It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

236 Results for ETHAN

92 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, July 10, 201722DJoel Coen's filmmaking brotherTimothy Polin
Friday, April 21, 201710D"___ Brand" (Nathaniel Hawthorne tale)Damon Gulczynski
Monday, January 23, 201732DActor Hawke of "Boyhood"Bruce Haight
Wednesday, June 15, 201652DAllen who led the Green Mountain BoysJason Flinn
Tuesday, June 7, 201610DPatriot Allen (10)Peter A. Collins
Friday, February 19, 201652D___ Allen Express (Amtrak train in the Northeast)Jacob Stulberg
Saturday, January 30, 201614D___ Edwards, John Wayne's role in "The Searchers," 1956Samuel A. Donaldson and Brad Wilber
Saturday, December 26, 201538AHawthorne's "___ Brand"James Mulhern
Friday, June 5, 201528DHistorical AllenJames Mulhern
Tuesday, May 26, 20152DEdith Wharton's "___ Frome"Gareth Bain
Sunday, February 8, 201546ADirector CoenJeremy Newton
Friday, January 30, 201514DHawke of "Boyhood"David Phillips
Saturday, January 10, 201519ALover of Mattie in an Edith Wharton novelJoe Krozel
Thursday, December 4, 201448DAllen in history (3)Kacey Walker and David Quarfoot
Wednesday, November 26, 20144DAllen who captured Fort TiconderogaMichael S. Maurer
Tuesday, October 28, 201462AOne of the Coen brothers (4)Andrea Carla Michaels
Saturday, October 11, 201427D"Benson" actor PhillipsEvans Clinchy
Saturday, August 2, 201419AAllen in history (3)Kristian House
Sunday, July 27, 201496AHunt in "Mission: Impossible"Randolph Ross
Wednesday, February 12, 201456AHawke of Hollywood (3)Peter A. Collins
Saturday, August 24, 20132DBrand of literature (2)Frederick J. Healy
Sunday, June 30, 2013102DA Coen brother (2)Alex Vratsanos and Jeff Chen
Friday, March 29, 201347A"My Name Is Earl" co-star SupleeJosh Knapp
Tuesday, March 26, 201327DPatriot Allen (10)Samuel A. Donaldson and Doug Peterson
Sunday, February 17, 201359DTom Cruise's character in "Mission: Impossible"Ian Livengood and J.A.S.A. Crossword Class
Tuesday, January 22, 201353DOne of the Coen brothers (4)Jay Kaskel
Tuesday, July 10, 201241AFirst name in patriotism and furnitureChris A. McGlothlin
Tuesday, June 26, 201246DOne of filmdom's Coen brothers (3)Mike Torch
Monday, June 25, 201256DActor Hawke (8)Nancy Kavanaugh
Monday, February 20, 20121APatriot Allen with the Green Mountain BoysSamuel A. Donaldson
Monday, January 23, 201233DRevolutionary Allen (4)Sarah Keller
Sunday, January 22, 201210D"___ Frome" (2)Adam Fromm
Monday, December 5, 201136DOne of filmdom's Coen brothers (3)Kenneth J. Berniker
Saturday, November 19, 201120ABrand of literature (2)Allan E. Parrish
Thursday, November 17, 201167AA Coen brother (2)Patrick Merrell
Wednesday, September 28, 20112DOne of the CoensSteve Salitan
Thursday, August 4, 201148DAllen in history (3)David J. Kahn
Sunday, April 3, 201160A___ Hunt, Tom Cruise's character in "Mission: Impossible"Oliver Hill and Eliza Bagg
Tuesday, February 22, 201138DPatriot Allen (10)Ian Livengood
Friday, October 22, 201031ABrand written about by HawthorneScott Atkinson
Sunday, August 1, 201020AFurniture retailer ___ AllenBrendan Emmett Quigley
Thursday, October 29, 200913D___ Allen furnitureJoe Krozel
Wednesday, August 19, 200931DPatriot Allen (10)Peter A. Collins
Thursday, September 11, 200852DAllen in American historyCaleb Madison
Saturday, August 9, 200847A___ Hunt, Tom Cruise's character in "Mission: Impossible" filmsMark Diehl
Monday, November 19, 200743AActor Hawke (8)Lynn Lempel
Monday, April 30, 200764AFilmmaker Coen (3)Allan E. Parrish
Tuesday, October 3, 200613DActor Hawke (8)Ed Stein
Monday, September 11, 200619DWharton's "___ Frome" (5)Lynn Lempel
Saturday, September 9, 200650AAuthor Canin (2)Bob Klahn
Wednesday, August 16, 200626DHawke of Hollywood (3)Kevan Choset
Thursday, February 2, 200628DOne of the Coen brothers (4)Byron Walden
Sunday, January 1, 2006106DNovelist Canin (2)Joe DiPietro
Wednesday, November 23, 200519AHawke of film (2)Levi Denham
Monday, August 22, 200514AHawke of Hollywood (3)Lynn Lempel
Monday, April 18, 200511DRevolutionary War hero ___ AllenRobert Dillman
Sunday, April 3, 2005126AOne of the Coen brothers (4)Nancy Nicholson Joline
Monday, February 14, 200516AActor Hawke (8)Janet R. Bender
Tuesday, October 26, 200413DHawke of film (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sunday, September 19, 200473AHollywood's HawkeKyle Mahowald
