It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

67 results for GAGE

12 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for GAGE.

DateGridClueAuthor
Fri Dec 16, 201650DBunker Hill generalMartin Ashwood-Smith and George Barany
Sun Nov 6, 2011121AEnglish general in the American RevolutionElizabeth C. Gorski
Sat Oct 13, 200760ARevolutionary War general Thomas (2)Barry C. Silk
Fri Jul 13, 200710DThomas ___, last royal governor of MassachusettsManny Nosowsky
Fri Mar 18, 200552DPlum varietyEd Early
Sun Apr 7, 200251DRevolutionary War general Thomas ___ (2)Nancy Salomon
Fri Mar 1, 200247DPlum variety, for shortManny Nosowsky
Sun Jan 30, 200061DBritish governor of Massachusetts, 1775Peter Gordon
Thu Aug 19, 199960D"Eleni" author NicholasCathy Millhauser
Sun Mar 7, 199990DOld-fashioned pledgeRandolph Ross
Fri Dec 31, 199353DKnight's gloveNorman S. Wizer
Sun Nov 28, 199322ABritish general of 1775Joanne W. Edwards

55 results for GAGE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Sep 26, 199316DSecurity depositJohn GreenmanTaub
Mon Mar 8, 199313DPledge or challengeJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sat Nov 21, 199222DToken of defianceJesse RoarkeMaleska
Sun Apr 8, 19901DSecurityErnst TheimerMaleska
Sun Jan 14, 199075DKind of plum, for shortKay SullivanMaleska
Wed Jul 5, 198955DSign of a challengeChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Wed Dec 24, 198650DChallengeH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Thu Jul 24, 19861DKind of plumBernice GordonMaleska
Wed Jun 26, 198547ALast royal governor of Mass.Elaine GeorgeMaleska
Sun Nov 4, 198434DFine plumErnst TheimerMaleska
Tue Apr 26, 198351APlum typeJudson G. TrentMaleska
Mon Jun 28, 198223ALast royal governor of Mass.JonesMaleska
Tue Nov 24, 198123ARevolutionary War generalArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Tue Mar 10, 198131DGeneral of 1775Martha J. DeWittMaleska
Tue Jun 24, 198034APlumEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Mon Apr 7, 198023AChallengeHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Mon Apr 9, 197955AGreenish plumArnold MossMaleska
Wed Sep 10, 197528AGreen plumMartha J. DeWittWeng
Sat Jul 20, 197410AChallengeDavid CrosattoWeng
Sat May 4, 197438DPledgeHerb L. RisteenWeng
Sun Apr 7, 1974139APlum varietyDorothea ShippWeng
Sun Aug 5, 197331APledgeBarbara GillisWeng
Thu Sep 7, 197234APersonal pledgeUnknownWeng
Mon Feb 21, 19721DVariety of plumUnknownWeng
Fri Mar 26, 197137APledgeUnknownWeng
Wed Sep 2, 197055AKind of plumUnknownWeng
Sun Feb 8, 197056DPlum varietyMarjorie K. CollinsWeng
Thu Sep 16, 196536DVariety of plum.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 12, 196442AGeneral of 1775.John ByrneFarrar
Thu Oct 3, 196353ABritish general of 1776.Michael DubinFarrar
Thu Jul 11, 196319DA pledge.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 29, 196055DKind of plum.UnknownFarrar
Fri Dec 18, 195957AA pledge or security.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 8, 1959116DKind of plum.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sun Aug 17, 195829APlum.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Tue Jan 7, 195853DGreen plum.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Tue Dec 3, 195742AKind of plum.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jun 18, 19571ABritish general of 1776.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Mon May 27, 19577DVariety of plum.Helen FasuloFarrar
Thu Mar 28, 195734AKnightly challenge.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Sun Oct 28, 1956127DChallenge.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thu Jul 12, 195655DBritish general in the Revolution.Mel TaubFarrar
Sun Feb 26, 1956100DBritish C. I. C., 1763–76.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Tue May 10, 195536AVariety of plum.Marian MoeserFarrar
Sat Nov 6, 195438AChallenge.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 4, 195344AA challenge.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Fri Oct 2, 195360AA green plum was named for him.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sat Apr 25, 195359DA light-green plum.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jan 2, 195354DA greenish-yellow plum.Charles E. GerschFarrar
Sat Dec 6, 195267AA plum was named for him.UnknownFarrar
Mon Apr 7, 195251DHe sent the Redcoats “by land,” 1775.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 25, 195137AA challenge.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun Apr 23, 195085ASecurity.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun Dec 22, 194687DGreenish-yellow plum.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sun Sep 5, 194352ASecretary of Treasury under McKinley.J. C. DoesburgFarrar