It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

26 results for HOTSEAT

14 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for hot seat.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon Aug 15, 201618DPlace where one is under uncomfortable pressureSam Trabucco
Fri May 20, 201614DPressure cookerKristian House
Sat Jul 16, 201152AUncomfortable place to bePatrick Berry
Sun Sep 21, 200862ADifficult situationBrendan Emmett Quigley
Mon Oct 23, 20065DStressful spotJohn Calvin Williams
Tue Mar 15, 200542DDifficult spotGail Grabowski
Sat Nov 6, 200438DUncomfortable position (2)Kyle Mahowald
Sat Nov 8, 200341DUncomfortable position (2)Sherry O. Blackard
Tue Apr 24, 200143DPosition of pressureTyler Hinman
Tue Sep 12, 20005DChair facing Regis Philbin, with "the"Bill Zais
Thu Sep 9, 19999DUncomfortable situationSam Bellotto Jr.
Sun Jan 17, 199953ADifficult positionCathy Millhauser
Mon Aug 7, 199555AStressful positionSidney L. Robbins
Thu Oct 13, 19946DGrilling siteManny Nosowsky

2 results for HOTSEAT from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Aug 23, 2015acrosticJPosition of one under stressful fire (2 wds.)Emily Cox & Henry Rathvon
Aug 7, 2005acrosticIPosition of one undergoing interrogation (2 wds.)Emily Cox & Henry Rathvon

10 results for HOTSEAT from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Fri Jun 23, 198941DUncomfortable positionWilliam CanineMaleska
Sun Sep 19, 19827DDifficult positionA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thu May 6, 198215ADifficult spotLouise EarnestMaleska
Tue Dec 16, 19806DPosition of anxietyTap OsbornMaleska
Thu Aug 23, 19795DTight spotElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Sun Mar 11, 197910DVery uncomfortable situationArnold MossMaleska
Fri Dec 5, 197537APrecarious spotMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Thu Dec 23, 197118AElectric chair, to consUnknownWeng
Sat Jul 19, 196923DDifficult position.UnknownWeng
Thu Jun 21, 195128D"The chair": Slang.UnknownFarrar