It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

127 results for AEC

43 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for AEC.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sun Jul 23, 201791AAgcy. that oversaw plantsCaleb Madison
Sun Nov 16, 2014106AOrg. replaced by the N.R.C.Andrew J. Ries
Wed Jul 16, 201430DEarly nuclear org. (3)Daniel Raymon
Sat Jan 18, 201432AOppenheimer's agcy.David Steinberg
Sun Nov 24, 201388AN.R.C. forerunner (4)Gary Cee
Sat May 18, 201352APost-W.W. II fed. agcy.Martin Ashwood-Smith
Mon Jan 14, 201340ANuclear agency established by H.S.T.Steve Salmon
Thu Dec 6, 201256DFederal agcy. of 1946-75Jill Denny and Jeff Chen
Wed Aug 15, 201242DEarly nuclear org. (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Tue Feb 21, 201257AOld nuclear regulatory org. (3)Caleb Madison
Mon Nov 14, 201153AOld nuclear regulatory org. (3)Mark Feldman
Sun Feb 27, 2011112AOld nuclear watchdog: Abbr.Peter A. Collins
Sat Sep 11, 201049APost-Manhattan Project org. (3)Brad Wilber
Fri Apr 16, 201016APost-Manhattan Project agcy.Eric Berlin
Sun Nov 8, 200965AOriginal nuclear regulatory grp.Robert W. Harris
Wed Oct 8, 20086DFormer govt. agcy. formed after W.W. IIPeter A. Collins
Fri Jul 4, 200854AN.R.C. predecessor (4)John Underwood
Wed Jan 16, 200825AN.R.C. forerunner (4)Barry C. Silk
Sat Dec 16, 200611DPost-Manhattan Project org. (3)David Quarfoot
Sun Sep 17, 200653AN.R.C. forerunner (4)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sun Feb 26, 200638AAgcy. once involved with fallout sheltersRandolph Ross
Sun Jan 29, 200661AAgcy. spawned by the Manhattan ProjectRich Norris
Thu Dec 1, 20055DPost-Manhattan Project org. (3)Randolph Ross
Sun Aug 14, 200545ABygone nuclear agcy.Patrick Merrell
Fri May 27, 200527ANuclear agcy. until 1975Manny Nosowsky
Sun Mar 14, 200475DOld nuclear regulatory org. (3)Craig Kasper
Mon Sep 29, 200321DN.R.C. predecessor (4)Richard Chisholm
Sun Sep 29, 200249AAgcy. created after the Manhattan ProjectRandolph Ross
Sun Aug 18, 200237AAgcy. replaced by the N.R.C.Michael Ashley
Sun Sep 16, 200146DFormer regulatory org.Bill Zais
Thu Mar 29, 200123AFormer nuclear power org.William I. Johnston
Sun May 23, 199987DTruman's nuclear agcy. (2)Harvey Estes and Nancy Salomon
Fri Nov 13, 199854AFederal agcy., 1946-75 (2)Jim Page
Tue Jun 9, 199835ATruman's nuclear agcy. (2)Arthur S. Verdesca
Sun May 31, 199847DN.R.C. predecessor (4)Cathy Millhauser
Thu Jun 26, 199714AGrp. overseeing early reactorsMartin Ashwood-Smith
Sun Jun 15, 199711DFederal agcy., 1946-75 (2)Karen Hodge
Sun Apr 14, 199628DN.R.C. forerunner (4)Henry Hook
Sat Feb 17, 199627DN.R.C. predecessor (4)Bob Sefick
Sun Dec 17, 199528AEarly nuclear org. (3)Dean Niles
Sat Jan 14, 199533DFormer nuclear power agcy.Rich Norris
Sun Jun 19, 199437AOrg. once headed by Lewis StraussNancy Scandrett Ross
Thu Feb 24, 199434AFormer nuclear agcy.Stanley Newman

1 result for AEC from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
Jul 7, 2002diagramless21AN.R.C. predecessorFred Piscop

