It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

118 results for PERSE

42 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for per se.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, February 13, 201836AIntrinsically (18)Bruce Haight
Sunday, November 19, 201734AAs such (5)Tom McCoy
Tuesday, October 31, 201722AIntrinsically (18)Alex Eaton-Salners
Tuesday, March 14, 201764AIn and of itself (2)Damon J. Gulczynski
Saturday, February 20, 201610ATaken alone (2)James Mulhern
Friday, December 4, 20156DTaken alone (2)Martin Ashwood-Smith
Tuesday, June 16, 201512DIntrinsically: Lat.Peter A. Collins
Thursday, October 3, 201351DIn and of itself (2)Evan Birnholz
Sunday, January 27, 2013108AIn itself (2)Jeff Chen
Wednesday, October 10, 201263AAs such (5)Pete Muller
Thursday, September 9, 201030AIntrinsically (18)Kevin Wald
Friday, November 6, 200923DBy its nature (2)Doug Peterson
Thursday, October 1, 200929DAs such (5)Patrick Blindauer & Rebecca Young
Saturday, October 4, 200814AInherently (4)Matt Ginsberg
Thursday, May 8, 200855DBy itself (6)Harvey Estes
Tuesday, April 22, 200867ABy itself (6)Nancy Salomon
Wednesday, December 26, 200750DAs such (5)Jim Page
Sunday, December 23, 200761AIntrinsically (18)Adam G. Perl
Sunday, October 21, 200718DIntrinsically (18)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Thursday, February 22, 20073DBy itself (6)Mike Nothnagel
Sunday, January 7, 200799DIntrinsically (18)Ashish Vengsarkar
Saturday, December 31, 200534DAs such (5)Robert H. Wolfe
Sunday, December 4, 200588DInherently (4)Eric Berlin and Craig Kasper
Tuesday, September 6, 200511DIntrinsically (18)Barry C. Silk
Monday, May 16, 200528DIntrinsically (18)Marc J. Gameroff
Sunday, September 21, 200391AIntrinsically (18)Randolph Ross
Tuesday, February 25, 200350DInherently (4)Nancy Salomon
Thursday, November 21, 200254DIntrinsically (18)Joe DiPietro
Sunday, July 14, 200215DBy its nature (2)Patrick Berry
Tuesday, May 28, 200222AIntrinsically (18)Ed Early
Monday, February 11, 200229DIntrinsically (18)Peter Gordon
Wednesday, August 22, 200113DIntrinsically (18)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Saturday, November 25, 200044AIntrinsically (18)Patrick D. Berry
Saturday, August 19, 200053DBy itself (6)Charles E. Gersch
Friday, May 7, 199960ABy itself (6)Dana Motley
Friday, January 8, 199962AInherently (4)Martin Ashwood-Smith and Brendan Quigley
Monday, February 24, 199750DIntrinsically (18)Derek Allen
Sunday, January 5, 199747DIntrinsically (18)W. R. Williams
Sunday, March 24, 19963DBy itself (6)J. K. Brill
Friday, February 18, 199432DIn itself (2)Manny Nosowsky
Tuesday, December 14, 199323DIntrinsically (18)Joel Davajan
Friday, November 26, 19935AIntrinsically (18)Nancy A. Corbett

