It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

280 results for EVADE

95 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for EVADE.

DateGridClueAuthor
Thu Apr 6, 201751DSidestep (6)Damon Gulczynski
Wed Jan 18, 201756ADance around, as an issueMatthew Sewell
Wed Sep 28, 201661AGet around (8)Morton J. Mendelson
Sun Sep 18, 201654AGet by (2)Jeremy Newton
Sun Aug 14, 201694DShake (3)Ian Livengood
Sun Jul 12, 201511DSkirt (9)Patrick Berry
Thu May 21, 201563ADodge (15)Peter A. Collins
Tue Oct 21, 201464AAvoid (4)Patrick Blindauer
Sun Oct 5, 2014111DDuck (10)Samuel A. Donaldson
Mon May 19, 201468ADodge (15)Michael Hawkins
Thu Feb 20, 201458ADodge (15)Zhouqin Burnikel and Don Gagliardo
Wed Jan 15, 201426DCircumvent (6)Bernice Gordon
Mon Nov 25, 201366ACircumvent (6)Kevin G. Der
Mon Sep 23, 201359ADodge (15)Susan Gelfand
Tue Feb 12, 201340DDodge (15)Dan Schoenholz
Sun Oct 21, 201296ASkirt (9)Caleb Rasmussen
Wed Jan 11, 201254DSidestep (6)Chuck Deodene
Thu Dec 15, 201123ABypass (2)Jim Hilger
Mon Oct 31, 201136DCircumvent (6)Jeff Chen
Fri Oct 21, 201165ASlip aroundPatrick Berry
Wed Aug 24, 201124DDance aroundKelsey Blakley
Sat May 21, 201141AGet by (2)Barry C. Silk
Mon Jan 24, 201118DGive the slip to (4)Fred Piscop
Tue Jan 18, 201126DGive the slip to (4)Gary J. Whitehead
Tue Jan 4, 201115AFail to pay, as taxesDavid Hanson
Tue Sep 7, 201049DSkirt (9)MaryEllen Uthlaut
Mon Sep 6, 201027DEscape, as arrestRandall J. Hartman
Tue Aug 24, 201068ASkirt (9)Caleb Madison and J.A.S.A. Crossword Class
Tue Jan 26, 20109DCircumvent (6)Paula Gamache
Sat Nov 28, 200948DShake (3)Karen M. Tracey
Wed Jul 1, 200930AGive the slip to (4)David J. Kahn
Sun Apr 5, 200963DGive the slip (4)Charles Deber
Tue Feb 10, 200939ASkirt (9)John Underwood
Thu Jan 29, 200929DDuck (10)Barry C. Silk
Wed Jul 30, 200810DAvoid (4)Elizabeth A. Long
Fri Feb 22, 200848ALose successfullyMike Nothnagel and David Quarfoot
Mon Jan 7, 200854DDodge (15)Lynn Lempel
Thu Nov 1, 200726ADodge (15)Larry Shearer
Sun Oct 7, 200716DGet around (8)Nancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Fri Feb 2, 200768AGet around (8)David J. Kahn
Sat Oct 7, 200646DShake (3)David Quarfoot
Sun Aug 20, 200632DGet out ofRichard Silvestri
Mon Apr 3, 200651DSidestep (6)Lynn Lempel
Wed Mar 1, 200629DSkirt (9)Richard Silvestri
Sun Jan 8, 200688ASlip byMichael Ashley
Sun Jan 1, 2006110DDodge (15)Joe DiPietro
Wed Dec 28, 200525DDuck (10)Ernest Lampert
Wed Sep 21, 200562ADodge (15)Anne Garellick
Mon Sep 19, 200532DEscape, as detectionTimothy Powell
Mon Feb 7, 200515AGive the slip (4)Gordon Seaberg
Sat Oct 2, 20041DTry to loseDavid J. Kahn
Sun Aug 8, 200474AGet around (8)Bill Zais
Sat Nov 29, 200319ASkirt (9)Randolph Ross
Tue Sep 30, 20037DSidestep (6)Kevan Choset
Mon Jun 30, 200339DDodge (15)Gregory E. Paul
Mon Oct 28, 200264AGet around (8)Randy Sowell
Tue Feb 19, 200233DDodge (15)Arlan and Linda Bushman
Wed Mar 21, 20012DDuck (10)Greg Staples
Mon Jan 15, 200132DSteer clear ofJanet R. Bender
Wed Jan 3, 200156DGive the slip to (4)Fred Piscop
Tue Jul 25, 200019AAvoid answeringPatrick Jordan
Sun May 14, 200068AGive the slip (4)Bill Zais and Nancy Salomon
Fri Apr 7, 20001DDuck (10)Richard Silvestri
Mon Dec 6, 199952DAvoid, as captureGregory E. Paul
Mon Jun 21, 199958ASidestep (6)Gregory E. Paul
Thu May 6, 199947DGive the slip (4)Matt Gaffney
Tue Apr 6, 199933AKeep away fromStephanie Spadaccini
Wed Mar 24, 199916APlay hard to getNancy Salomon
Tue Feb 2, 199951DSkirt (9)Norma Steinberg
Sat Dec 12, 199863ANot answer directlyRich Norris
Sun Jul 12, 199858DDuck (10)Henry Hook
Sat Jun 27, 199816ADuck (10)Alan Jay Weiss
Wed May 13, 199818DShake offEileen Lexau
Sun May 10, 199857DDuck (10)Rich Silvestri
Mon Apr 6, 199830DCircumvent (6)Kenneth Witte
Mon Dec 8, 199752DGet around (8)Mary E. Brindamour
Wed Nov 19, 199714ACircumvent (6)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thu Sep 4, 199716ADuck (10)Richard Silvestri