83 results for AEC from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Fri Feb 28, 199240DOrg. once headed by L. StraussNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Sat Jul 6, 19918DN.R.C. precederJim PageMaleska
Sun Mar 18, 199094DAgcy. succeeded by the N.R.C.Charles M. DeberMaleska
Sat Dec 3, 198828DFormer nuclear agcy.Vaughn KeithMaleska
Mon Apr 20, 19878DN.R.C. predecessorJoy L. WoukMaleska
Fri Mar 27, 198733DN.R.C.'s predecessorRhonda KrausMaleska
Thu Jun 19, 198658DN.R.C. predecessorCharles E. GerschMaleska
Thu Mar 27, 198635DFormer nuclear org.Nancy JolineMaleska
Wed Oct 2, 198532AFormer energy org.Joel D. LafargueMaleska
Sun Feb 24, 198565DFormer nuclear agcy.Dale O. BurgenerMaleska
Sun Jan 13, 198582AFormer nuclear watchdog: Abbr.Jim PageMaleska
Mon Nov 14, 19838DOrg. succeeded by the N.R.C.Nancy McCarthyMaleska
Sat Jun 11, 198346AFormer nuclear org.Jack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Mon Dec 27, 198241AAgcy. succeeded by N.R.C.Warren W. ReichMaleska
Tue Aug 3, 198250AAgcy. succeeded by N.R.C.Peter SwiftMaleska
Mon May 3, 198264DN.R.C. formerlyTeresa ForestallMaleska
Fri Feb 12, 198247AForerunner of N.R.C.WhittenMaleska
Sat Jan 16, 198214DNow it's N.R.C.Daniel GirardiMaleska
Sun Dec 27, 198193DN.R.C. predecessorAnne FoxMaleska
Sun Aug 23, 198110DOrg. succeeded by the N.R.C.Arnold MossMaleska
Wed Jul 29, 198110DAgcy. superseded by the N.R.C.Jeanette K. BrillMaleska
Sun Jun 14, 1981111AFormer power agcy.Judith C. DaltonMaleska
Sun Jan 25, 198153AN.R.C. predecessorMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Fri Jan 2, 198128DPredecessor of the N.R.C.Hal R. HollingerMaleska
Tue Dec 23, 19804DAgency supplanted by the N.R.C.I. Judah KoolykMaleska
Sun Nov 16, 198099AAgcy. succeeded by N.R.C.Alfio MicciMaleska
Sun Jun 8, 1980113DN.R.C. predecessorWalter WebbMaleska
Wed May 7, 198042DFormer nuclear energy org.C. J. AngioMaleska
Mon Jan 21, 198040ANuclear energy agcy.BrumbauchMaleska
Wed Dec 19, 197921ANuclear control org.Jean J. DavisonMaleska
Mon Sep 24, 197938DNuclear agcy.Jean J. DavisonMaleska
Sat Jun 17, 197812DFed. nuclear bodyTap OsbornMaleska
Thu Jul 28, 197758DNuclear-energy org.Ann JenkinsMaleska
Thu Mar 10, 197719AGovt. agencyHenry HookMaleska
Sun Dec 5, 197683ANuclear org.Maura B. JacobsonWeng
Mon Aug 30, 197623DNuclear agcy.Jay SpryWeng
Sat Jun 26, 197633DPower org.Hal R. HollingerWeng
Thu Dec 25, 19757DPower org.Beverly J. SewardWeng
Sun Nov 23, 197548AU.S. power org.Tom SheehanWeng
Sun Jul 20, 197531APower org.Emanuel BergWeng
Sun Jan 12, 197537ANuclear org.John WilligWeng
Sun Dec 1, 1974113DPower group: Abbr.George MadridWeng
Sun Nov 17, 1974118APower org.Arnold MossWeng
Mon Oct 8, 197322ANuclear agency: Abbr.UnknownWeng
Sun Jan 17, 197176AFed. agencyH. L. RisteenWeng
Sun Aug 9, 19706DU.S. power agencyPhilip K.-YouritzinWeng
Sat Aug 8, 197054AU. S. agencyUnknownWeng
Fri Apr 17, 197039DGovt. agencyUnknownWeng
Thu Mar 5, 197044AU.S. agency: Abbr.UnknownWeng
Wed Aug 6, 19696DGov't agency.UnknownWeng
Fri Feb 9, 196820AGovt. agency.UnknownFarrar
Sun Nov 19, 196774AGovt. agency.William LutwiniakFarrar
Tue Apr 11, 196738AGovt. agency.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 2, 196769AGovt. agency.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Fri Aug 12, 196628AGovt. agency.UnknownFarrar
Fri May 13, 196640DWashington agency.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 13, 19668DGovt. group.Anne FoxFarrar
Mon Dec 20, 196527DWashington initials.UnknownFarrar
Sat Nov 27, 196530AWashington bureau.UnknownFarrar
Sun Feb 2, 196440DGovt. group.Hume CraftFarrar
Sat Jun 1, 19637DFederal commission: Abbr.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Fri May 3, 196335AImportant Washington group.UnknownFarrar
Mon Dec 17, 196238ACommission in WashingtonEileen LexauFarrar
Wed Apr 18, 19629DAgency established in 1946.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Sun Feb 4, 196211DSeaborg's chair: Abbr.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Sun Feb 5, 196164DGov't agency: Abbr.Dortha F. MarksFarrar
Fri Sep 2, 196033AImportant Washington group.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 8, 196096AMcCone's interest.H. R. CraftFarrar
Sat Dec 6, 195863DNuclear energy group.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Sat Sep 28, 195731DGuardian of the atom.UnknownFarrar
Fri Jul 26, 195742AImportant Government group.UnknownFarrar
Mon Oct 29, 195639AImportant U. S. board: Abbr.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sun Sep 9, 1956120DImportant Commission.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Fri Mar 16, 19564DAdm. Strauss' Commission.UnknownFarrar
Mon Mar 5, 195633AAdm. Strauss' group.Charles GerschFarrar
Fri Dec 16, 195530AIts chairman is Lewis Strauss.UnknownFarrar
Sun Apr 10, 195544DAdmiral Strauss' agency.Sam LakeFarrar
Mon Apr 5, 195434ALewis Strauss' group.Ralph HendersonFarrar
Sun Nov 29, 195349AAgency headed by Lewis L. Strauss.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Wed Sep 3, 195231DCommission on atomic energy.UnknownFarrar
Sun May 20, 195153AGordon Dean's group.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Wed May 9, 19515DGroup supervising 4 Down.UnknownFarrar
Fri Oct 13, 195034AGordon Dean heads it.UnknownFarrar