NickJonesMaleska
Thu Jul 25, 198547AThe TempterWilliam CanineMaleska
Sun Jul 21, 198595A"Father of Lies"Tap OsbornMaleska
Wed Feb 20, 198564AAuld Clootie, in DundeeMary S. SnyderMaleska
Thu Sep 20, 198468AHe's up to no goodShirley SolowayMaleska
Sun Sep 2, 1984100AApollyonWarren W. ReichMaleska
Thu Jul 26, 198428DBelialMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Sat Feb 11, 198426DLucifer or BeelzebubJim PageMaleska
Sun Dec 18, 198362AApollyonMartha J. De WittMaleska
Thu Nov 10, 198360APandemonium panjandrumTap OsbornMaleska
Thu Nov 3, 198347ALuciferTap OsbornMaleska
Thu Sep 15, 19835DLuciferGrace FabbroniMaleska
Fri Aug 26, 198330AMilton characterI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Mon Aug 22, 198356DOld NickNancy McCarthyMaleska
Sun Sep 26, 198234DMilton's antiheroWilliam H. FordMaleska
Sun Apr 11, 198255APandemonium leaderStanley GlassMaleska
Fri Apr 9, 198232DLuciferKathryn RighterMaleska
Fri May 29, 198148DApollyonDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Sat Apr 25, 198121AChief hellionWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thu Apr 16, 198119ABeelzebub's associateNikki TenfeldeMaleska
Wed Mar 11, 198128AOld NickEli WesoffMaleska
Mon Feb 16, 198155ADevilJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Sun Dec 28, 198016AUnderworld figureBert RosenfieldMaleska
Thu Oct 18, 197950DPrince of DarknessC. J. AngioMaleska
Tue Oct 9, 197946D"Father of Lies"Herb L. RisteenMaleska
Thu Aug 16, 197940AOld NickJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sun Apr 29, 197942DOld ScratchRichard SilvestriMaleska
Fri Apr 13, 197950DOld NickWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Feb 25, 197971DArchfiendJames and Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Wed Jul 5, 197848AGoodness adversaryHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Fri Jun 30, 197837AOld NickJean J. DavisonMaleska
Fri Nov 25, 197716DArchfiendWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Sep 25, 197787AThe Foul FiendWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Jul 24, 197712D"Paradise Lost" characterJay SpryMaleska
Mon Jan 17, 197749DBeelzebubDeWitt AndersonWeng
Sat Oct 23, 197637ALuciferMike LeiferWeng
Fri Sep 10, 197621AEvil oneEvelyn B. RosenthalWeng
Sun Jun 6, 197686AUnderworld figureTom SheehanWeng
Mon May 31, 197653AEvil oneJay SpryWeng
Wed May 5, 197626D"___ lies awaitin' . . . "McCainWeng
Sun Mar 7, 1976134ALuciferMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Sun Feb 1, 197635AWicked oneJohn VezendyWeng
Mon Dec 15, 197532DWicked oneSophie FiermanWeng
Sun Aug 24, 197534DArchenemyJim PageWeng
Thu Jul 3, 197539ADiabolic oneSidney L. RobbinsWeng
Mon Apr 14, 197520AEvil oneH. Hastings ReddallWeng
Wed Jan 29, 19756D"___ lies awaitin' . . . "Norton RhoadesWeng
Fri Apr 5, 19741AOld HarryWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Wed Aug 23, 197251DBelialUnknownWeng
Sat Jul 29, 197240AOld HarryUnknownWeng
Fri Feb 4, 197265AFiendUnknownWeng
Thu Dec 23, 197115ADevilUnknownWeng
Wed Jun 23, 197149DDevilUnknownWeng
Mon Nov 2, 197026DUnderworld figureUnknownWeng
Wed Aug 26, 197028AFiendUnknownWeng
Sat Feb 14, 197032AEvil oneUnknownWeng
Sun Jan 4, 1970139ADevilFrances HansenWeng
Fri Jul 18, 196938DSoul buyer.UnknownWeng
Sat Jun 22, 196810DPrince of Darkness.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jan 22, 19685DOriginal bad guy.UnknownFarrar
Thu Nov 16, 196723AMephisto.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 5, 196789ABiblical character.Bert BeamanFarrar
Sun Feb 12, 1967105AArchfiend.Sidney LambertFarrar
Mon Apr 4, 196651DCharacter in "Paradise Lost."Louise EarnestFarrar
