Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

184 Results

57 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, March 13, 201554AA little off? (2)Victor Fleming
Tuesday, August 5, 201458DCut back a bitLynn Lempel
Friday, July 25, 201452DQuick cut (2)Peter A. Collins
Monday, August 19, 201341AAdjust, as sailsJean O'Conor
Wednesday, July 31, 201328ARequest to a barberH. David Goering
Monday, June 10, 201363AJob for a barberZhouqin Burnikel
Tuesday, December 25, 201252DDecorate, as a Christmas treeEllen Leuschner and Victor Fleming
Sunday, October 7, 201241DBarber's job (3)Zoe Wheeler
Friday, December 30, 201150DEdgingMike Nothnagel
Wednesday, September 28, 201157DAt one's fighting weight, saySteve Salitan
Saturday, June 25, 201119ADecorationBarry C. Silk
Tuesday, October 5, 201048ANot a major haircutPaula Gamache
Sunday, August 16, 200936AIn shape (4)Randolph Ross
Monday, June 8, 200951DFit (2)Randy Sowell
Sunday, March 1, 2009107ACropRobert W. Harris
Tuesday, October 28, 20088DFar from pudgyAllan E. Parrish
Monday, September 29, 200864A"Just a little off" at the barber'sSharon Delorme
Thursday, February 28, 200852DAdd to or remove fromMatt Ginsberg
Friday, September 21, 200719AIn shape (4)Paula Gamache
Wednesday, August 29, 200757AIn good shapeJayne and Alex Boisvert
Monday, April 16, 200734AQuick job in a barbershopRandall J. Hartman
Friday, December 1, 200623ATassels, e.g.Mike Nothnagel
Monday, April 24, 200612DSvelte (2)Lynn Lempel
Tuesday, April 11, 20063DQuick haircut (2)Lee Glickstein and Nancy Salomon
Tuesday, March 28, 200619ARequest of a barberJim Hyres
Sunday, October 30, 200552DBarbershop request (3)Maxwell H. D. Johnson Jr.
Friday, October 21, 200524AFree of excess matterLouis Hildebrand
Friday, March 25, 200536ABit off the topHarvey Estes
Monday, September 13, 200452AQuick job for a barberJay Giess
Sunday, March 7, 200494ABarber's job (3)Tyler Hinman
Saturday, November 29, 200355AEdgeRandolph Ross
Thursday, September 5, 200228AFar from fatMichael Shteyman
Wednesday, April 17, 200223DWell-keptRichard Silvestri
Sunday, January 6, 200281ACurtailFrank A. Longo
Friday, May 4, 200140AIn shape (4)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, October 1, 2000128ADeckNancy Nicholson Joline
Wednesday, April 12, 20003DFit (2)Peter Gordon
Thursday, January 20, 200018ASvelte (2)Jeremy Thomas Paine
Monday, January 17, 200019DBarber's job (3)Trip Payne
Monday, December 13, 199911DIn good physical conditionDave and Diane Epperson
Saturday, November 20, 199952DQuick cut (2)A. J. Santora
Monday, September 20, 199918ABarbershop request (3)Gregory E. Paul
Saturday, July 17, 199920AWell-groomedRand H. Burns
Tuesday, March 16, 19991DRemove the fat fromFred Piscop
Monday, March 30, 199855DQuick haircut (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, October 2, 199733AUse clippersChristopher Hurt
Saturday, May 24, 19975DA little off (2)Rich Norris
Saturday, March 29, 199717ATonsorial workFran and Lou Sabin
Friday, November 1, 199620AClean-cutM. Rosen
Thursday, October 17, 199626DNeatJ. R. Conrad
Wednesday, June 5, 199636DTidyG. R. Ferguson
Wednesday, April 24, 19963DIn good conditionG. Dean
Tuesday, January 17, 199544DBarbershop request (3)Gregory E. Paul
Wednesday, December 7, 19942DTonsorial procedureChet Currier
Wednesday, January 19, 199430ABarbering jobStanley Newman
Tuesday, December 21, 199361DIn shape (4)Janie Lyons
Tuesday, November 30, 199350DAdjust the sailsJoel Davajan

2 results for TRIM from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
October 12, 2003diagramless73DIn good shapeFred Piscop
August 5, 2001diagramless39AQuick haircutFrank Longo

