It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

108 results for DARES

24 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for DARES.

DateGridClueAuthor
Thu May 11, 201751DScrews up the courageTimothy Polin
Sat Nov 5, 201653AHas the gallDavid Phillips
Sun Oct 11, 201560DDoes a high-wire act, e.g.David J. Kahn
Sun Sep 6, 201544DHas the temerityPatrick Berry
Sat Jun 13, 201518ALead-ins to games of chickenBrad Wilber and Doug Peterson
Sat Jun 14, 201427AReasons for some joyridesAlex Vratsanos
Tue May 24, 201126DMotivations for some bungee jumpsMichael Blake and Andrea Carla Michaels
Wed Mar 3, 201043AChallenges (2)Peter A. Collins
Sat Feb 6, 201036DIsn't too yellowFrederick J. Healy
Wed Dec 9, 200954DChallenges (2)Peter A. Collins
Thu Mar 27, 200863ASkates on thin ice, e.g.Joe Krozel
Thu Feb 7, 200853DHurls defiance atKenneth J. Berniker
Sat Dec 22, 200748AImpetuses for some outrageous actsHarvey Estes
Tue May 10, 200571ATakes a chanceNancy Salomon
Fri Oct 3, 200326AIsn't timidManny Nosowsky
Wed Oct 31, 200169AUtterances of "Trick or treat"?Mary Pat Hidding
Sun Nov 19, 200082DLooks straight in the eye, sayCathy Millhauser
Tue Aug 8, 200069ABells the catJoy L. Wouk
Mon May 29, 200019DTempts fateRandall J. Hartman
Sun Feb 20, 200093AMeets defiantlyTrip Payne
Fri Jan 21, 200026DSteps over the lineJohn Wolting
Sun Jan 16, 2000129AStarts of some pranks (2)Fred Piscop
Thu Dec 5, 199640AStarts of some pranks (2)B. Jorgensen
Thu Apr 6, 199531DBravesLois Sidway

84 results for DARES from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wed Jan 27, 199324DVenturesChristy RidleyMaleska
Sat Oct 17, 199264A___ Salaam, TanzaniaJohn GreenmanMaleska
Wed Sep 16, 199232DChallengesJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Mon Dec 2, 199131DTakes a riskAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sun Dec 16, 19908DSalaam preliminariesSandy GrafMaleska
Tue Feb 13, 199068AVenturesArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Mon Jul 31, 198923DVenturesPeter G. SnowMaleska
Mon Nov 28, 198856DDefiesAsnasMaleska
Fri Apr 22, 198855DChallengesJim PageMaleska
Mon Apr 18, 198832DTakes a riskElaine GeorgeMaleska
Sun Dec 20, 198740A___ Salaam, capital of TanzaniaJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Mon Dec 14, 198729DDefiesAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Mon Sep 29, 198630AChallengesAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Tue Mar 12, 198567AChallengesJames R. BurnsMaleska
Sun Dec 16, 198474DChallengesBarbara Lunder GillisMaleska
Fri Nov 11, 198326DChallengesErnst TheimerMaleska
Sun Jun 12, 1983137ABells the catWarren W. ReichMaleska
Wed Dec 29, 198232AChallengesFraasMaleska
Mon Nov 15, 198226DIs fearlessPeter G. SnowMaleska
Mon Oct 25, 198265AChallengesBob BermanMaleska
Mon Aug 23, 198260AVenturesSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Fri Jan 29, 198262AVenturesErnst TheimerMaleska
Thu May 14, 198132DChallengesEli WesoffMaleska
Sun Dec 16, 1979133D___ SalaamMichael PriestleyMaleska
Sat Nov 3, 197967ABells the catHenry HookMaleska
Tue Jul 31, 197963ADefiesI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Mon Jun 4, 197916DIs venturesomeHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Tue May 15, 197918AVenturesJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Wed Feb 1, 197838AFaces boldlyKathryn RighterMaleska
Sun Jan 22, 197834DBells the catWalter WebbMaleska
Thu Jan 19, 19788DChallengesA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sun May 1, 1977111ABells the catElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Sat Mar 5, 197734DVirginia's familyHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sun Apr 11, 197651DFacesRobert RoopWeng
Wed Jul 10, 197424DConfronts boldlyWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Sun Jan 14, 1973102AConfrontsWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Fri Jul 21, 197232DVenturesUnknownWeng
Mon Jun 12, 197233A___ SalaamUnknownWeng
Sat Jan 15, 197220AHas the nerveUnknownWeng
Sun Sep 21, 196940DDefiesA. J. SantoraWeng
Wed Apr 9, 196960APresumes.UnknownWeng
Fri Mar 7, 196958APresumes.UnknownWeng
Fri Jan 19, 196823AFaces.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 28, 196762AVentures.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Tue Sep 6, 196647DHas courage.UnknownFarrar
Wed Aug 10, 19668DChallenges.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 16, 196619DVentures.W. E. JonesFarrar
Mon Nov 15, 196537AColonial family of 1587.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jun 27, 196597DChallenges.Anne FoxFarrar
Wed Jan 13, 196540AThrows down the gauntlet.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 4, 196487AConfronts boldly.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sun Aug 16, 196457DFaces.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sun May 17, 196414DVentures.W. E. JonesFarrar
Thu Sep 26, 196333DBraves.UnknownFarrar
Sat Aug 26, 196126DChallenges.UnknownFarrar
Sun Jan 1, 196132AFirst family of Virginia.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sun Mar 6, 196071AVentures.Spiro K. KostofFarrar
Sat Dec 19, 195925ABids defiance.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 16, 195941AChallenges.UnknownFarrar
Fri Sep 4, 195946DOpposes and defies.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 31, 1959101DDefies.Harold T. BersFarrar
Thu Jan 8, 195946DChallenges.Madeline CorseFarrar
Thu Sep 19, 195731DChallenges.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Sun Oct 28, 195637DFaces.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tue May 1, 195646AIs bold enough.S. A. KayFarrar
Fri Apr 6, 195641AEarly settlers in Virginia.Mary M. ClarkFarrar
Thu Sep 8, 195526DChallenges.W. E. JonesFarrar
Wed Jul 13, 195524ATakes a chance.Edward EarlyFarrar
Tue Mar 22, 195513DActs bold.UnknownFarrar
Sun Oct 17, 19541AChallenges.Harold T. BersFarrar
Mon Oct 11, 195454DActs of defiance.Martha BrownleeFarrar
Sat Dec 26, 195322ADefies.UnknownFarrar
Fri Aug 7, 195364AIs fearless.UnknownFarrar
Sat Feb 14, 195324DChallenges.UnknownFarrar
Sun Aug 17, 1952140AVirginia's family.Israel GitterFarrar
Wed Nov 14, 195122DVentures.UnknownFarrar
Thu Nov 1, 195143DRisks.UnknownFarrar
Mon Oct 2, 195047DVentures.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sun Aug 13, 195049DParents of first English child born in America.Elizabeth PattersonFarrar
Sun Aug 25, 1946119DDefies.L. K. PetersFarrar
Sun Jun 16, 1946121AFaces.Lester KeeneFarrar
Sun Sep 2, 1945106DVentures.L. K. PetersFarrar
Sun Dec 31, 194414DBoxer companion of Aeneas.Agnes CookFarrar
Sun Sep 13, 194220D"Who ___ think one thing and another tell."—Pope.Agnes W. BartlettFarrar