It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker. Please consider supporting our site by purchasing an account.

Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Donate to get access to XWord Info for a year.

Benefits vary by donation level.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
Enter a word or pattern:

38 results for ADOPTS

13 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).
See the dictionary definition for ADOPTS.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sun May 14, 201762DRescues a foundling, sayWill Nediger
Mon Jan 13, 201449DAccepts formally, as a resolutionLynn Lempel
Mon Dec 3, 201225ARescues from the pound, sayAndrea Carla Michaels
Thu May 27, 201064ATakes in (4)Josh Knapp
Mon Sep 25, 200645ABecomes a parent not by childbirthLynn Lempel
Mon Mar 6, 200641AGoes abroad for a baby, perhapsJack McInturff
Sat Oct 29, 200527ATakes in (4)Joe DiPietro
Mon Aug 16, 20045DTakes as one's ownJoy C. Frank
Sun Dec 23, 200110DTakes in (4)Frances Hansen
Sat Oct 28, 200052ATakes in (4)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wed Jun 21, 20005DTakes onGreg Staples
Thu Jul 16, 199822DEmbracesKelly Clark
Wed Aug 6, 19979DDecides to useRich Norris

25 results for ADOPTS from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Mon Apr 22, 199118DTakes as one's ownFred TooleMaleska
Sat Aug 26, 19891AMakes one's ownNancy JolineMaleska
Fri May 2, 198646DEmbracesDale O. BurgenerMaleska
Fri Aug 28, 19815DTakes as one's ownC. J. AngioMaleska
Tue Oct 13, 197052DEmbracesUnknownWeng
Mon Jun 22, 197052AAccepts formallyUnknownWeng
Sun Nov 30, 196942DTakes as one's ownJack LuzzattoWeng
Sun Feb 11, 196850DTakes up.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Fri Jul 21, 196747DVotes to accept.George LaczkoFarrar
Mon May 8, 196746AVotes to accept.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Sun Apr 16, 196717DTakes over.Will WengFarrar
Sun Jan 8, 1967117DEmbraces.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Mon Apr 14, 195824AVotes to accept.Madeline CorseFarrar
Sat Jun 15, 19577ASelects and takes.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Sat Oct 13, 195644ATakes as one's own.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Mon Oct 8, 19567AEspouses.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Mon Dec 12, 195527DVotes to accept.UnknownFarrar
Thu Jul 7, 195510DEmbraces as one's own.Bernice GordonFarrar
Wed Aug 18, 195460ATakes as one's own.Helen FasuloFarrar
Wed Oct 14, 195349DSelects and takes.Roberta MorseFarrar
Tue May 12, 195355ATakes under one's wing.UnknownFarrar
Tue Mar 4, 195216ASelects and takes.UnknownFarrar
Thu Nov 8, 195119AAccepts, as a report.UnknownFarrar
Sun Mar 23, 194715ATakes by choice.W. W. WebsterFarrar
Sun Jul 22, 194553DAccepts.Alberta N. BurtonFarrar