It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

116 results for NAMES

33 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for NAMES.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Oct 30, 201715AThings called in roll callJay Kaskel
Tue Mar 14, 201755DApril, May and June, for exampleDamon J. Gulczynski
Sun Aug 14, 201634DFocus of onomasticsIan Livengood
Thu Apr 23, 201520ACelebsDavid Steinberg and Bruce Leban
Mon Mar 2, 201534AAndrea, Carla and MichaelAndrea Carla Michaels
Sun Feb 16, 201477DHandlesYaakov Bendavid
Mon Jan 28, 201364AWhen repeated, identifies peopleJaime Hutchison and Victor Fleming
Wed Mar 16, 20117DWhen doubled, gets specificAlan Arbesfeld
Tue Sep 29, 200968AMay and June, but not JulyPaula Gamache
Mon Sep 22, 200845AApril, May and June, e.g.Peter A. Collins
Sun Jun 29, 200896DWhen doubled, singsTony Orbach and Patrick Blindauer
Fri Mar 21, 200821DWhen doubled, what a rat doesPeter A. Collins
Fri Feb 15, 200826AStray animals don't have themPatrick Berry
Thu May 17, 20074DSpecifiesAlan Arbesfeld
Mon Jun 5, 200637AStarts of 17- and 55-Across, and 11- and 29-Down, impolitelyFred Piscop
Fri Jun 2, 200650AFamous peopleJim Page
Mon May 9, 200550DDirectory contents (2)Jim Hyres
Tue Jun 22, 200438ASee 41-AcrossAllan E. Parrish
Tue Mar 23, 200461AMailing list itemsFred Piscop
Sat Dec 27, 20039DDirectory contents (2)Adam Cohen
Sun Apr 13, 200357AWhen repeated, is specificCharles Deber
Sat Jan 25, 200335DDemand from the House Un-American Activities CommitteePatrick Berry
Fri Dec 27, 200231DAdam and EveSherry O. Blackard
Mon Dec 3, 200130ADirectory listingsNancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Mon Mar 12, 200157AWhen repeated, tells allGregory E. Paul
Fri Feb 2, 200121AApril and JuneMartin Ashwood-Smith
Sun Apr 23, 20006DPins downNancy Nicholson Joline
Sun Feb 13, 200097ABlabs, when doubledBill Zais
Thu Jul 8, 19995DFingersM. Francis Vuolo
Wed Dec 24, 19971AThey're found on gift tagsNancy S. Ross
Mon May 6, 199613ANominatesN. Steinberg
Tue Dec 20, 199471AOnomastics studyRobert R. Zimmerman
Sat Apr 23, 199448DFinger-points, when said twiceManny Nosowsky

