It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Learn about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

20 results for POETESS

4 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for POETESS.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sun Dec 1, 2013111AAnne Bradstreet, for one (2)Alan DerKazarian
Sun Sep 23, 2012118AAny of the Brontë sistersMatt Ginsberg
Tue Jan 5, 201041DAnne Bradstreet, for one (2)C. W. Stewart
Sat Jul 15, 199514DAnne Bradstreet, e.g.Rand H. Burns

1 result for POETESS from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Oct 27, 2013cryptic13DDoctor sees top female writer (7)Richard Silvestri

15 results for POETESS from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tue May 8, 19906DMillay, to a sexistFred TooleMaleska
Thu Jun 15, 198956AOutmoded word for MillayLouis SabinMaleska
Fri Jan 16, 198113DAmy Lowell or H.D., formerlyDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Wed Nov 22, 197834AMillay or PlathRuth N. SchultzMaleska
Sat Sep 21, 197440AMillay or DickinsonLeonard SussmanWeng
Sun Feb 4, 197388ALowell or DickinsonKeith BlakeWeng
Mon Nov 21, 196038DType of woman writer.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 28, 195520ASappho, for instance.Isaac KertFarrar
Mon Feb 21, 195531ALouise Townsend Nicholl, for example.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tue Feb 23, 195414AAmy Lowell.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Fri Aug 8, 195250AMarianne Moore, for instance.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 25, 1951105DApplicable to Kipling's sister, Beatrice.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun Jun 11, 1950139AStatus of Felicia Hemans.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun May 9, 194863AVersificatrix.Willard N. JordanFarrar
Sun Apr 5, 1942105AEdna St. Vincent Millay.J. C. DoesburgFarrar