It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

118 results for PLATE

27 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for PLATE.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Nov 23, 201513DCenter of a place settingParker Lewis
Wed Mar 25, 201551DPart of the earth's crustJacob Stulberg
Mon Nov 17, 201436DPart of a table settingTom McCoy
Tue Mar 5, 201353DPart of a cafeteria stackGareth Bain
Wed Apr 4, 201220ACommemorative itemZoe Wheeler
Fri Feb 25, 201141A36-Down's localeHenry Hook
Wed Sep 15, 201016ABit of dental workZoe Wheeler, Brown University '12
Sat Nov 10, 200747DPart of the earth's outer layerDana Motley
Wed Jun 13, 200718DCatcher's placeCurtis Yee
Wed Nov 15, 200656APentagonal part of a diamondDavid Benkof
Mon Apr 24, 20062DBatter's placeLynn Lempel
Mon Jan 17, 200547DDishAlison Donald
Wed Dec 22, 20041DHome ___John Underwood
Wed Mar 3, 20049AHome featureMark Diehl
Tue Mar 13, 200162AYogi was behind itMichael S. Maurer
Wed Mar 22, 20005DPart of a serviceRichard Silvestri
Tue Jan 18, 200050DDiner servingNancy Salomon
Wed Mar 17, 199927DWord with hot or homeMyles Callum
Mon Nov 24, 199739ABatter's position (2)Alex K. Justin
Mon Aug 4, 199732DBatter's position (2)Gregory E. Paul
Sun Feb 16, 199783AStrike locationM. Gaffney
Sat Jun 22, 199647APhotographic surfaceB. White
Thu Dec 7, 199550DKind of glassMichael S. Maurer
Wed Sep 20, 199530DCatcher's localeRandy Sowell
Tue Oct 4, 19945AService itemStanley B. Whitten
Sun Aug 21, 199485A_____ tectonicsTed Fulton
Thu May 5, 199424AUmp's purviewMel Taub

1 result for PLATE from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Feb 22, 2009panda43ABook illustration of a peltMel Taub