Wed Jan 22, 199744AParryJ. Schmalzbach
Mon Jan 20, 199712DDodge, as a questionS. Spadaccini
Mon Jan 13, 199724ASidestep (6)G. E. Paul
Tue Oct 22, 199627DSkirt (9)E. Quigley
Mon Oct 14, 199627AAvoid (4)R. White
Sun Jul 14, 199622ABypass (2)J. Schmalzbach
Mon Nov 27, 199525DDodge (15)Gregory E. Paul
Thu Jul 27, 199531DGet around (8)Lois Sidway
Mon May 22, 199532ADodge (15)Gregory E. Paul
Wed Mar 22, 199529DGet away fromDavid J. Kahn
Mon Feb 6, 19952DDodge (15)Gregory E. Paul
Sun Sep 4, 199473DDuck (10)Wayne Robert Williams
Sun Aug 21, 199472DGet clear ofTed Fulton
Fri Jun 10, 199454AGet out of the wayWayne Robert Williams
Fri May 20, 199450DGet around (8)Manny Nosowsky
Mon Apr 4, 19946DDodge (15)Betty Jorgensen
Wed Dec 22, 199346DAvoid (4)Morton B. Braun

185 results for EVADE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Mon Jun 28, 199366AAvoidSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wed Jun 2, 199348AGive the slipGayle DeanMaleska
Thu Jan 28, 199346DDuck an issueBetty JorgensenMaleska
Mon Oct 19, 199215AFoil pursuersMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Sun Sep 6, 199287ADo some shufflingAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Tue Aug 11, 199260AGet aroundJean J. DavisonMaleska
Wed Jul 29, 199264AGive the slip toBernice GordonMaleska
Fri Mar 6, 199216DDodgeBryant WhiteMaleska
Mon Oct 28, 199113ADuckErnie FurtadoMaleska
Mon Sep 30, 199132DDodgeAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Mon Apr 29, 199133ASidestepMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Tue Feb 19, 19915ABaffleWilliam BaxleyMaleska
Tue Oct 16, 199032DAvoidAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sun Apr 1, 199053AShunBert H. KruseMaleska
Thu Sep 21, 198948ACircumventRichard SilvestriMaleska
Tue Sep 12, 198927DSkirtVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Sun Jul 30, 1989134ADuckFrances HansenMaleska
Sat May 27, 198945DDodgeStanley NewmanMaleska
Tue Jan 3, 198916AKeep away fromShirley SolowayMaleska
Tue Nov 8, 198815ASidestepLouis SabinMaleska
Thu Sep 29, 198863ADodgeS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Sun Aug 28, 198884DDodgeMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Mon Jul 18, 198850DSidestepVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Thu Jul 7, 198827DDodgeMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Fri Apr 15, 198848ADodgeJesse RoarkeMaleska
Wed Jan 27, 198867ADodgeDorothy SmitonickMaleska
Sun Dec 13, 198721ASidestepLouis SabinMaleska
Mon Sep 14, 198762ADuckChristopher SherwoodMaleska
Sun Aug 30, 198786AEscapeBernice GordonMaleska
Mon Aug 24, 198721DAvoidAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Wed Apr 1, 198727DGive the slip toJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Tue Feb 24, 19876DDodgeJudson G. TrentMaleska
Mon Feb 23, 198750DEscape by trickeryJames R. BurnsMaleska
Thu Jan 1, 198768AGet aroundJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tue Nov 4, 19869AGet out ofJoy L. WoukMaleska
Mon Oct 27, 198654DDodgeEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Mon Oct 6, 198648DEscape by artificeJames R. BurnsMaleska
Tue Jun 3, 198630DEludeH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Sun Jun 1, 1986102DDodgeCharles M. DeberMaleska
Wed Feb 12, 198633DDuckJoy L. WoukMaleska
Fri Jan 3, 198661ASidestepA. J. SantoraMaleska
Tue Apr 23, 19852DOutwit a pursuerMary S. SnyderMaleska
Mon Jan 7, 198568AQuibbleEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Tue Oct 9, 198439ADodgeDale O. BurgenerMaleska
Sat Apr 21, 19845AEscapeTrippMaleska
Sat Mar 24, 198411DCircumventHoslerMaleska
Mon Mar 5, 198430DAvoidBette Sue CohenMaleska
Mon Jan 23, 198466ADuckVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Mon Jul 25, 198351DEscape by trickeryJames R. BurnsMaleska
