It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

133 results for EBERT

66 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for EBERT.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wed Jun 20, 201854ACritic with raised or lowered thumbsJeffrey Wechsler
Sun Apr 8, 201878D"Life Itself" memoirist RogerPatrick Berry
Thu Nov 23, 201715AOnetime reviewer of 5-AcrossesHoward Barkin
Fri Nov 10, 201749ASubject of the 2014 documentary "Life Itself"Patrick Berry
Sun Oct 22, 201771DCritic Roger (6)Tracy Gray
Mon May 1, 201728DFellow film critic of SiskelEd Sessa
Wed Jun 15, 201653DHe once asked "How far down can a thumb go?"Jason Flinn
Thu Nov 19, 201560ACritic who wrote "Behind the Phantom's Mask"Andrew Zhou
Thu Oct 29, 20158DFriedrich ___, first president of the German Republic (2)Sam Trabucco
Wed Jun 24, 201561A"I Hated, Hated, Hated This Movie" author (4)Ian Livengood and J.A.S.A. Crossword Class
Tue Apr 28, 201523D"Your Movie Sucks" author (2)José Chardiet
Fri Feb 7, 20143D"Your Movie Sucks" author (2)Ned White
Mon Jan 6, 201449DLate critic RogerZhouqin Burnikel
Tue Sep 24, 201346DLate thumb-turning criticKevin Christian
Sun Aug 4, 201358AHe said "Every great film should seem new every time you see it"Steven Ginzburg
Sun Apr 21, 201346D"Awake in the Dark" writerJonah Kagan
Fri Apr 12, 201319ALate critic featured on the Hollywood Walk of FamePatrick Berry
Sun Nov 20, 201144D"Awake in the Dark" authorTrip Payne
Sun Aug 14, 201125A"Your Movie Sucks" writerPaula Gamache
Sun Feb 20, 2011104D"The Great Movies" authorElizabeth C. Gorski
Wed May 19, 201025A1975 Pulitzer-winning critic (3)Robert A. Doll
Sun Aug 23, 200920AWho said "No good movie is too long, and no bad movie is short enough"Phil Ruzbarsky
Mon Jun 22, 200953DRoger with a thumbs-up or thumbs-downFred Piscop
Sat Feb 28, 20091AHindenburg's predecessor as German president (2)Frank Longo
Wed Jan 14, 200949DCritic Roger (6)Oliver Hill
Tue Sep 2, 20088DChicago-based film reviewerStanley Newman
Mon Jun 23, 200819DFilm critic Roger (4)Andrea Carla Michaels and Patrick Blindauer
Mon May 26, 200860A22-Across's longtime partnerMark Sherwood
Sun Sep 16, 200723AAnnual "Movie Yearbook" author since the 1990sMike Nothnagel
Mon Jan 15, 200740AFilm critic Roger (4)David Pringle
Tue Dec 12, 200667ACritic Roger (6)Stephen Manion and Victor Fleming
Tue Sep 5, 200627DCritic Roger (6)Timothy Powell
Thu Aug 10, 200615AHost of the Overlooked Film FestivalTodd McClary
Wed Aug 9, 200660AThumbs-up reviewerMaxwell H. D. Johnson Jr.
Sat Dec 3, 200530D1975 Pulitzer-winning critic (3)Dana Motley
Thu Nov 24, 200535AFriedrich ___, first president of the German Republic (2)Michael Shteyman
Sun Aug 14, 20052DCritic with a Hollywood Walk of Fame starPatrick Merrell
Thu Jun 23, 200554DRoeper's TV partnerCourtenay Crocker III
Sun Oct 31, 2004102DChicago-based criticPatrick Merrell
Sat Jun 19, 200441AOwner of a famous thumbBrendan Emmett Quigley
Wed Dec 24, 200337AThumbs-up/thumbs-down guySteve Jones
Sun Apr 6, 200327DWriter who's always seeing things?Joe DiPietro
Sat Mar 8, 200334AFamous Chicago criticPatrick Berry
Sat Aug 31, 200247D"Little Movie Glossary" authorTrip Payne
Sat Apr 20, 20029AHindenburg's predecessor as German president (2)Dana Motley
Wed Jan 30, 20028DCritic Roger (6)Randall J. Hartman
Fri Oct 26, 20014D"I Hated, Hated, Hated This Movie" author (4)Peter Gordon
Mon Oct 22, 200154DMovie critic RogerDenise Neuendorf
Wed Feb 21, 200143DThumb-raising criticKaren Hodge
Sun Nov 26, 200052DReviewer RogerPatrick Berry
Thu Oct 19, 200044D"I Hated, Hated, Hated This Movie" author (4)Patrick Jordan
Mon Oct 16, 200052DFilm critic Roger (4)Mitch Komro
Thu May 11, 200022D"I Hated, Hated, Hated This Movie" author (4)Peter Abide
Sat Jun 12, 199927A1975 Pulitzer winner for criticismMatt Gaffney
Sat Apr 17, 199948DHindenburg's predecessorJim Page
Tue Dec 15, 19982DThumbs up/thumbs down criticPatrick Jordan
Mon Jan 5, 199842ASiskel's partnerMark Moldowsky
Sat Jul 19, 199726AFirst president of the German republic, 1919 (2)Robert H. Wolfe
Thu Jun 19, 199749DFirst president of the German republic, 1919 (2)Patrick Jordan
Fri Mar 28, 199725ACritic Roger (6)Jim Page
Sun Feb 23, 199728A"Video Companion" authorNancy Nicholson Joline
Fri Feb 21, 199755DMan who's all thumbs?C. E. Gersch
Sat Jan 18, 199721D1975 Pulitzer-winning critic (3)D. Niles
Mon Dec 11, 199549DFilm reviewer RogerElizabeth C. Gorski
Fri Dec 16, 199422ARoger of the balconyA.J. Santora
Sun Sep 25, 199498DFilm critic Roger (4)Nancy Nicholson Joline

