It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word, or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

Support XWord Info today

Access this site for a full year:

  1. Select your level
  2. Choose how to pay

Click here for info about support levels.

$50 — Angel

Full access + download

$20 — Regular User

Full access, limited Finder

$10 — Casual User

Students & seniors

86 results for EBEN

11 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for EBEN.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wed Mar 27, 20138DIrving Bacheller's "___ Holden" (3)David J. Kahn
Fri May 4, 201247D"___ Holden" (Irving Bacheller novel) (2)Barry C. Silk
Sun Feb 20, 201164DIrving Bacheller novel "___ Holden"Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sat Jun 12, 20108DIrving Bacheller's "___ Holden" (3)Joe DiPietro
Thu Apr 21, 20055D"___ Holden," Irving Bacheller novel (2)Patrick Merrell
Sun Jan 16, 200513DIrving Bacheller's "___ Holden" (3)Damon J. Gulczynski
Sun Aug 18, 2002106DPossible nickname for ScroogeMichael Ashley
Sat Jun 15, 200223AMan's nickname that is German for "level"Trip Payne
Sun Oct 26, 199718DBacheller's "___ Holden" (2)Cathy Millhauser
Sat Nov 11, 199527D“Desire Under the Elms” sonNancy Nicholson Joline
Sun Mar 6, 199491ABacheller's "_____ Holden" (2)Frances Hansen

1 result for EBEN from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Oct 17, 2010diagramless62A"30 Days of Night" sheriff ___ OlesonPaula Gamache

74 results for EBEN from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Thu Mar 11, 199338D___ Cabot, O'Neill heroAlfio MicciMaleska
Fri Dec 20, 199115ABacheller's "___ Holden"William BaxleyMaleska
Tue Feb 13, 199010A"___ Holden": BachellerArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Sun Jan 28, 1990104ASon in "Desire Under the Elms"Louis BaronMaleska
Sun Feb 22, 1987111ABacheller's "___ Holden"Dorothy SmitonickMaleska
Mon Jul 29, 198528DBacheller's "___ Holden"Sidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Tue Jan 25, 198338ABacheller heroSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Sun Oct 3, 198241ABacheller's "___ Holden"Charles BaronMaleska
Sun Jun 21, 198126DHired-man HoldenBert H. KruseMaleska
Mon Jun 9, 198053AMr. HoldenHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Wed Apr 16, 198026DScrooge, for shortJoy L. WoukMaleska
Fri Feb 2, 197963AScrooge, for shortJordan S. LasherMaleska
Wed Mar 8, 197846D"___ Holden," Bacheller novelJohnsonMaleska
Sat Feb 4, 19782DO'Neill characterMichael PriestleyMaleska
Sun Jul 10, 197765DHolden of fictionJordan S. LasherMaleska
Sun Nov 7, 197659DScrooge, for shortNancy W. AtkinsonWeng
Thu Mar 23, 196719AScrooge, for short.Jean ReedFarrar
Thu Jan 12, 196728DMan's name, for short.William LutwiniakFarrar
Sun Oct 30, 196670ABacheller hero.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Mon Sep 19, 196611DBacheller's "hired man."UnknownFarrar
Wed Aug 31, 196641DOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Thu Aug 11, 196616AMan's name, for short.UnknownFarrar
Fri Mar 25, 196631ABacheller hero.UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 9, 196532DMan's name.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 29, 196511DScrooge, for short.UnknownFarrar
Sat Sep 4, 196567A"___ Holden."UnknownFarrar
Thu Mar 25, 196556DOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Sat May 30, 196454AOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jan 17, 196441ABacheller hero.Eileen LexauFarrar
Wed Dec 11, 196315AScrooge, for one.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Wed Jun 12, 196334AScrooge, for short.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jun 3, 196311DBacheller hero.UnknownFarrar
Sat Apr 20, 196358AOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 25, 196220ABacheller hero.UnknownFarrar
Tue Apr 24, 196273AScrooge, for short.Helen FasuloFarrar
Fri Mar 23, 196258DScrooge, for short.Joseph S. CrowellFarrar
Tue Jan 16, 196261AHired man Holden.Madeline CorseFarrar
Sun Nov 26, 196127DScrooge's nickname.Stephanie CaruanaFarrar
Wed Dec 21, 196018DOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Thu Dec 15, 196038AMr. Scrooge, for short.UnknownFarrar
Mon Jan 4, 19602DBacheler's"hired man."UnknownFarrar
Tue Nov 18, 195835DOne of the Holdens.UnknownFarrar
Fri Sep 26, 195844ABacheller hero.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun May 4, 1958110DMan's name.W. E. JonesFarrar
Mon Apr 14, 195815A"Hired man" of Bacheller novel.Madeline CorseFarrar
Mon Nov 11, 195746AShort of Scrooge.UnknownFarrar
Sun Sep 29, 195788D"___ Holden."Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Sep 15, 195783DOne of the Holdens.Harold T. BersFarrar
Tue Jan 29, 195750DBacheller hero.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sun Oct 21, 1956107AOne of the Holdens.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Oct 14, 195657D"___ Holden."Jules ArensbergFarrar
Tue Sep 4, 195621DOne of the Holdens.Helen FasuloFarrar
Thu May 17, 195662D___ Holden.S. A. KayFarrar
Mon Apr 2, 195651D"___ Holden."UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 12, 1955113A___ Holden.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Apr 3, 195529A"___ Holden."Ruth H. OliverFarrar
Thu Feb 24, 195543AIrving Bacheller hero.UnknownFarrar
Sat Oct 2, 195419ANickname for Scrooge.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Wed Jun 23, 195468AMan's name.M. S. ManningFarrar
Mon Dec 21, 195314AMan's name.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Aug 30, 195389AShort name for Scrooge.Roberta H. MorseFarrar
Wed Mar 18, 195348AMr. Scrooge, for short.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jan 16, 195321DIrving Bacheller hero.UnknownFarrar
Wed Jan 7, 195312DMr. Holden.C. M. FairFarrar
Fri Oct 10, 195257DMan's name.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 29, 1952101DMan's name.Waldo RansonFarrar
Sun Mar 23, 1952116AMan's name.W. E. JonesFarrar
Sun Feb 10, 1952128AMr. Holden.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Wed Feb 7, 195165AIrving Bacheller's hero, 1900.Isaac KertFarrar
Sat Oct 7, 195058D"___ Holden," by Irvine Bacheller.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 16, 195062AMr. Holden.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Jan 23, 194978DMan's name.D. G. CaywoodFarrar
Sun Oct 3, 194373AMan's name.P. J. LamannaFarrar
Sun May 9, 1943135DMasculine name.P. Joseph LamannaFarrar