It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

78 results for PHEW

33 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for PHEW.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Jul 2, 201849D[What a relief!] (5)Evan Kalish
Sat Nov 4, 201763A"That wasn't easy at all!"Michael Shteyman
Thu Aug 24, 201714ASigh of reliefNeil Patrick Harris and David Steinberg
Sat Jul 29, 201741A"Close one!"Erik Agard
Tue Dec 13, 20161A"What a relief!" (5)David Alfred Bywaters
Sun Jun 5, 201652D"Glad that's done!"Tom McCoy
Sun May 15, 201636D"That was sure close!"Patrick Berry
Mon Aug 10, 20155A"That was a close one!" (2)C. W. Stewart
Sun May 17, 201524D"That was close!" (9)Joe Krozel
Mon Oct 7, 20134D"Close call!"Amy Johnson
Tue Mar 19, 201333A"So that's done!"Mike Buckley
Wed Mar 13, 201356D"What a relief!" (5)Joe DiPietro
Mon Aug 13, 201210A"Man, that was close!"Gareth Bain
Sun Sep 11, 2011114AExclamation after a workoutKay Anderson
Fri May 8, 20098D"They almost got me!"John Farmer
Wed Apr 16, 200865A"I'm glad THAT's over!"Edward Sessa
Tue Aug 21, 200754D"What a relief!" (5)Tom Heilman
Mon May 8, 200610A"That was close!" (9)Norm Guggenbiller
Thu Jan 26, 200651A"What a relief!" (5)Manny Nosowsky
Fri Jun 13, 200323A"That stinks!"Todd McClary
Sun Mar 3, 200214D"That was close!" (9)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Tue Jan 16, 200145A"Boy, am I tired!"Peter Gordon
Tue Sep 12, 200030D"That was close!" (9)Bill Zais
Tue May 2, 200010A"That was close!" (9)Manny Nosowsky
Mon Apr 19, 199957D"That was close!" (9)Gregory E. Paul
Tue Jun 2, 199849DPiano mover's cryElizabeth C. Gorski
Wed Aug 6, 199761A"Boy, that was close!"Rich Norris
Sat Jun 14, 199763A"Boy, is it hot!"A. J. Santora
Tue Mar 25, 199765A"That was a close one!" (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Mon Aug 14, 199533A"That was close!" (9)Ben Wheelock
Wed Apr 5, 199557D"That was close!" (9)Wayne Robert Williams
Tue Oct 25, 19942D"That was close!" (9)Lois Sidway
Tue Apr 5, 199412DSound of reliefHarvey Estes

45 results for PHEW from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tue Aug 31, 199355DDog-days wordJames L. BeattyMaleska
Wed Oct 24, 19909ADog-days wordEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Wed Nov 22, 198910AExclamation of disgustGayle DeanMaleska
Sun Oct 9, 198860AExclamation of reliefNancy Nicholson JolineMaleska
Sun Jan 11, 198771DSigh soundDerrick C. NiedermanMaleska
Sun Nov 10, 198550ASound in a heat waveJohn GreenmanMaleska
Wed May 8, 198546ADog-days soundA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thu Sep 13, 198415ADog days' soundEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sun Aug 26, 198499DCry of reliefAlfio MicciMaleska
Thu Aug 16, 198453DWord of reliefTap OsbornMaleska
Sun Nov 20, 1983112AExpression of reliefElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Sun Dec 19, 1982116DDog-days wordAnne FoxMaleska
Sat Sep 12, 198150DSigh of reliefJim ModneyMaleska
Sun Feb 15, 198176DDog-days wordJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Mon Nov 13, 197838DDog days' wordC. J. AngioMaleska
Wed Oct 19, 197728DHot-weather wordSara V. TuckermanMaleska
Thu Jul 21, 19771D"Is it hot!"Jordan S. LasherMaleska
Tue Feb 8, 19771AHot-day exclamationGeorge RaventosWeng
Thu Feb 3, 197750DDog-days wordElaine D. SchorrWeng
Tue Dec 14, 197639ACry of reliefWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Wed Sep 24, 197510AExclamation of reliefWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Wed Aug 6, 197549ACry of reliefSidney NelsonWeng
Wed Jun 4, 197558AHot-weather wordSara V. TuckermanWeng
Thu Nov 16, 19729ASwelterer's remarkUnknownWeng
Sat Oct 30, 197155DCry of reliefUnknownWeng
Fri Jul 23, 197110ASound of reliefUnknownWeng
Mon Jul 19, 197165AExclamation of disgustUnknownWeng
Wed Sep 16, 197050DSound of reliefUnknownWeng
Wed Jul 8, 197010AExclamationUnknownWeng
Sun Dec 8, 196884AExclamation of surpriseWilliam LutwiniakFarrar
Tue Oct 17, 196753DExpression of surprise.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sun Dec 4, 196650DExclamation of some heat.Anne FoxFarrar
Fri Jul 29, 19661DHot-weather word.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 19, 196634DTorrid exclamation.Anne FoxFarrar
Fri Jan 14, 196616AExclamation of relief.UnknownFarrar
Wed Sep 9, 196429DExclamation of relief.UnknownFarrar
Mon Sep 17, 196250DExclamation of many meanings.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 12, 195661DUtterance of weakness.Diana SessionsFarrar
Sat May 26, 195646DExclamation of weariness.Diana SessionsFarrar
Mon May 14, 19566ASurprised exclamation.Victor GoldfarbFarrar
Sat Apr 28, 195610AExclamation of surprise.UnknownFarrar
Thu Mar 17, 19559AExclamation of amazement.UnknownFarrar
Wed Mar 3, 195416AExclamation of surprise.Roberta MorseFarrar
Sun Feb 1, 1948105ASigh of relief.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun Aug 30, 194233DExclamation heard in hot weather.Louis JenkinsFarrar