It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Learn about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

160 results for HERB

44 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for HERB.

DateGridClueAuthor
Fri Aug 10, 201853DChervil or chivesDamon Gulczynski
Mon Jul 2, 201856DParsley, sage, rosemary or thyme (3)Evan Kalish
Sat Jun 9, 201844AElement in traditional medicineRoland Huget
Sun Feb 25, 201829DBasil, e.g.Will Nediger
Thu Aug 31, 201719DCannabis, e.g.Zachary Spitz
Tue Aug 1, 201725DMarijuana, slangilyJay Kaskel
Mon May 1, 201737AParsley, sage, rosemary or thyme (3)Ed Sessa
Mon May 23, 20161DOregano, for oneOri Brian
Wed Jan 27, 201634DRosemary, for one (3)Adam G. Perl
Wed Nov 18, 201521DBasil or bugbaneZachary Spitz
Fri Jul 19, 201327AFolk medicine plantPatrick Berry
Tue Apr 30, 201346ASpice's cousinLynn Lempel
Tue Mar 5, 201324D___ Alpert & the Tijuana BrassGareth Bain
Mon Oct 15, 201263ARosemary, for one (3)Tom Pepper
Sun Jun 3, 201227ATea flavoringPatrick Berry
Sun Jan 15, 201264ACicely or tarragonFinn Vigeland
Mon Apr 25, 201161DParsley, sage, rosemary or thyme (3)Joon Pahk
Fri Aug 15, 200850DKind of gardenBarry C. Silk
Tue Jun 17, 200840APimpernel or prairie cloverSteven Ginzburg
Wed May 9, 200747DSpearmint, e.g. (2)Patrick Merrell
Sun Mar 11, 200780ANatural flavoringEric Berlin
Sun May 14, 200632DFlavor lenderPatrick Berry
Tue Oct 25, 200522AMint or chiveKurt Mengel and Jan-Michele Gianette
Mon Sep 5, 20056DParsley or bay leafLynn Lempel
Sat Feb 26, 200553DCicely, e.g.Jim Page
Tue Jan 18, 200512DBasil or oreganoRichard Chisholm
Sun Sep 5, 200434DMint, e.g.Patrick Merrell
Mon Nov 17, 200368AParsley or sage (2)Sarah Keller
Mon Mar 3, 200311DParsley or sage (2)Patrick Merrell
Wed Dec 25, 20025D33-Across, e.g.Patrick Merrell
Tue Aug 7, 200145DTarragon or chervilMark P. Sherwood
Thu Apr 12, 20013DCaraway, e.g.Jim Page
Wed Apr 4, 200121DAngelica, for oneAlan Arbesfeld
Sun Aug 20, 20004DThyme, e.g.Charles M. Deber
Sat Jan 22, 200049DIt may be biennialDavid J. Kahn
Fri Nov 12, 199928ASage, for oneJoe DiPietro
Tue Jan 19, 199918DGinseng, e.g.Kelly Clark
Thu Aug 7, 19979DRosemary, for one (3)Mark Diehl
Thu Jan 2, 199733DMint or sageM. Gaffney
Wed Oct 2, 19969DSage or thyme, e.g.K. Hodge
Tue Jan 2, 199669AOregano, e.g.G. Paul
Sun Apr 23, 199513APeaches' singing partnerRandolph Ross
Sun Nov 6, 19945DSpearmint, e.g. (2)A.J. Santora
Sat Mar 12, 19941AMint or cuminRand H. Burns

2 results for HERB from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jun 9, 2013diagramless65ARosemary, e.g.Fred Piscop
Dec 30, 2001acrosticBPlant whose stems and leaves die after each season's growthEmily Cox & Henry Rathvon

