It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Learn about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

200 results for GASP

67 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for GASP.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wed Oct 17, 20183D[Horrors!] (3)Patrick Blindauer and Tony Orbach
Mon May 29, 201735AShocked response (2)Jeff Chen and Seth Geltman
Wed Mar 29, 201756A[OMG!] (2)Jules P. Markey
Wed Mar 8, 201754A[Shocking!] (2)Paula Gamache
Sun Mar 5, 2017108ABetray surpriseTimothy Polin
Wed Feb 22, 20171D[OMG!] (2)Kyle Dolan
Wed Dec 28, 201627A[Surely you can't mean ...!]Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sun Mar 8, 201536D[Good heavens!] (2)Tom McCoy
Sun Jan 18, 201585A[I am shocked!] (4)Joe Krozel
Sun Jun 8, 201499A[I am SHOCKED!] (4)Patrick Berry
Mon May 26, 201423AShocked reaction (4)Dan Margolis
Sun Apr 6, 201496ASound at a horror filmPatrick Berry
Mon Apr 29, 20131D[Oh, my stars!] (2)C. W. Stewart
Sun Mar 24, 201343A[Shocking!] (2)Dan Schoenholz
Tue Jan 22, 20136A[Mercy!]Jay Kaskel
Mon Feb 6, 201255D[Horrors!] (3)Tom Pepper
Sun Jan 8, 201271DExclaim breathlesslyTony Orbach
Sun Nov 13, 201185DSound dumbfoundedJeremy Newton and Tony Orbach
Wed Apr 20, 201110AShow shock (2)Michael Farabaugh
Tue Jan 12, 201056A[Oh, my stars!] (2)Patrick Blindauer and Rebecca Young
Fri Aug 21, 200924ASwimmer's soundPatrick Berry
Tue Jul 28, 20098DShocked reaction (4)Tony Orbach
Sun Apr 12, 20097A[I'm shocked!] (2)Eric Berlin
Fri Apr 4, 200848ABetray horrorDavid Quarfoot
Thu Nov 15, 200757D[Oh ... my ... God!]Joe Krozel
Fri Sep 14, 200754DOne might fight to the last oneJohn Farmer
Tue Apr 3, 200737A[Oh ... my ... Lord!]David Quarfoot and Mike Nothnagel
Mon Aug 21, 20066A[Oh, my heavens!]Elayne Cantor
Fri Aug 11, 200645D"Oh my!," for onePatrick Merrell
Mon Jul 11, 200545AStruggle for air (2)Janice M. Putney
Tue Mar 29, 200551D[You don't mean …!] (2)Victor Fleming and Nelson Hardy
Fri Mar 4, 200547DHave a sudden inspiration? (2)Myles Callum
Sun Dec 26, 200491DShocked reaction (4)Hal Turner
Thu Dec 9, 20041D[Horrors!] (3)Paula Gamache
Tue Oct 26, 200441D[I'm shocked!] (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Thu Mar 4, 200468AHand-over-mouth reactionPatrick Merrell
Thu Feb 19, 20044APantAlfio Micci (1918-2004)
Tue Nov 18, 200334DSound of astonishment (2)Denise M. Neuendorf
Tue Nov 4, 20031ASound at a fun houseElizabeth C. Gorski
Mon Sep 1, 200364AStruggle for air (2)Barry Silk
Sat Nov 9, 200249DShocked reaction (4)James E. Buell
Thu Oct 31, 200227DShow shock (2)Dave and Diane Epperson
Thu Jun 6, 20026AStruggle for breathPatrick Merrell
Mon Apr 8, 20025ASound of astonishment (2)Richard Chisholm
Sun Feb 10, 20028DHave a sudden inspiration? (2)Harvey Estes & Nancy Salomon
Fri Apr 13, 200121DGet a sudden inspiration?Joe DiPietro
Tue Feb 20, 200112D[I'm shocked! Shocked!]Steven Dorfman
Sun Jul 23, 200060DRecover from a runPatrick Berry
Sun Jul 16, 20001A[I am shocked!] (4)David J. Kahn
Tue Jul 4, 200049D[You don't mean THAT!]Tyler Hinman
Thu Jun 22, 200069AHuffRobert B. Baker
Tue May 9, 200018DFun house soundElizabeth C. Gorski
Mon Dec 13, 199928DFight for breathDave and Diane Epperson
Wed Oct 27, 199958DExhibit shockChris Sallade
Tue Sep 7, 199950D["Good heavens!"] (2)David Ainslie Macleod
Wed Jul 28, 19991ABreathtaking action?Manny Nosowsky
Sun Jun 20, 199963A["Oh my!"]Manny Nosowsky
Wed Feb 17, 199910ASound astonished (2)Nancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Mon Jun 15, 19981ASound astonished (2)Nancy Salomon
Tue May 12, 199867A["You don't mean...!"] (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wed Aug 28, 199626DShort-of-breath breathF. Heaney
Wed Mar 27, 19966ASharp breathR. J. Hartman
Tue Jan 9, 199648A[I am shocked!] (4)B. Gordon
Wed Nov 29, 199571ACatch one's breathNancy S. Ross
Wed Jan 18, 199553DLast breathWayne Robert Williams
Fri Mar 25, 19941DShocked response (2)Harvey Estes
Mon Nov 29, 199365A[Shock!]Sidney L. Robbins

133 results for GASP from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Thu Nov 18, 199323APantDaniel GirardiTaub
