It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Learn about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

61 results for FUEL

19 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for FUEL.

DateGridClueAuthor
Mon May 14, 201815AGas, oil or coalAndrea Carla Michaels
Sun Nov 5, 201795AFill-up fillerNatan Last
Fri Jul 28, 201741AFire's needRobyn Weintraub
Mon May 11, 201512DUranium or plutonium, for a nuclear reactorJoe DiPietro
Mon Mar 9, 201522DWhat an electric car doesn't needDebbie Ellerin
Sun Feb 22, 20153DPrecamping purchasePatrick Berry
Sun Jan 5, 2014107DCoke, for oneAlan DerKazarian
Wed Dec 7, 201118APeat or propaneJulian Lim
Sun May 1, 201131DCoal, e.g.Xan Vongsathorn
Mon Apr 26, 201040DGasoline or peatLynn Lempel
Tue Sep 30, 20086AGasohol, e.g. (2)Allan E. Parrish
Sat Apr 21, 200741AIt may be pumpedByron Walden
Sun Dec 11, 200533DFeedBen Tausig
Wed Mar 26, 200317AGasohol, e.g. (2)Randall J. Hartman
Tue Jul 23, 200231DNatural gas, for oneRandall J. Hartman
Mon Feb 5, 200137DGas or oilNancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Wed Nov 1, 199559APetrol, e.g.D.J. DeChristopher
Fri Oct 20, 199553AGive power toManny Nosowsky
Sat Sep 23, 199527DAmmunitionMartin Ashwood-Smith

42 results for FUEL from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sat Oct 9, 199351DEnergizeHessTaub
Sun Jul 7, 199161APower sourceCaroline G. FitzgeraldMaleska
Sun May 7, 198991ASustenance for an iron horseBert H. KruseMaleska
Sun Jan 24, 198894DGasohol, e.g.Mary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Mon Mar 23, 198748APeat, for onePeter SwiftMaleska
Sun Nov 16, 198650AStokeDeborah Pelkey TrombleyMaleska
Sat Sep 20, 198666AWinter needHoslerMaleska
Mon Aug 5, 198540APeat or oilJudson G. TrentMaleska
Sun Feb 10, 198583AStokeBert H. KruseMaleska
Mon May 28, 198434ACoal or cokeHarold B. CountsMaleska
Sun Sep 4, 198362DPeat, e.g.Mary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Mon Dec 13, 198234AFire upJudson G. TrentMaleska
Sun Sep 5, 198219DPeat, e.g.Louise EarnestMaleska
Wed Sep 28, 197727ACoal, oil or peatJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Thu Oct 14, 197622AStokeHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Sat Jan 25, 197546ACoal, for oneHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Tue Jan 20, 197038DWood or peatUnknownWeng
Wed Mar 12, 196921AButane, for one.Nancy SchusterWeng
Thu Nov 28, 196837ACoke, for one.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 12, 196847AWood, for one.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 6, 196743DCoal or gas.Will WengFarrar
Wed Sep 21, 196640APetrol.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jul 26, 19651DKerosene.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 12, 196314ACoke, for one.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 21, 1963108AOil.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sun Sep 9, 1962104AWood.Sidney LambertFarrar
Mon Apr 23, 196255DCoal or gas.Ruth M. McWhirkFarrar
Thu Feb 22, 196265AStoke.Brice MetcalfeFarrar
Thu Dec 14, 19613DKerosene.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 5, 196164AOil or gas.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 9, 196199AOil.Diana SessionsFarrar
Fri Mar 17, 196156AKerosene.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 11, 195976DLignite or peat.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Sat Feb 8, 195825ACombustible matter.UnknownFarrar
Sat Apr 30, 195539DWood.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sat Jan 9, 195444ASource of heat or power.Diana SessionsFarrar
Sun Jun 14, 195376DEthyl.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Feb 17, 195276DPower producer.Sam LakeFarrar
Sun Feb 4, 195172DCommodity for power.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Dec 11, 194988ACoal, oil, wood.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Jul 25, 1943128DIckes is ___ Administrator.Howard O. SmithFarrar
Sun Oct 25, 194299AGas.Alexis P. BoodbergFarrar