114 results for HERB from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Fri Nov 5, 19937DMint, e.g.Lois SidwayTaub
Thu Sep 30, 19931AActor EdelmanManny NosowskyTaub
Fri Aug 6, 199347AChervil or parsleyBill PolvogtMaleska
Sun Jul 18, 199327DRosemary, for oneMark DiehlMaleska
Fri May 14, 19931AArum or aniseChristy RidleyMaleska
Thu Mar 18, 19936ACatnip or cowpeaBernice GordonMaleska
Fri Mar 5, 199324ABoneset, e.g.Ronald C. HirschfeldMaleska
Fri Aug 21, 199222ARosemary, e.g.Calista LuminatiMaleska
Fri Jan 10, 199263DPrettyface, e.g.Bernice GordonMaleska
Tue Sep 24, 199110APrettyface, e.g.Lois SidwayMaleska
Tue Nov 27, 199011DMint, sage or basilAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Fri Nov 2, 199030DQueencup, e.g.Kevin BoyleMaleska
Tue Sep 25, 199013DTansy, for oneJoe ClonickMaleska
Sat May 6, 198961ASavory, e.g.Robert O. DillmanMaleska
Mon Sep 26, 198843AMint or sage, e.g.Albert J. KlausMaleska
Tue Sep 20, 198854DBasil or tarragonBetty JorgensenMaleska
Thu Jan 14, 198852DThyme, e.g.Dorothy CannanMaleska
Tue Oct 13, 198710ARosemary, e.g.R. S. JonesMaleska
Thu Aug 27, 19874DBasil, e.g.Judith PerryMaleska
Mon May 11, 19872DSage or mintRichard SilvestriMaleska
Wed Mar 25, 19872DJacob's ladder, e.g.JohnsonMaleska
Mon Jan 5, 198736DMarjoram, e.g.James R. BurnsMaleska
Tue Dec 9, 198625DRosemary, e.g.Harold B. CountsMaleska
Tue Sep 30, 19867DBandleader AlpertLouis SabinMaleska
Wed Aug 27, 198624DPitcher ScoreLouis SabinMaleska
Sun Jul 20, 198639APrettyface, e.g.Olive DunnMaleska
Thu Jun 5, 198622AShriner or EdelmanEli WesoffMaleska
Tue Mar 25, 198656ASage or parsleyJames R. BurnsMaleska
Sun Mar 16, 1986126APrettyface is oneJune A. BoggsMaleska
Sun Mar 2, 198688ASort of wortBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Sun Sep 1, 198579ACumin or fennelFrances HansenMaleska
Wed Jul 17, 19851AMedicine man's choiceChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Sun May 12, 198522AMAYapple, e.g.Mary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Fri Nov 23, 198441DFennel or chervilJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Thu Oct 25, 198449DChervil, e.g.William LutwiniakMaleska
Mon May 21, 198425DAlpert or ShrinerNorman S. WizerMaleska
Wed Oct 26, 198359ABandleader AlpertEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Thu Jul 28, 19832DChervil, e.g.Joy L. WoukMaleska
Sun Mar 20, 1983120DThyme or sageJudith C. DaltonMaleska
Sun Oct 17, 198230ASageBert H. KruseMaleska
Sun Aug 15, 198256DBouncing Bess, e.g.Louis BaronMaleska
Sun May 16, 198255ASage, e.g.A. J. SantoraMaleska
Sun Mar 7, 198254DAlpertMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Sun Jan 17, 19825DMace or sageRichard SilvestriMaleska
Wed Dec 9, 198113ASalad ingredientMorton BraunMaleska
Thu Jul 23, 198155ADill or thymeJean J. DavisonMaleska
Sun Jul 5, 198142DCaraway or dillJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Fri May 22, 198123AThyme, for oneSamuel K. FliegnerMaleska
Tue Feb 24, 198131AAlpert or ShrinerJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Wed Dec 24, 198014ATarragon, e.g.Tap OsbornMaleska
Tue Sep 11, 197910DDill, e.g.FederingMaleska
Thu Jul 12, 19791ACatnip or thymeGurnerMaleska
Mon May 7, 197938DTansy or thymeMorton BraunMaleska
Sun Mar 11, 197912DJacob's ladder, e.g.Arnold MossMaleska
Wed Jan 24, 197920DDill or thymeJean J. DavisonMaleska
Mon Mar 27, 197847ABasil thyme, e.g.Grace FabbroniMaleska