90 results for PLATE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Oct 31, 199347DDiamond rubberAlfio MicciTaub
Thu Oct 21, 199328DCoat with gold, e.g.Tap OsbornTaub
Wed Nov 28, 199015AHome baseWilliam E. HeinemannMaleska
Thu Nov 22, 199025AFood holderJoy L. WoukMaleska
Thu Aug 30, 199018AWhat Berra once guardedRobert KatzMaleska
Mon Aug 13, 199012DPiece of tablewarePeter SwiftMaleska
Mon May 21, 199028DIt's passed at MassAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sun Feb 11, 199089AHome, for oneArnold MossMaleska
Thu Sep 22, 198837DPentagonal baseWilliam CanineMaleska
Sun Jun 5, 198892AStadium pentagonJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Tue Mar 10, 198729DFive-sided baseHarold B. CountsMaleska
Thu Dec 11, 198625AHome, to GedmanNancy McCarthyMaleska
Tue May 27, 19862DServing of foodJames R. BurnsMaleska
Sun May 25, 198652DFollower of blue or hotCorinne J. NadenMaleska
Sun Mar 30, 198621ALIKE THE HEAVENLY GATESErnst TheimerMaleska
Fri Jul 29, 198314AFive-sided baseJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Sat Apr 2, 19835ABatter's localeRobert KatzMaleska
Fri Feb 18, 198312DLaminateWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Nov 28, 198260ASpot for swingingWarren W. ReichMaleska
Tue Apr 27, 198229AFlat dishKathryn RighterMaleska
Sun Sep 13, 198156DPiece of chinaElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Fri Jun 5, 19819ADentureMassiMaleska
Sat Mar 21, 198129DCarlton Fisk guards itJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sat Jan 24, 198131DPhoto-engravingWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sat Dec 6, 198034DHome at SheaRobertsonMaleska
Thu Nov 13, 198047DKind of glassArnold MossMaleska
Tue Sep 2, 19805DBench guards itC. J. AngioMaleska
Tue Aug 19, 198064ABlue or home followerA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sun May 4, 198063AChina itemReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Sun Jan 20, 1980117AFood portionAlfio MicciMaleska
Sun Nov 4, 197993DChina pieceWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Jun 18, 197875DWhere Fisk crouchesTap OsbornMaleska
Thu Jun 8, 197863AItem passed at churchNorton RhoadesMaleska
Tue Dec 6, 197745AFisk guards itRickertMaleska
Thu Dec 1, 197729AJohnny Bench's stationTap OsbornMaleska
Sun Mar 2, 197566DBlue or homeJames BarrickWeng
Mon Feb 24, 197538ADinner or homeCecil McCormickWeng
Sun Apr 28, 197496DHome or armorJoseph LaFauciWeng
Fri Feb 16, 197341ABatter's milieuUnknownWeng
Tue Dec 5, 19722DBatter's spotUnknownWeng
Mon Feb 28, 197215DKind of glassUnknownWeng
Fri Oct 8, 19719AEating adjunctUnknownWeng
Mon Aug 16, 197154DBaseball homeUnknownWeng
Thu Jan 21, 197114AHome ___UnknownWeng
Sat Jul 25, 197024DLast stop on a diamondUnknownWeng
Sat Nov 15, 196951DTable item.UnknownWeng
Thu Sep 4, 196941ABlue-___ special.UnknownWeng
Thu Jun 20, 196831AKind of glass.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 6, 196739APiece of china.Mary M. MurdockFarrar
Mon Apr 24, 196729APiece of china.Dorothy BauerFarrar
Thu Nov 24, 196632DTable item.UnknownFarrar
Wed Sep 21, 196645DPiece of china.UnknownFarrar
Mon Sep 12, 19666ADiamond feature.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 19, 196616AHome base.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jul 20, 196628DUmpire's place.UnknownFarrar
Mon Apr 12, 196538AFeature of 51 Across.UnknownFarrar
Fri Sep 18, 196430AFashion ___.UnknownFarrar
Thu Sep 3, 196440APiece of china.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 10, 196359ASaucer.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Dec 9, 196243DMetal frame of a piano.Barbara L. GolubFarrar
Fri Aug 17, 196240ABeef cut.UnknownFarrar
Mon Mar 26, 196256APart of a dinner set.Bernice GordonFarrar
Sun Mar 11, 1962105DBaseball term.Harry GluckFarrar
Fri Oct 6, 196150DGold and silver.UnknownFarrar
Tue Apr 4, 196118ABook illustration.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 22, 1961104D$100 item in politics.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Mon May 2, 196047DPhotographer's item.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 29, 196049DFull-page book illustration.UnknownFarrar
Wed Dec 2, 195920AItem in photography.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 25, 195935ADish.Michael DubinFarrar
Tue Jul 29, 19585A___ glass.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Tue May 20, 195851DHome base.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Fri Apr 11, 19584ASheet metal.Geraldine W. KingFarrar
Mon Mar 10, 195819DHot ___.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Thu Feb 6, 195832ARib cut of beef.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Mon Mar 4, 195733AHome ___.UnknownFarrar
Sat Feb 16, 195761AFood and service for one.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Mon Nov 26, 195632DFull-page book illustration.UnknownFarrar
Sat Mar 31, 195613DCatcher's station.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Thu Feb 23, 195625AHome ___.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sat Jan 28, 195613DSymbol of a political dinner.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 22, 195527DHome base.UnknownFarrar
Tue May 25, 195446DFive-sided slab.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Wed Feb 17, 195447DSpot guarded by Campanella.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 29, 195244AHome base.Waldo RansonFarrar
Mon Aug 27, 195137AGold or silver cup given as prize in horse racing.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 1, 194994DWhat base runner hopes to reach.Edward BucklerFarrar
Sun Sep 1, 194638DSouth American estuary.Louis JenkinsFarrar
Sun Sep 10, 194487AMetal sheet.Archie S. KreilingFarrar
Sun Jun 13, 1943125DCoat with metal.Joseph C. EmidyFarrar