1 result for EBERT from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Mar 12, 2006diagramless39DTV partner of 49-AcrossByron Walden

66 results for EBERT from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Fri Sep 17, 199320DSiskel's cohortManny NosowskyTaub
Wed Aug 18, 199323ASiskel's partnerManny NosowskyMaleska
Sun Mar 7, 1993134DSiskel's partnerBetty JorgensenMaleska
Fri Jan 15, 199357AFirst German presidentEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Fri Jan 8, 199322ASiskel's TV partnerEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sun Dec 13, 199220AThumb-raising film criticMichael PriestleyMaleska
Sun Sep 22, 1991129DGerman President: 1919-25Lawrence M. RheingoldMaleska
Sat Sep 21, 199127DSiskel's partnerLouis SabinMaleska
Wed May 16, 199016ASiskel's TV partnerDon GroatMaleska
Fri Dec 15, 198953DFirst German presidentJim PageMaleska
Wed Jul 12, 19892DMovie reviewer RogerJeffrey A. MercerMaleska
Sat Apr 29, 198928ANoted film reviewerJune A. BoggsMaleska
Sat Feb 18, 19899DWeimar Republic's first presidentBernard MerenMaleska
Sun Oct 16, 1988104DGerman Republic's first presidentJim PageMaleska
Tue Sep 27, 198833DChicago-based film criticWhittenMaleska
Wed Sep 7, 198833DWeimar Republic's first presidentBernard MerenMaleska
Fri Jul 11, 198668AFirst German presidentLawrence M. RheingoldMaleska
Fri Jun 6, 198630DFirst president of GermanyGloria EvansMaleska
Tue Sep 10, 198519AMovie critic RogerMimi MoodyMaleska
Wed Jul 3, 198527DGerman statesmanMary C. WhittenMaleska
Sat Apr 6, 198571AWeimar Republic's first presidentBert RosenfieldMaleska
Wed Mar 20, 198571AMovie critic Siskel's TV partnerLois SidwayMaleska
Wed Apr 25, 198421DGermany's first presidentAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Mon Mar 16, 19815AFirst president of GermanyEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sat Aug 30, 198016DPresident succeeded by HindenburgWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Fri Mar 21, 198066AFirst president of GermanyVincent L. OsborneMaleska
Sun Apr 10, 19778DGerman President: 1919–1925Frances HansenMaleska
Sun Jun 13, 197698DGer. presidentFrances HansenWeng
Wed May 7, 197531DGerman presidentSamalinWeng
Sun Apr 20, 19753DGerman presidentMary M. MurdochWeng
Sun Jun 23, 197417AGerman presidentFrances HansenWeng
Sat Feb 3, 19734DGerman statesmanUnknownWeng
Wed Sep 10, 196931DGerman President.UnknownWeng
Sat Nov 9, 196846DFormer German president.UnknownFarrar
Sat Jul 6, 196818DFirst German President.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jan 26, 196835AGerman President, 1919–25.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 16, 19675AFirst president of Germany.Manny MillerFarrar
Sun May 7, 196788AGerman statesman.Bert BeamanFarrar
Sat Oct 29, 196667AEarly German President.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Sun Dec 20, 196467AGermany's first president.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Aug 11, 196318DHindenburg succeeded him.Will WengFarrar
Sat Feb 2, 196312DPresident of Germany, 1919–25.Lois HillisFarrar
Wed Dec 26, 196232DGermany's first president, 1919–25.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sun Jan 21, 1962120AFormer German President.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sun Jan 14, 196272DGerman president, 1919.Roberta MorseFarrar
Sat Mar 28, 195925DFirst President of German Republic, 1919–25.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sat Oct 18, 195834DGerman President, 1919–25.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun May 4, 195812DPresident of Germany, 1919–25.W. E. JonesFarrar
Mon Apr 16, 195663AFirst German PresidentUnknownFarrar
Wed Nov 24, 195430APresident of Weimar Republic, 1919–25.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Tue Oct 12, 195451DFirst President of Germany.Alice CookFarrar
Sat Aug 21, 195460AFirst German President.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Tue Jul 27, 195445AFirst President of the German Republic.Sidney LambertFarrar
Tue Oct 21, 195226AFirst President of German Republic, 1919–25.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 15, 195240APresident of German Reich, 1919–25.UnknownFarrar
Tue Jan 1, 195226DFirst President of Germany.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jun 4, 195114AGerman President: 1919–25.UnknownFarrar
Tue Feb 6, 195167AFirst president of the German republic, 1919–25.S. A. KayFarrar
Sat Dec 16, 195024AFirst President of Germany, 1919–25.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 26, 195037DFirst German president.Leonard GoldbergFarrar
Sun Aug 13, 1950102AGerman President, 1919–25.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun Jul 13, 194731DFirst German President.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun Aug 19, 194540DPresident of Germany, 1919–25.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sun Mar 4, 194592AFirst President of Germany, 1919.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Oct 3, 194353APresident of Germany, 1919–25.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sun Feb 22, 1942122A1st President of German Republic.Louis JenkinsFarrar