83 results for NAMES from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Oct 10, 199334AAppointsCharles M. DeberTaub
Thu Aug 5, 19931AMonikersRand H. BurnsMaleska
Sun Jun 20, 199372DOnomasticon's contentsJan HurschmannMaleska
Wed Oct 21, 199240ANominatesRichard SilvestriMaleska
Wed Oct 23, 199127DMonikersLois SidwayMaleska
Tue Jul 16, 199148DAppointsJonathan J. TowleMaleska
Mon Nov 5, 199030DMonikersPeter SwiftMaleska
Thu Dec 21, 198961ADubsErnst TheimerMaleska
Sun Dec 17, 198960ADesignatesBette Sue CohenMaleska
Sun Jul 9, 1989127AContents of an onomasticonJacques LiwerMaleska
Sat May 27, 198946DContents of an onomasticonStanley NewmanMaleska
Thu Sep 29, 198866ATheme of this puzzleS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Wed Jul 8, 198719AAppointsBetty JorgensenMaleska
Fri Apr 10, 198750AOnomasticon's contentsWilson McBeathMaleska
Mon Jul 28, 198630DAppointsKenneth WitteMaleska
Sat Aug 25, 198428ADubsJonesMaleska
Fri Mar 4, 198331DContents of an onomasticonErnst TheimerMaleska
Sun Aug 8, 1982111AIdentifiesMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Sat Jun 26, 198229DDubsWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Mon Feb 15, 198227DPeter, Paul and MaryEmory H. CainMaleska
Sat May 16, 19813DContents of an onomasticonVaughn KeithMaleska
Fri Feb 10, 197827DContents of an onomasticonKathryn RighterMaleska
Thu Nov 10, 197740ATom, Dick and HarryWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sun Oct 2, 197793AAppointsAlex F. BlackMaleska
Mon Jun 13, 197757AListings in a directoryFarrantMaleska
Fri Mar 19, 197670AScorecard entriesChet CurrierWeng
Thu Jul 18, 197433DIdentifiesMarie WestWeng
Thu Jul 4, 197437DAppointsElaine D. SchorrWeng
Sun May 5, 197470DDesignatesLouis C. Mandes Jr.Weng
Mon May 14, 197362AAppellationsUnknownWeng
Mon Jan 22, 197361ADesignatesUnknownWeng
Tue Dec 26, 197262AReputationsUnknownWeng
Sat Sep 30, 197252DAppointsUnknownWeng
Mon Sep 25, 197241ADesignatesUnknownWeng
Sun Aug 22, 197140AAppointsElaine D. SchorrWeng
Sat May 22, 197149DTitlesUnknownWeng
Sun Apr 11, 197183AReputationsWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Sun May 31, 197092A"___ can never hurt me"Jean ReedWeng
Sat May 30, 197043ADesignatesUnknownWeng
Tue Aug 12, 19695AIdentifies.UnknownWeng
Tue Jan 7, 196926DAppoints.UnknownWeng
Mon Jul 15, 19687DAppoints.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jul 2, 196829DCognomens.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 19, 196725DFamous persons.William LutwiniakFarrar
Tue Sep 19, 19675ASome are proper.Ronald C. HirschfeldFarrar
Sun Sep 10, 196721DDubs.William A. Lewis, Jr.Farrar
Sun Jun 18, 196773DNoted persons.William LutwiniakFarrar
Sun May 7, 1967116ATom, Dick and Harry.Bert BeamanFarrar
Sun Apr 9, 196747DEpithets.William A. Lewis, Jr.Farrar
Sun Jul 3, 196624DCalls.William LutwiniakFarrar
Fri May 6, 196663AIdentifies.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 20, 196686DAccuses.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Wed Jan 12, 196660ANoted persons.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 28, 196543DAppellations.UnknownFarrar
Thu Aug 19, 196518ANoted persons.UnknownFarrar
Thu Nov 7, 196318ATom, Dick, and Harry.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Tue Jul 9, 196328DDesignates.UnknownFarrar
Mon Apr 22, 196314AItems in lights.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 20, 196221DDesignates.Lois HillisFarrar
Sun Dec 10, 196152ADesignates.Aida CromwellFarrar
Mon Dec 19, 196051DDesignates.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Fri Aug 12, 196032DNoted persons.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 17, 1960120DNoted persons.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun Jan 10, 1960102ANoted persons.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Jul 26, 1959111DNoted persons.E. J. WestFarrar
Mon Mar 2, 195928DAppoints.Madeline CorseFarrar
Thu Jun 12, 195816DTitles.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tue May 27, 195823DNoted individuals.S. A. KayFarrar
Fri May 16, 195830DAppoints.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Sep 23, 1956106DImportant people.Roberta MorseFarrar
Fri Sep 17, 195443DSynonym for news.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri May 21, 195413DThese make news.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Mon Feb 1, 195447AOnomatologist's study.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jan 30, 195428AThese make news.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Apr 19, 195371D13 and 102 Across.Louis BaronFarrar
Sun Feb 15, 195389DV. I. P.’sSergei TilartFarrar
Fri Aug 31, 195124AWidely known persons.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 18, 195134DPersonalities.UnknownFarrar
Mon Mar 19, 195138A"Who's Who" contents.Leonard GoldbergFarrar
Sun Jan 29, 195070DAppoints.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun Sep 14, 194747DNoted figures.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sun Nov 15, 194222ATitles.Louis ShieldsFarrar
Sun Apr 19, 19423D"___ inscribed in History's page."—Manners.Louis BaronFarrar