It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

94 results for FIST

31 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for FIST.

DateGridClueAuthor
Thu Aug 2, 20181DSomething at the end of the hook?Xan Vongsathorn
Tue Jul 31, 201846ASymbol of powerDavid Woolf
Fri Mar 30, 201849DIt may pack a punchSam Trabucco
Wed Oct 19, 201628AWord before bump or pumpTom Pepper
Wed Oct 28, 201534DPunch ingredient?Jay Kaskel and Daniel Kantor
Tue Jul 28, 201550DHand ball?Caleb Emmons
Sat Mar 14, 201542ADuke (3)James Mulhern
Mon Mar 9, 201569ABlack Power symbol (2)Debbie Ellerin
Thu Oct 2, 20145ASymbol of authority (2)David Woolf
Wed Aug 20, 201455ASymbol of authority (2)Zhouqin Burnikel
Thu Jun 16, 201159A*It may be pumped or bumpedDavid Steinberg
Fri Feb 25, 201147DWeapon for 21-AcrossHenry Hook
Thu Aug 26, 201013DSymbol of revolutionary powerHenry Hook
Sun Aug 19, 2007116ASolidarity symbolElizabeth C. Gorski
Tue Jun 12, 200710ABlack Power symbol (2)Jonathan Gersch
Sun Jan 22, 200649AJawbreaker?George Barany and Michael Shteyman
Sun Aug 28, 2005128DOne pounderNancy Nicholson Joline
Sun Apr 17, 2005107DOne of two dukesManny Nosowsky
Fri Apr 8, 20058DDuke (3)Manny Nosowsky
Fri Apr 23, 200446ASymbol of dominationAlan Olschwang
Sun Jan 25, 200431AThreatening signHarvey Estes and Nancy Salomon
Sun Feb 23, 200330ADuke (3)Nancy Salomon
Sat Feb 8, 200343AIt's hard-hittingPatrick Berry
Sun Feb 4, 200115AHook delivererFrank A. Longo
Tue Jul 11, 200017AIt's closed for fightingNick Grivas and Nancy Salomon
Sun Jul 27, 199773A70-Across weaponJune Boggs
Mon Apr 21, 199742DPugilist's weaponPatrick Jordan
Sat Aug 31, 19964DShow of angerG. Petgrave
Tue Jan 16, 199646DBoxer's weaponR. Hartman
Fri Jan 5, 19966DPuncherR. Ross
Tue Mar 8, 199411DFight sightHarvey Estes

1 result for FIST from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Nov 23, 2003diagramless25AHand in a gloveFred Piscop

62 results for FIST from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Sep 20, 199228DStallone filmJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Wed Jan 15, 199212DStallone movieWayne Hall-EastmanMaleska
Fri Sep 6, 19917DHolyfield weaponPatricia A. CevaalMaleska
Thu Feb 14, 19911DStallone film: 1978Harold B. CountsMaleska
Wed May 2, 199044ABuster Douglas's weaponPeter GordonMaleska
Mon Dec 11, 19899AThis is sometimes clenchedSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Thu Jul 30, 198753DStallone movieGayle DeanMaleska
Fri Sep 26, 198653AJewison filmJoy L. WoukMaleska
Mon May 26, 19863DClenched handH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Wed Nov 7, 198461ASign in printingWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wed Jun 6, 198450AClenched handH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Wed Sep 22, 198212DSign used in printingJack R. HarnesMaleska
Sat Aug 1, 198136DPrinting signA. J. SantoraMaleska
Tue Dec 30, 198010ABoxer's weaponPeter SwiftMaleska
Wed Jul 11, 197923AClenched handKathryn RighterMaleska
Wed Apr 4, 197940DClenched handJean J. DavisonMaleska
Wed Jun 8, 197719AWeapon in the ringHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sat Apr 26, 19753DClutchBert BeamanWeng
Fri Jul 12, 197423DClenched handSidney L. RobbinsWeng
Mon Jun 3, 197436AFinger clumpG. Gordon CookWeng
Mon Nov 5, 197338AFighting weaponUnknownWeng
Fri May 11, 19732DBoxer's weaponUnknownWeng
Wed Jul 19, 19725AHandwritingUnknownWeng
Sat Jul 10, 19711AResult of a clenchUnknownWeng
Thu Jun 4, 197050DKnuckle sandwichUnknownWeng
Mon May 4, 197010ABoxer's weaponUnknownWeng
Wed Jan 29, 196934DLouis's weapon.UnknownWeng
Wed Jan 1, 196924APunch ingredient.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 7, 196858DSign, in printing.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 18, 196728DMailed item.Evelyn BenshoofFarrar
Wed May 31, 196724DHandwriting: Colloq.William LutwiniakFarrar
Fri May 19, 196733AHand, often in glove.George LaczkoFarrar
Sun Jan 15, 196797ASign, in printing.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Fri Aug 5, 19665AClosed hand.UnknownFarrar
Mon Dec 27, 196524DClosed hand.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 17, 196512DHand over ___.UnknownFarrar
Mon Sep 14, 19643DHandwriting: Slang.UnknownFarrar
Mon Dec 30, 196358ASign in printing.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Sat Aug 11, 196235DPugilistic weapon.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri Jul 27, 19621AHand over ___.Lois HillisFarrar
Thu Dec 14, 196111DHand: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jun 24, 19611DPrinting sign.UnknownFarrar
Fri Dec 16, 196050DHandwriting: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Mon Dec 5, 196038DClenched hand.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jun 7, 196012DSign used to point out something.UnknownFarrar
Tue Dec 1, 195923APerson's handwriting: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Fri May 23, 195850APrinter's index mark.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sat Dec 7, 19571APrinting sign.UnknownFarrar
Tue Feb 5, 19575AHandwriting: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 8, 195648ASign used in printing.Diana SessionsFarrar
Mon Dec 5, 195549DIn printing, the index sign.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 22, 195553DPrinting symbol.UnknownFarrar
Fri Sep 23, 195558DIndex mark, in printing.Marion MoeserFarrar
Sat Apr 30, 195539ASign used in printing.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sat Nov 20, 195424AHand weapon.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tue May 19, 195331DThe index sign in printing.M. S. ManningFarrar
Fri May 1, 195368AHandwriting: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Thu Sep 18, 195263DThe index sign .UnknownFarrar
Thu Sep 11, 19521DIndex mark, in printing.UnknownFarrar
Fri Mar 14, 19521DOne kind of a fight.UnknownFarrar
Wed Apr 18, 195121DCharles' moneymaker.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 21, 195183AIndex mark, in printing.Harold T. BersFarrar