Tue Nov 2, 19936DInhale suddenlyJoy L. WoukTaub
Fri Oct 22, 19931A"Fight till the last ___": Shak.Alex K. JustinTaub
Fri May 21, 199326DShock soundTap OsbornMaleska
Wed Oct 21, 199247ARespond to a shockRichard SilvestriMaleska
Mon May 27, 19911DBreathe laboriouslyPeter SwiftMaleska
Mon Nov 12, 19906ABreathe laboriouslyPeter SwiftMaleska
Sat Jul 28, 19901DBreathe laboriouslyJesse RoarkeMaleska
Tue Jun 19, 19901ACatch one's breathMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Fri Apr 13, 19908APant's cousinNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Wed Jan 31, 199011DPantBetty JorgensenMaleska
Thu Dec 21, 198915DPantErnst TheimerMaleska
Mon Dec 11, 198949DExpress astonishmentSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Mon Apr 3, 19893DExhibit surpriseSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wed Feb 1, 198965ACatch one's breathChristy RidleyMaleska
Sat Dec 31, 198853AInhale suddenlyJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tue Oct 4, 198850DCatch one's breathChristy RidleyMaleska
Sun Jul 10, 1988114APantKay SullivanMaleska
Wed Feb 3, 198826DPuffEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Mon Nov 24, 19869AExpress shockSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wed Nov 5, 19861DPant violentlyErnie FurtadoMaleska
Wed May 14, 198657DShow surpriseLouis SabinMaleska
Wed Aug 28, 198537DTake a deep breathPeter SwiftMaleska
Thu Aug 15, 198512DInhale suddenlyNancy McCarthyMaleska
Thu Mar 7, 19851ABrief breathS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Mon Nov 28, 198310DCatch one's breathJohnsonMaleska
Fri Jun 3, 19831ATake a deep breathNikki TenfeldeMaleska
Sun Mar 13, 198392AShow surpriseEdward MarcheseMaleska
Thu Feb 24, 19831ATake a deep breathEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sat Jun 19, 198244DPantWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tue Apr 6, 19825AFetch breathWilliam CanineMaleska
Thu Apr 1, 19821APantErnst TheimerMaleska
Mon Dec 14, 198131DStruggle for airN. M. MeyerMaleska
Mon Nov 30, 198127DReaction at a horror movieEmory H. CainMaleska
Thu Jun 25, 198165AInhale suddenly, as in surpriseEdward J. BucklerMaleska
Thu Apr 23, 198110APuffBernice GordonMaleska
Wed Feb 25, 198141AAstonished soundWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Fri Jan 30, 198134DPantJean J. DavisonMaleska
Tue Jun 10, 19801ACatch one's breathBernice GordonMaleska
Mon Mar 10, 19801DPantGrace FabbroniMaleska
Sat Feb 2, 198038APant violentlyEli WesoffMaleska
Sun May 20, 197932DBreathe laboriouslyElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Thu Mar 15, 19795ATake a deep breathC. J. AngioMaleska
Fri Feb 9, 19791DCatch one's breathWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thu May 25, 19781DCatch the breath convulsivelyHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Fri May 12, 19781ASound of surpriseJames & Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Mon Mar 13, 197810ABreathe laboriouslyGrace FabbroniMaleska
Mon Nov 7, 197710APant violentlyJamesMaleska
Tue Mar 29, 197749DPantHarriet Gilson RosenbergMaleska
Wed Jan 12, 197710AConvulsive soundEli WesoffWeng
Sat Nov 6, 19761AShow surpriseLansingWeng
Sun Jul 4, 1976176DSound of surpriseAnne FoxWeng
Mon Apr 5, 19761DSound of surpriseAnthony B. CanningWeng
Sat Jan 31, 197661AReaction of surpriseVirginia ButlerWeng
Sun Jan 18, 1976111AShow surpriseNancy W. AtkinsonWeng
Wed Oct 29, 197527DReaction of surpriseMaurice J. TeitelbaumWeng
Thu Sep 18, 19751ASound of surpriseEvelyn BenshoofWeng
Tue Apr 1, 19751ASound of surpriseBeverly J. SewardWeng
Fri Apr 19, 19745ALast ___Norton RhoadesWeng
Mon Apr 8, 19749ABreathe hardJay SpryWeng
Mon Feb 25, 197448DCatch one's breathWilliam E. HeinemannWeng
Sat Dec 8, 197358DSurprised soundUnknownWeng
Mon Nov 12, 19731ASurprised soundUnknownWeng
Mon Apr 24, 19721ALast ___UnknownWeng
Sun Feb 20, 197228DShow surpriseElizabeth A. YaroWeng
Tue Nov 23, 197154AShow surpriseUnknownWeng
Tue Nov 2, 197130DShow surpriseMel RosenWeng
Fri Feb 19, 197152DSound of surpriseUnknownWeng