76 results for PERSE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, January 17, 199363DIntrinsicallyMel TaubMaleska
Monday, January 4, 199327DIntrinsicallyMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Tuesday, December 17, 199145ABy itselfShirley SolowayMaleska
Sunday, December 24, 198929DIntrinsicallyWalter CovellMaleska
Tuesday, December 19, 198948DDark grayish blueSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Friday, March 24, 198937DIntrinsicallyWilliam CanineMaleska
Sunday, January 8, 198917DInherentlyRichard SilvestriMaleska
Monday, February 8, 19886DDark blue or purpleErnie FurtadoMaleska
Monday, December 28, 198752DIntrinsicallyVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Tuesday, January 6, 198740AIntrinsicallyJudson G. TrentMaleska
Saturday, July 12, 198652AOf a dark grayish blueLauferMaleska
Friday, November 8, 198542AIntrinsicallyJonesMaleska
Sunday, October 28, 198414DIntrinsicallyJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Wednesday, February 1, 198458DLiterature Nobelist St-JohnJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, October 9, 198388AIntrinsicallyLouis BaronMaleska
Sunday, August 7, 198359DIntrinsicallyGeorge Rose SmithMaleska
Sunday, October 3, 1982145ADeep blueCharles BaronMaleska
Saturday, November 14, 198116AIntrinsicallyEli WesoffMaleska
Tuesday, March 31, 198150DAs suchHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Saturday, September 20, 198023DIntrinsicallyKathryn RighterMaleska
Friday, September 12, 198032DIn itself or of itselfHugh McElroyMaleska
Sunday, August 31, 198057APoet St.-John, 1960 NobelistJoy L. WoukMaleska
Friday, December 14, 19793DIntrinsicallyC. J. AngioMaleska
Sunday, September 30, 1979111ADark grayish blueTimothy S. LewisMaleska
Friday, June 29, 197966AIntrinsicallyElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Sunday, April 8, 197965AIntrinsicallyAlfio MicciMaleska
Saturday, March 10, 197945AIntrinsicallyRobert KatzMaleska
Sunday, April 23, 1978148AIntrinsicallyBert RosenfieldMaleska
Friday, April 21, 19785DIndependentlySidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Saturday, August 6, 197738DIn itselfJack LuzzattoMaleska
Thursday, June 10, 197615ABy itselfMartha J. DeWittWeng
Wednesday, October 8, 197517ABy itselfJack LuzzattoWeng
Wednesday, September 10, 19752DBy itselfMartha J. DeWittWeng
Thursday, March 27, 197520ABy itselfJack LuzzattoWeng
Sunday, March 23, 197584DBy itselfTom MixonWeng
Saturday, January 25, 197543DIntrinsicallyHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Sunday, March 31, 197461DAs suchWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Monday, December 14, 197018DDark blueUnknownWeng
Tuesday, October 27, 197024DIntrinsicallyUnknownWeng
Saturday, February 21, 197038AGrayish blueUnknownWeng
Friday, December 12, 196963ADark grayish blue.UnknownWeng
Saturday, December 14, 196848DGrayish blue.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 9, 1968107DGrayish blue.S. LambertFarrar
Saturday, April 20, 196828DIntrinsically.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 20, 19683DInherently.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 21, 196728DGrayish blue.George LaczkoFarrar
Thursday, March 9, 196771AIntrinsically: Lat.Samuel K. FliegnerFarrar
Monday, January 17, 196644AGrayish blue.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, December 7, 196522AIntrinsically.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 14, 196572AGrayish blue.Christine R. ValenceFarrar
Wednesday, January 13, 196554DBy itself: Lat.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 10, 196425AInherently.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 24, 196443AIn itself: Lat.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 21, 19641AIntrinsically: Lat.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 9, 1962101AInherently.Sidney LambertFarrar
Friday, January 26, 196228ABy itself: Lat.Jay SheldonFarrar
Wednesday, March 15, 196159ALatest winner of the Nobel Prize for literature.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, July 2, 196038AGrayish blue.UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 10, 196026ABy itself: Lat.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 5, 19603DGrayish blue.W. E. JonesFarrar
Tuesday, March 1, 196051DBy itself, Lat.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, December 30, 195927ABy itself: Lat.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 24, 195860DBy itself: Lat.Lois HillisFarrar
Sunday, July 31, 195587DBy itself: Lat.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Friday, June 17, 195535DBy itself.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, March 19, 195559AIn itself.Marian MoeserFarrar
Sunday, February 27, 1955120ABy itself.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Friday, December 10, 195456AIn itself.Diana SessionsFarrar
Tuesday, December 7, 195428DBy itself; Lat.Mary M. ClarkFarrar
Wednesday, July 28, 195447ABy itself: Lat.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, May 10, 195464ABy itself: Lat. phrase.Albert BlumFarrar
Thursday, December 20, 195121AIn itself: Latin.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, March 28, 195158ADark blue or purple.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 26, 194835ADark blue.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, May 5, 194664ABlue.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sunday, October 7, 1945111ABlue.P. J. LamannaFarrar