This web browser is not supported. Use Chrome, Edge, Safari, or Firefox for best results.

Find clues for any answer, or answers that match a pattern

Search options:

Sort finds:
Answer length:
Include:
Examples using the [Search] button:
Find all clues for a single word ELOPE
Use ? for single letter in pattern P??CH
Use * for any number of letters (including zero) CR*Y
Use $c for any consonant, or $v for any vowel $c$c???$v$v
Square brackets for any enclosed letter [QJXZ]????
Hyphen for range of letters [X-Z]?????
Use ^ to negate specified letters [^A-W]*[^RSTLE]

Click here for detailed information, including OneLook and Regex options.

Enter a word, pattern, or phrase:

Support XWord Info today

Pay now and get access for a year.

1. Select account level
2. Choose how to pay

43 total results for ANCHOR   ( score: 50 )

20 results for ANCHOR from Shortz Era puzzles:
DateGridClueAuthor
Fri Mar 25, 202244DSomething that's thrown out while using itEvans Clinchy
Wed Mar 3, 202114ASymbol tattooed on Popeye's forearmAnn Shan
Sun May 5, 201932ARelay closerSamuel A. Donaldson and Doug Peterson
Thu Aug 10, 201747AIt might prevent you from drifting offJohn E. Bennett and Jeff Chen
Tue Feb 7, 20175DTV news delivererFinn Vigeland
Sun Oct 23, 201613DDebate moderator's day job, typicallyEllen Leuschner and Jeff Chen
Sun Jun 1, 20141DHold downTom McCoy
Tue Oct 22, 201345AAnderson Cooper, e.g.Kevan Choset
Sat Feb 9, 201322DPosition in a relayPeter Wentz
Tue Mar 6, 20129DDiane Sawyer, for oneWesley Johnson
Mon Apr 27, 20092DKatie Couric, for oneJoe Krozel
Thu Apr 23, 200952DMainstaySteve Dobis
Wed Oct 12, 200552DHold fastPaul Guttormsson
Thu Aug 5, 200447DObject intentionally dropped on the floorSeth Abel
Sun Apr 18, 20048ARelay team memberRichard Chisholm
Thu Mar 27, 200348DNicholson role in "Broadcast News"David J. Kahn
Sun Apr 9, 2000116ASecureJoe DiPietro
Sun Apr 5, 199848DNews headDavid J. Kahn
Wed Oct 15, 199745DRather, e.g.Randall J. Hartman
Sun Jun 2, 199619AStabilizeR. Norris
2 results for ANCHOR from Variety puzzles:
DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jan 12, 2014AcrosticFClassic sailor's tattooEmily Cox & Henry Rathvon
Aug 26, 2012AcrosticWCloser in a relay raceEmily Cox & Henry Rathvon
21 results for ANCHOR from pre-Shortz puzzles:
DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sun Oct 13, 1991102APopeye's tattooErnst TheimerMaleska
Sun Sep 23, 199097ARelay finisherLouis SabinMaleska
Tue Jul 28, 198749DSecureElaine GeorgeMaleska
Wed Mar 2, 198325ASource of stabilityJohn GreenmanMaleska
Wed Jun 2, 198210DItem tattooed on Popeye's armAlbert E. LytleMaleska
Sun Nov 22, 198158DQE2 accessoryMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Sat Nov 17, 197945AWhat departing sailors weighMarjorie PedersenMaleska
Sun Dec 9, 197383DItem to drop or weighKeith BlakeWeng
Sun Jan 21, 197311DSecureBert BeamanWeng
Sat May 29, 197149DItem to be weighedUnknownWeng
Sat Jan 4, 196955AMoor.UnknownFarrar
Sat Dec 9, 196747DKind of man.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jun 3, 19662DMarine emblem.UnknownFarrar
Thu Oct 28, 19655DFasten securely.UnknownFarrar
Sat Mar 28, 196448DPart of the Marine insignia.UnknownFarrar
Wed Mar 25, 196447DFasten firmly.UnknownFarrar
Thu Jul 19, 196248DMarine's insignia.UnknownFarrar
Fri Sep 21, 19564DMarine insignia.Roberta MorseFarrar
Sun Aug 9, 19531APart of the Marine emblem.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Mon Mar 16, 195329APart of the Marine Corps insignia.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sun Oct 27, 194687AFix.L. K. PetersFarrar
Anagrams:RANCHO, ARCHON, CHARON