Wed Mar 23, 196618DThe serpent.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 15, 196643ALucifer.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 2, 196689DSoul snatcher.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri May 7, 196546ABeelzebub.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jun 9, 196413DMephisto.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 26, 196339DMephisto.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sun May 5, 196347AMonarch in Pandemonium.Paula BauersmithFarrar
Thu Sep 14, 196120AFallen angel.UnknownFarrar
Fri Mar 17, 196138D"Paradise Lost" character.UnknownFarrar
Wed Nov 2, 196041AGreat enemy of man.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 7, 196016ALucifer.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Mar 27, 196029AOld Scratch.Mary D. WeisserFarrar
Tue Oct 27, 195925ALucifer.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 8, 195964AOld Nick.A. H. DrummondFarrar
Mon Jul 27, 195962AProtagonist of "Paradise Lost."Harold T. BersFarrar
Sat Jun 20, 195950DChief of the fallen angels.Roberta MorseFarrar
Wed Jul 9, 195834DChief of devils.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Apr 25, 195864AMan's adversary.S. A. KayFarrar
Fri Nov 15, 195727DArchfiend.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 10, 195769AExile from Heaven.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Nov 16, 19569AFallen angel.Isaac KertFarrar
Tue Oct 16, 195636DPrince of Darkness.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Fri Jun 29, 195618AEvil one.Anthony MorseFarrar
Sat May 12, 195628AArchfiend.Diana SessionsFarrar
Thu Jan 12, 195610DTempter.Mel TaubFarrar
Thu Sep 29, 195540DEvil one.UnknownFarrar
Sun Sep 25, 195566DFallen angel.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thu Sep 1, 195537DMephisto.Hamilton BidwellFarrar
Thu Aug 4, 195542DLucifer.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Mon Feb 14, 195543AFallen angel.Elsie BishopFarrar
Sat Feb 5, 195541DPrince of Darkness.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 30, 195579AMan's adversary.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tue Oct 26, 195447AUnderworld figure.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tue Jun 15, 195444AMephisto.Edgar WattsFarrar
Fri Mar 5, 195452ALucifer.Isaac KertFarrar
Tue Oct 6, 19538DCharacter in "Paradise Lost."Edward BucklerFarrar
Fri Sep 4, 195326AMephistopheles' boss.Victor GoldfarbFarrar
Tue Jul 28, 195348DOld Nick.Edward BucklerFarrar
Sun May 10, 1953115AChief of Moloch and Belial.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thu Apr 9, 195334DRuler of Pandemonium.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thu Feb 26, 195322DAssociate of Beelzebub.George HendersonFarrar
Mon Jan 12, 195327DRelative of Mephistopheles.Louise RabbFarrar
Wed Sep 17, 195251DLucifer.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 1, 195239AMan's foe.Ralph AndersonFarrar
Sun May 18, 195216DArchfiend.Diana SessionsFarrar
Sat Dec 22, 195113DBeelzebub's chief.UnknownFarrar
Fri Dec 1, 195034DArchfiend.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 6, 195044AWily Snake in "Paradise Lost."Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun Jan 15, 195049DCharacter in "Paradise Lost."Leonard GoldbergFarrar
Sun Jul 20, 1947115DFallen angel.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun Feb 2, 194781ACharacter in "Paradise Lost."Charles CrossFarrar
Sun Jan 13, 194689DLucifer.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun Aug 19, 194592AArchfiend.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sun Mar 4, 194578AArchfiend.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Dec 3, 194438DThe Evil One.Louis JenkinsFarrar
Sun Sep 10, 194491DMephistopheles.Archie S. KreilingFarrar
Sun Dec 27, 194261APrince of Darkness.Alexis P. BoodbergFarrar
Sun May 24, 1942108DArchfiend.Charles CrossFarrar