Sun Mar 28, 198220ADuckTom MixonMaleska
Wed Dec 16, 198133DAvoidBert H. KruseMaleska
Fri Nov 13, 198160ADo some shufflingC. J. AngioMaleska
Wed Oct 21, 19816DFoil a would-be catcherNikki TenfeldeMaleska
Sun Aug 9, 1981123DSidestepHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sat May 9, 198129DDodgeSternerMaleska
Wed Mar 25, 198130DGet away fromBernice GordonMaleska
Sun Oct 26, 198020ABe deviousElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Tue Aug 12, 198028DDodgeJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wed Apr 16, 198047DBaffleJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wed Feb 27, 198062AFoil von RichthofenRaeMaleska
Sun Jan 27, 198056DDodgeBert BeamanMaleska
Sun Jan 20, 198073DDodgeAlfio MicciMaleska
Mon Oct 15, 197954ADodgeN. M. MeyerMaleska
Mon Jun 25, 197954DDodgeStanley GlassMaleska
Thu Jun 21, 197955AAvoid artfullyKathryn RighterMaleska
Sun Apr 8, 1979120ASkirtAlfio MicciMaleska
Thu Mar 15, 197958ADodgeC. J. AngioMaleska
Sun Feb 25, 197960ASidestepJames and Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Thu Nov 9, 197826DShirkGrace FabbroniMaleska
Mon Jun 19, 197837DDodge or duckMichelle ArnotMaleska
Thu Mar 30, 197824DSidestepBette Sue CohenMaleska
Tue Jan 31, 197830DPlay the quibblerEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sun Nov 6, 19776ACircumventTap OsbornMaleska
Sat Jul 2, 19776DGet away fromWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thu Jun 16, 197729DPussyfootAnn JenkinsMaleska
Fri May 6, 19776DShirkRobert W. SturgesMaleska
Thu Feb 24, 197731DGet awayBen FinnWeng
Sun Dec 28, 197525ADuckFrances HansenWeng
Thu Jun 26, 197548DGet aroundNorton RhoadesWeng
Thu Jun 19, 197516AGet aroundEvelyn BenshoofWeng
Sat May 17, 197554DDodgeHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Sun Feb 2, 1975120ADodgeRaymond F. EisnerWeng
Fri Jan 10, 197559ADodgeJean ReedWeng
Sun Aug 18, 19741DSidestepA. J. SantoraWeng
Sat Mar 30, 19742DCircumventJoseph LaFauciWeng
Sat Feb 23, 197413AAvertRonald C. HirschfeldWeng
Sat Dec 15, 197333DSidestepUnknownWeng
Tue May 22, 197361AEscapeUnknownWeng
Mon Mar 19, 197311DGet aroundUnknownWeng
Sat Sep 11, 197145DGet aroundUnknownWeng
Mon Sep 6, 197150DDuckUnknownWeng
Wed Jul 28, 197127DGet aroundUnknownWeng
Mon Jun 21, 197127DDodgeUnknownWeng
Wed May 12, 197148DDodgeUnknownWeng
Fri Apr 2, 197145AGive the slip toUnknownWeng
Sun Jan 17, 197168DEscapeH. L. RisteenWeng
Thu Oct 1, 197011DSidestepUnknownWeng
Tue Apr 7, 197027DGet away fromUnknownWeng
Thu Mar 5, 197014AOutflankUnknownWeng
Sat Nov 29, 196914ASidestep.UnknownWeng
Mon Oct 6, 19693DSidestep.UnknownWeng
Tue Sep 30, 196957ADodge.UnknownWeng
Wed Jul 2, 196915ASidestep.UnknownWeng
Tue Apr 15, 196937DShirk.UnknownWeng
Thu Mar 20, 196940ASidestep.UnknownWeng
Fri Mar 7, 196955ASidestep.UnknownWeng
Tue Feb 25, 196945DDuck.UnknownWeng
Fri Feb 7, 196955ABaffle.UnknownWeng
Sun Jan 5, 196977DGive the slip toFrances HansenFarrar
Mon Nov 4, 19682DShirk.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 18, 196862AEscape from.UnknownFarrar
Wed Oct 2, 196829DGet away from.UnknownFarrar
Mon Sep 30, 196826DDodge.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 5, 196743ACircumvent.Helen FasuloFarrar
Mon Aug 14, 196729DGet away from.Martha J. DeWittFarrar
Sat Jun 24, 196715ACircumvent.Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Tue Apr 4, 196718DDuck.William LutwiniakFarrar
Sat Dec 10, 196641AShirk.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 29, 196615ASidestep.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 26, 196621ACircumvent.Bert BeamanFarrar
Wed Nov 3, 196519ABaffle.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jul 11, 196599DCircumvent.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Wed Jul 7, 196563AGet out of.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 4, 196587AGet around.Will C. WengFarrar