Tuesday, June 8, 200420ARevolutionary Allen (4)Ed Early
Saturday, November 15, 200325DNovelist Canin (2)Patrick Berry
Monday, January 6, 200351DWharton's "___ Frome" (5)Sarah Keller
Sunday, November 24, 2002101DHawke of 2000's "Hamlet"Nancy Salomon and Lee Glickstein
Tuesday, August 6, 200241DFilmmaker Coen (3)Ethan Cooper and Michael Shteyman
Tuesday, February 19, 200229DRevolutionary Allen (4)Arlan and Linda Bushman
Monday, January 7, 200235AActor Hawke (8)Peter Gordon
Thursday, November 22, 200125DOne of the AllensRichard Silvestri
Monday, October 8, 200126DPatriot Allen (10)Monica Krausse
Thursday, March 1, 200136AWharton's Frome (5)Nancy S. Ross
Monday, February 5, 200154DPatriot Allen (10)Nancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Thursday, November 30, 200031DAuthor Canin (2)Manny Nosowsky
Thursday, March 25, 199944AActor Hawke (8)David J. Kahn
Sunday, November 22, 199810DPatriot Allen (10)Nelson Hardy
Thursday, June 25, 199838D"___ Frome" (2)Stanley B. Whitten
Monday, February 23, 199823APatriot Allen (10)Mark Danna
Saturday, September 27, 199745D"Blue River" author CaninMatt Gaffney
Monday, August 18, 199733AWith 54-Across, a Revolutionary heroJoel D. Lafargue
Wednesday, April 2, 199751DWharton's "___ Frome" (5)Mark Elliot Skolsky
Thursday, March 6, 199746DActor Hawke (8)Shannon Burns
Monday, March 3, 199766ARevolutionary patriot AllenStephanie Spadaccini
Sunday, January 12, 199721AContemporary author Canin (2)M. Rosen
Sunday, December 8, 199663DOne of filmdom's Coen brothers (3)A. J. Santora
Sunday, September 15, 199658DActor Hawke of "Alive"A. K. Justin
Monday, February 26, 199638DPatriot Allen (10)N. Steinberg
Saturday, August 19, 199547DActor Hawke (8)Bryant White
Sunday, July 9, 1995114AFilm maker Coen (3)Nancy Nicholson Joline
Sunday, April 9, 199564DRevolutionary Allen (4)Cathy Millhauser
Monday, March 13, 199536APatriot Allen (10)Ernie Furtado
Tuesday, January 24, 199554DWharton's Frome (5)Richard Hughes
Friday, October 14, 199438AAn AllenBob Sefick
Sunday, August 14, 199496AContemporary author Canin (2)Deborah Kathryn Trombley

2 results for ETHAN from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
April 17, 2011panda3DName for a thaneMel Taub
June 25, 2000cryptic23DIrrationally hate Nixon's first name (5)Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon

142 results for ETHAN from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, October 24, 1993102AFrome or AllenFrances HansenTaub
Friday, July 23, 199321DFrome of fictionTap OsbornMaleska
Saturday, July 3, 199324DAn Allen of historyTap OsbornMaleska
Tuesday, June 8, 199353DFrome or AllenGayle DeanMaleska
Saturday, May 15, 199366AAn AllenEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sunday, March 7, 19932DGreen Mountain's AllenBetty JorgensenMaleska
Wednesday, November 4, 199241AFrome of fictionBetty HinmanMaleska
Saturday, September 19, 19922DFrome or AllenEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Thursday, August 27, 199270AMr. FromeManny NosowskyMaleska
Monday, August 10, 199210DAllen of the RevolutionDon GroatMaleska
Friday, August 7, 199249AEarly AllenBob SefickMaleska
Monday, July 20, 199215AAllen from Litchfield, Conn.Bette Sue CohenMaleska
Wednesday, March 25, 19921AFrome or AllenStanley GlassMaleska
Monday, March 16, 199253DAllen of Vt.Stanley GlassMaleska
Thursday, January 9, 199246DRevolutionary AllenTap OsbornMaleska
Wednesday, October 2, 199151DVt.'s AllenJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, March 25, 199114AAllen or FromeReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Wednesday, July 4, 199050DA Green Mountain AllenReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Sunday, December 17, 198989AAn AllenBette Sue CohenMaleska
Wednesday, November 22, 198912D"Green Mountain" boyGayle DeanMaleska
Wednesday, October 11, 198932AAllen of Vt.Christopher PageMaleska
Tuesday, September 26, 19896DA Vermont AllenArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Friday, December 23, 198825AFirst name of a Wharton manEli WesoffMaleska
Thursday, December 1, 198841AAllen or FromeJames L. BeattyMaleska
Sunday, October 30, 198833DFrome or AllenCharles M. DeberMaleska
