This web browser is not supported. Use Chrome, Edge, Safari, or Firefox for best results.

Finder

21,851,825

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort finds:
Answer length:
Include:
Enter a word or pattern:

18 total results for NEARMISS   ( score: 50 )

Usage of answer word NEARMISS by year
9 results for NEARMISS from Shortz Era puzzles:
Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
DateGridClueAuthor
Tue May 14, 201939DClose one (2)Damon Gulczynski
Sun Sep 23, 2018125A"Whew!" elicitorAndrew Zhou
Fri Aug 16, 201328DAviation safety statistic (2)Dana Motley
Sat Jun 1, 201351AAviation safety statistic (2)Barry C. Silk
Tue Oct 5, 201026AFailure by a narrow marginPaula Gamache
Tue Jun 8, 20104DClose call (2)Peter A. Collins
Sun Feb 27, 200537AClose call (2)Mike Torch
Sat Aug 23, 200334D"Almost"Rich Norris
Fri Dec 6, 200240AClose one (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
3 results for NEARMISS from Variety puzzles:
DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jan 20, 2019AcrosticCCrash that almost was (2 wds.)Emily Cox & Henry Rathvon
Apr 27, 2003Diagramless7AClose callFrank Longo
Apr 8, 2001AcrosticHClose shave (2 wds.)Emily Cox & Henry Rathvon
6 results for NEARMISS from pre-Shortz puzzles:
DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Thu May 3, 199039DIt's close but gets no cigarA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sun Oct 21, 1979109DAlmost a direct hitDavid J. Pohl and John M. SamsonMaleska
Fri Dec 23, 197721ANot quite a direct hitRaymond F. EisnerMaleska
Sat Dec 21, 196825DNot a direct hit.UnknownFarrar
Wed May 27, 195932DShot not quite on target.Christine ValenceFarrar
Sat Aug 6, 195537DThis is as good as a mile.Jack LuzzattoFarrar