Tue Mar 7, 197810ASort of wortHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Thu Feb 2, 19781AFennel or sweet cicelyMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Wed Aug 24, 197710AFreesia or dillA. J. SantoraMaleska
Tue Aug 2, 197722DAlpertHugh McElroyMaleska
Sat Mar 12, 197718DSort of wortJohn PrytzMaleska
Sat Feb 28, 19769DBandman AlpertAnthony B. CanningWeng
Mon Jan 26, 197636ARosemary, for oneMartha J. DeWittWeng
Sat Mar 23, 197434ABandman AlpertSara V. TuckermanWeng
Sun Jun 17, 197358DThyme, e.g.Herbert EttensonWeng
Sat May 5, 197324AShriner of radio fameUnknownWeng
Sun Apr 8, 197340DThyme or rueRonald HirschfeldWeng
Sun Jan 30, 197297DRosemary, e.g.James V. ShannonWeng
Wed Dec 15, 197144DSavory plantUnknownWeng
Thu Nov 4, 197132DSage, for oneUnknownWeng
Wed Jun 17, 197026ACulinary itemUnknownWeng
Wed Jun 3, 19701DPlantUnknownWeng
Thu Apr 9, 197059ASageUnknownWeng
Mon Feb 9, 197042ARueUnknownWeng
Wed Jan 21, 197041DAnise or tansyUnknownWeng
Sat Dec 27, 19694DUseful plant.UnknownWeng
Tue Dec 16, 196953DThyme or rue.UnknownWeng
Fri Jun 13, 196919AFlavoring plant.UnknownWeng
Mon Apr 7, 19691DAromatic plant.UnknownWeng
Fri Aug 30, 196857DMint.UnknownFarrar
Thu Feb 15, 196852DRosemary.Louise EarnestFarrar
Sun Oct 15, 196717AMint.Sidney LambertFarrar
Wed Sep 20, 19671AFennel, for one.Rachel F. BakerFarrar
Mon Mar 20, 196743DAromatic plant.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Fri Feb 3, 19679ADittany or yarrow.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Tue Aug 9, 196652DMarjoram.UnknownFarrar
Tue Sep 15, 196455ABasil.UnknownFarrar
Wed Dec 25, 196354DMint.UnknownFarrar
Sat May 25, 196365ASage.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 19, 196259DSweet basil.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jun 18, 196240ASeed plant.Joseph CrowellFarrar
Sun Mar 5, 196139ABasil, for one.Christine ValenceFarrar
Tue Jun 30, 195940DTarragon, for one.Melville P. LiveranceFarrar
Fri May 29, 195970AFlavoring agent.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Fri Mar 6, 195951AMedicinal plant.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Feb 20, 195951ASee 30 Across.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Fri Jul 25, 19581ABasil.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Fri Jul 11, 195825DPeppermint, for one.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Tue Feb 25, 195810AMarjoram.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri Apr 19, 195746DSweet marjoram.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Tue Jan 29, 195734AMarjoram.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Thu Jan 3, 195710AParsley or sage.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Nov 4, 195633ABasil or rosemary.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Nov 13, 195572ASage.Grace HosterFarrar
Thu Sep 22, 195531DBasil.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri Apr 15, 195550AShriner from Indiana.UnknownFarrar
Wed Mar 31, 195426AComedian Shriner.Charles E. GerschFarrar
Sat Aug 29, 195353DMarjoram.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Wed Aug 19, 19531ANickname for Mr. Brownell.M. S. ManningFarrar
Sat Feb 14, 195336AMr. Shriner of TV.UnknownFarrar
Mon Dec 15, 19521DMr. Shriner of TV.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 19, 195251AMr. Shriner of TV.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jul 2, 19511DNickname for a former President.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 25, 194262DMedicinal plant.Alexis P. BoodbergFarrar