Monday, September 12, 198832DWharton's FromeNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Thursday, June 16, 198845DFrome of fictionMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Thursday, November 12, 19875DPatriot AllenR. S. JonesMaleska
Thursday, October 29, 198757AFrome of fictionNancy JolineMaleska
Thursday, September 3, 198739AFrome of fictionWilliam S. McIlrathMaleska
Wednesday, August 26, 198718D"___ Brand": HawthorneR. S. JonesMaleska
Sunday, August 16, 198772DPatriot AllenJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tuesday, July 28, 198742DAllen or FromeElaine GeorgeMaleska
Wednesday, April 22, 198730AAn AllenMelvin KenworthyMaleska
Monday, February 16, 198755DPatriot AllenVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Sunday, December 21, 19867DFirst name of a Wharton heroJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Wednesday, June 11, 198622DAllen or FromeWhittenMaleska
Sunday, April 6, 198687AAllen or FromeJudith C. DaltonMaleska
Friday, February 14, 198652DAllen or FromeJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tuesday, October 8, 198551DColonial AllenShirley SolowayMaleska
Tuesday, May 14, 19859DAllen of VermontTangrediMaleska
Wednesday, January 30, 198564AAllen or FromeChristy RidleyMaleska
Sunday, December 30, 198491AAllen or FromeBeverly TivinMaleska
Wednesday, June 6, 198411DPatriot AllenH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Sunday, March 11, 198488AZeena's mate in a Wharton bookJune A. BoggsMaleska
Monday, January 2, 198417AFirst name of a Wharton heroShirley SolowayMaleska
Thursday, May 26, 198341AAn AllenBernice GordonMaleska
Tuesday, May 10, 198348DAllen or FromeErnst TheimerMaleska
Monday, January 3, 198329DPatriot AllenFrank GearyMaleska
Friday, October 8, 198251DPatriot AllenLois SidwayMaleska
Saturday, August 14, 198250DAllen or FromeRobert KatzMaleska
Friday, July 16, 198222DFromePeter SwiftMaleska
Wednesday, July 7, 198243AFrome of fictionC. J. AngioMaleska
Wednesday, June 2, 198248DOne of the AllensAlbert E. LytleMaleska
Monday, February 1, 198237AOne of the AllensSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Friday, October 9, 198132AWith 40 Across, a patriotNancy McCarthyMaleska
Wednesday, April 8, 198153DFrome of fictionA. J. SantoraMaleska
Wednesday, November 19, 198016AZeena's husband in a Wharton novelCarol DuttingMaleska
Saturday, September 13, 198050DZeena's spouse in a Wharton bookBette Sue CohenMaleska
Monday, June 2, 198025DEdith Wharton heroHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Wednesday, April 16, 19804DWharton's FromeJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, April 14, 198046DAllen of the Green Mountain BoysIrene SmullyanMaleska
Sunday, June 18, 197879DAllen or FromeTap OsbornMaleska
Friday, November 11, 197726DA memorable AllenBetty DuffyMaleska
Saturday, August 13, 197719AFrome or AllenAlfio MicciMaleska
Thursday, June 30, 19772DAllen of TiconderogaAlfio MicciMaleska
Sunday, June 26, 197752DAllen or FromeSam LakeMaleska
Friday, June 11, 197614DPatriot AllenGeorge MadridWeng
Tuesday, February 17, 197648AFromeBert H. KruseWeng
Sunday, October 26, 197551AFrome of fictionEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Tuesday, February 11, 197544DOne of the AllensMartha J. DeWittWeng
Monday, January 20, 197559AAllenBen FinnWeng
Saturday, December 28, 19746AAllenThomas SheehanWeng
Friday, October 18, 197451DFrome of fictionRaymond F. EisnerWeng
Thursday, August 8, 197430AAllenHarriet Gilson RosenbergWeng
Tuesday, January 15, 19746DAllenEdward JuliusWeng
Sunday, October 7, 197319DAllen or FrameFrances HansenWeng
Sunday, August 19, 197316DAllenElaine D. SchorrWeng
Saturday, March 10, 197339ARevolutionary AllenUnknownWeng
Thursday, January 25, 197362AAllenUnknownWeng
Sunday, November 5, 197220AFrome or AllenHume R. CraftWeng
Friday, March 17, 19722DOne of the AllensUnknownWeng
Sunday, February 6, 197280DAllen or FromeJack LuzzattoWeng
Friday, January 29, 197155AFromeUnknownWeng
Sunday, October 5, 196920AAllenEmanuel BergWeng
Sunday, February 9, 196999AAn AllenJack LuzzattoWeng
Monday, September 30, 196847DOne of the Allens.UnknownFarrar
Friday, February 9, 196814AFrome.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 3, 196760DFrome.Diana SessionsFarrar
Thursday, August 31, 19676DOne of the Allens.Samuel K. FliegnerFarrar