Mon Nov 16, 19701ACatch one's breathUnknownWeng
Sun May 17, 197080AChokeBruce R. ShawWeng
Mon Apr 13, 197052DPantUnknownWeng
Thu Mar 5, 19708DCatch one's breathUnknownWeng
Mon Feb 16, 197023ACatch one's breathUnknownWeng
Sat May 10, 196961DPant.UnknownWeng
Thu Mar 27, 196952DSound of surprise.UnknownWeng
Tue Jan 9, 19681ACatch one's breath.UnknownFarrar
Wed Dec 20, 196730DPant.UnknownFarrar
Wed Oct 4, 196735DSound of surprise.Sara V. TuckermanFarrar
Tue Feb 21, 196750ABreathy sound.Louise EarnestFarrar
Sun Sep 11, 196681DSound of surprise.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Dec 6, 196414ABreathy sound.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Nov 15, 196441ASound of surprise.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Mon Jul 6, 19641ASound of dismay.UnknownFarrar
Fri Feb 14, 196427DBreathy sound.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jul 1, 196324DSound of surprise.UnknownFarrar
Fri Nov 2, 19621DBreathy sound.UnknownFarrar
Mon Apr 16, 19621DCatch the breath.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Wed Mar 8, 19611ACatch one's breath.UnknownFarrar
Fri Nov 25, 19609ACatch the breath.UnknownFarrar
Fri Nov 4, 19601DSound of surprise.UnknownFarrar
Thu Aug 25, 196026DPant violently.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 30, 19601DCatch the breath.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jun 13, 196035DSound of surprise.UnknownFarrar
Sat Mar 19, 196064APant.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 6, 1960129APant.Spiro K. KostofFarrar
Sat Nov 7, 19591ABreathing sound.UnknownFarrar
Thu Jul 9, 19596ASound of surprise.William Spaar, Jr.Farrar
Mon Mar 2, 195934ASound of dismay.Madeline CorseFarrar
Tue Feb 24, 19591APant.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Thu Oct 30, 19581DPant.UnknownFarrar
Sat Oct 11, 19588DPant.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Tue Sep 16, 195826DSound of surprise.Anthony MorseFarrar
Sat Apr 12, 195825DSound of surprise.S. A. KayFarrar
Fri Aug 2, 19571DSound of dismay.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Sat May 4, 19571ASound of surprise.UnknownFarrar
Wed Mar 27, 195757APant.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Mon Feb 4, 19571ACatch one's breath.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Thu Oct 11, 195625DPuff.Mel TaubFarrar
Tue Jul 17, 195665ACatch one's breath.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Jun 17, 195690ASound of dismay.Bernice GordonFarrar
Sat Nov 19, 19555ASound of dismay.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 21, 19559AReact to a thriller.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sat Aug 6, 19555ASharp intake of breath.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thu May 19, 19557DSound of surprise.Sidney LambertFarrar
Tue Apr 12, 19551DSound from an excited fan.Harold T. BersFarrar
Fri Apr 1, 195554DSound of surprise.Gene KosicFarrar
Sun Jan 2, 19556ACome up for air.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Mon Aug 16, 195463APant.Edward EarlyFarrar
Fri Apr 2, 195432AWheeze.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sat Mar 13, 19541ACatch the breath.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jun 13, 19531DSound of surprise.Roberta MorseFarrar
Tue Mar 24, 19535AA sudden short breath.George HendersonFarrar
Thu Feb 12, 19531ACatch the breath.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sat Jan 10, 195310AA sudden, short breath.Edward BucklerFarrar
Thu May 15, 195227ASound of astonishment.UnknownFarrar
Sat Mar 15, 195247DBe out of breath.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 20, 195155DBreath of shock.UnknownFarrar
Sun Dec 10, 1950116DStrangle for air.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tue Nov 14, 195013DLabored breath.UnknownFarrar
Sun Dec 29, 1946126APant.Harriot CookeFarrar
Sun Oct 15, 194475DPant violently.Bert StoreyFarrar
Sun Aug 6, 194416DCatch the breath.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun May 14, 194474ACatch the breath.G. O. ButlerFarrar