Fri Jan 29, 196554DKeep out of the way of.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jan 5, 196527DChange the subject.UnknownFarrar
Mon Oct 26, 196461AGet around.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 31, 196449DGet around.UnknownFarrar
Mon Aug 17, 196439AEscape.UnknownFarrar
Fri Feb 14, 196455DElude.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 25, 196211DDodge.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Fri Nov 16, 196227ACircumvent.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 18, 196245DDodge.Louise EarnestFarrar
Fri Sep 14, 19628DSide-step.UnknownFarrar
Thu Mar 15, 196238ASlip away from.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sun Nov 19, 196140ABaffle.Mary GrowFarrar
Sat Nov 11, 196160ADodge.UnknownFarrar
Tue Oct 24, 196131DGet out of.UnknownFarrar
Fri May 12, 196164AGet away from.UnknownFarrar
Wed Feb 22, 196119DCircumvent.UnknownFarrar
Wed Nov 30, 196057AGet around.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 13, 196019ABaffle.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 26, 196027DGet away from.UnknownFarrar
Tue Aug 2, 19601AGet out of.UnknownFarrar
Sat May 7, 196044ASide-step.UnknownFarrar
Fri Mar 11, 19604DBaffle.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jan 8, 196016ASidestep.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jul 29, 195914AAvoid by dexterity.UnknownFarrar
Fri Apr 10, 195931DGet out of.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Fri Jul 18, 195847DEquivocate.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jun 9, 19586DElude.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jan 8, 195810DDodge.UnknownFarrar
Wed Nov 6, 195758AGet around.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 26, 1957138AGet out of.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thu Feb 28, 195764AGet out of.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Sun Feb 24, 1957106AAvoid carefully.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri Nov 23, 195659AGet around.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Mon Nov 5, 195636ACircumvent.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sat Oct 13, 19562DShirk.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Sun Sep 30, 1956134ADuck the issue.Charles E. GerschFarrar
Mon Aug 6, 195627DSide-step.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sat Jun 30, 195659AGet around.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Tue May 22, 195649DGet out of.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tue Dec 13, 195557AEquivocate.UnknownFarrar
Thu Aug 18, 195556ABaffle pursuit.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tue May 18, 195431DAvoid by dexterity.Thomas VarnerFarrar
Wed Mar 3, 195439ABaffle.Roberta MorseFarrar
Tue Apr 28, 195362ABaffle.George HendersonFarrar
Tue Feb 3, 195315ACircumvent by trickery.Ralph AndersonFarrar
Sun Jan 4, 195349AEscape from.Diana R. SessionsFarrar
Fri Sep 19, 195214AAvoid answering directly.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 17, 195161AEscape by trickery.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 14, 195149DEscape.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 13, 195120DSidestep.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun Nov 5, 1950118AElude.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sun May 11, 1947100AShun.Louis JenkinsFarrar
Sun Apr 14, 194616DDodge.Charles CrossFarrar
Sun Apr 8, 194596AShirk.Harriot T. CookeFarrar
Sun Nov 28, 1943130ABaffle.Louis JenkinsFarrar
Sun Jun 27, 1943132DDodge.Louis BaronFarrar
Sun May 30, 19436DDodge.William SchoppFarrar
Sun May 9, 194382DShun.P. Joseph LamannaFarrar
Sun Feb 14, 194368DShun.C. Hartley MillsFarrar
Sun Jun 14, 194292AAvoid by dexterity.Charles Merz and Arthur Hays SulzbergerFarrar
Sun Apr 19, 19427DRefuse to face.Louis BaronFarrar