Wednesday, August 16, 196729DAn Allen.Anthony MorseFarrar
Monday, May 15, 196715AOne of the Allens.Helen FasuloFarrar
Thursday, March 16, 196733AOne of the Allens.Helen FasuloFarrar
Thursday, June 16, 19666DAllen of the 18th century.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 14, 196557DOne of the Allens.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Sunday, January 24, 196554DFrome.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Saturday, March 21, 196435DWharton character.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 25, 196247DFrome.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Sunday, August 26, 19626DWharton hero.Diana SessionsFarrar
Thursday, July 5, 196226DOne of the Allens.Robert O'MalleyFarrar
Thursday, June 21, 196255AEdith Wharton hero.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 3, 196167D___ Allen.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Thursday, July 6, 19612DCol. Allen of the Green Mountain Boys.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 10, 196124DWharton character.UnknownFarrar
Friday, April 14, 196163AEdith Wharton's "___ Frome."UnknownFarrar
Saturday, March 4, 19619AOne of the Allens.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 26, 19608DSee 63 Across.UnknownFarrar
Friday, October 7, 196055AOne of the Allens.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 21, 196054DWharton's Frome.UnknownFarrar
Monday, June 1, 19596DOne of the Allens.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sunday, July 20, 195858AAnother Allen.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Thursday, August 1, 195729DRevolutionist Allen.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, July 10, 195756DAllen of the Green Mountain Boys.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 9, 195749DOne of the Allens.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, April 7, 195784DName on Psalm 89.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Wednesday, February 27, 195746DEdith Wharton hero.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Monday, July 30, 195631A"Green Mountain" Allen.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Thursday, July 19, 195663AEdith Wharton character.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tuesday, June 5, 195657ASoldier Allen.Walt ClarkFarrar
Friday, July 1, 195526AOne of the Allens.Victor GoldfarbFarrar
Thursday, April 21, 195519AEdith Wharton's Mr. Frome.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Wednesday, October 27, 195410AVermont's Allen.W. E. JonesFarrar
Friday, May 7, 195440AAllen or Frome.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Saturday, April 24, 195427DMan's name meaning strength.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, August 8, 195333DEdith Wharton character.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Wednesday, November 26, 195254DAllen of the Green Mountains.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 4, 195227DFrome or Allen.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 13, 195161AMan's name meaning strength.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 20, 195123DEdith Wharton's "Frome."UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 24, 195175AEdith Wharton's hero.Nancy W. AtkinsonFarrar
Friday, March 16, 19519AVermont's famous Allen.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 12, 19506D___ Frome.Leonard GoldbergFarrar
Sunday, October 30, 194918AName meaning strength.Edward BucklerFarrar
Sunday, August 21, 194911DMan's name, meaning strength.Leonard GoldbergFarrar
Sunday, January 9, 194953DName meaning strength.Charles CrossFarrar
Sunday, September 26, 194863AName meaning strength.Willard N. JordanFarrar
Sunday, April 4, 194888DEdith Wharton’s “___ Frome.”Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, November 16, 194714DLeader of "Green Mountain Boys."Zelma MastersFarrar
Sunday, August 31, 194764DName meaning strength.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sunday, February 2, 1947133D___ Allen.Charles CrossFarrar
Sunday, January 20, 194694DMan's name, meaning strength.Louis BaronFarrar
Sunday, April 19, 194212DGreen Mountain boy.Louis BaronFarrar

The XWord Info Word List is now available. Angels can download it for use with their own software.