125 results for TRIM from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tuesday, October 19, 199347DDefeat soundlyJoel DavajanTaub
Thursday, June 10, 199361AIn good shapeWilliam CanineMaleska
Sunday, September 6, 199274DSvelteAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Tuesday, September 1, 199218DFat-freeShirley SolowayMaleska
Wednesday, July 29, 199262ANeatBernice GordonMaleska
Wednesday, May 6, 199218DDecorateMichael A. RampinoMaleska
Sunday, October 13, 199167AThrashErnst TheimerMaleska
Monday, September 30, 199167ANeatAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Friday, July 19, 199126APurfleMartin Ashwood-SmithMaleska
Monday, May 27, 19917DOrderlyPeter SwiftMaleska
Monday, May 13, 199110ADressArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Monday, February 4, 199157DTailoredFred TooleMaleska
Sunday, October 28, 199043AShipshapePeter SwiftMaleska
Thursday, October 25, 199057DNeatLois SidwayMaleska
Wednesday, August 22, 199018ADecorateLois SidwayMaleska
Wednesday, May 16, 199012DWindow moldingDon GroatMaleska
Monday, April 30, 199033DAdornSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wednesday, January 3, 199010ANeatPeter SwiftMaleska
Monday, October 23, 198917ALop offFred TooleMaleska
Friday, January 6, 198924ACut fatJean J. DavisonMaleska
Wednesday, December 14, 198823ACropWilliam S. McIlrathMaleska
Sunday, November 27, 198814ATailoredNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Thursday, October 13, 198834DRemove excessBetty JorgensenMaleska
Tuesday, May 31, 198856DCropNorma SteinbergMaleska
Tuesday, June 2, 198754AShipshapeEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Monday, March 30, 198717ATinsel, e.g.Mary S. SnyderMaleska
Saturday, January 24, 198750DPurfleJesse RoarkeMaleska
Thursday, October 16, 198649DIn good shapeEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Wednesday, August 20, 19868DSvelteDale O. BurgenerMaleska
Tuesday, April 22, 198633DSpruceEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Sunday, January 5, 198658AShape a mustacheJulian OchrymowychMaleska
Tuesday, December 24, 198510DFestoonWilliam S. McIlrathMaleska
Sunday, February 17, 1985110DSvelteJohn GreenmanMaleska
Sunday, September 9, 198464ATonsorial requestRichard SilvestriMaleska
Tuesday, June 5, 198446ANeatH. M. KennedyMaleska
Thursday, March 8, 198427DFleeceWhittenMaleska
Wednesday, January 18, 198437AOrnamentJohn GreenmanMaleska
Tuesday, November 8, 19831DShipshapeWarren W. ReichMaleska
Tuesday, June 14, 198351DFitSawikinMaleska
Wednesday, April 6, 19836ANeatTorreyMaleska
Sunday, February 27, 198350AShipshapeCarol DuttingMaleska
Thursday, December 24, 198111DDecorate a treeWilliam E. HeinemannMaleska
Tuesday, December 1, 198137AShipshapeHugh McElroyMaleska
Sunday, August 16, 198178DSvelteA. J. SantoraMaleska
Wednesday, July 22, 198113AArrange sailsLouis SabinMaleska
Sunday, July 5, 1981118ASmartJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Tuesday, December 16, 19809AIn fighting shapeTap OsbornMaleska
Tuesday, October 28, 198014ANeatJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Wednesday, February 6, 198049DWork on hedgesRobert KatzMaleska
Tuesday, May 15, 197953DBeat badlyJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Wednesday, May 17, 197831ABarber's specialtyNancy SchusterMaleska
Thursday, April 20, 197863AEmbellishKathryn RighterMaleska
Friday, September 30, 197723DShipshapeKathryn RighterMaleska
Saturday, September 17, 197759ASvelteSamuel K. FliegnerMaleska
Sunday, August 21, 19775DAdjust the sailsJack LuzzattoMaleska
Sunday, June 26, 197726AShipshapeSam LakeMaleska
Saturday, February 26, 197751DHair-salon serviceNancy Scandrett RossWeng
Friday, February 11, 197741DWork on a Christmas treeHarvey BergWeng
Sunday, February 6, 197745DShipshapeEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Monday, January 17, 197718ACutDeWitt AndersonWeng
Thursday, September 23, 197626AAdjust, as sailsPaul R. BarnesWeng
Tuesday, June 15, 197648DEmbellishEvelyn BenshoofWeng
Sunday, June 13, 197684DShipshapeFrances HansenWeng
Friday, December 26, 197535DNeatJohn PrytzWeng
Sunday, November 9, 197534DDefeatHerb RisteenWeng
Wednesday, July 30, 19755APrepare the Xmas treeHenry HookWeng
Wednesday, May 7, 197511DAdjust, as sailsSamalinWeng
Sunday, December 8, 19747DSoignéEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Sunday, October 20, 197433AArrange cargoBert RosenfieldWeng
Friday, October 4, 197452DDecorateMarie WestWeng
Thursday, July 11, 197419ANeatSara V. TuckermanWeng
Tuesday, June 11, 197438AUse the clippersJay SpryWeng
Wednesday, March 20, 197439AHaircutAllan BlackmanWeng
Tuesday, February 26, 197414ASpruceJay SpryWeng
Friday, November 23, 197338DPrepare the Yule treeUnknownWeng
Monday, October 1, 19736APainter's concernUnknownWeng
Wednesday, February 23, 197249DSpruceUnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 6, 19715ASmartUnknownWeng
Sunday, August 15, 19714DSvelteA. J. SantoraWeng
Monday, February 22, 197124DEdgeUnknownWeng
Monday, February 8, 197124ADecorateUnknownWeng
Sunday, December 27, 197080AShipshapeThomas SheehanWeng
Wednesday, October 21, 197044DClipUnknownWeng
Sunday, May 31, 197059DAdjust sailsJean ReedWeng
Saturday, April 25, 19704DBarbershop jobUnknownWeng
Saturday, March 28, 197010AHair jobUnknownWeng
Saturday, March 14, 197052DRemove fatUnknownWeng
Friday, December 19, 196910AAdjust, as sails.UnknownWeng
Thursday, October 9, 196935AIn good condition.UnknownWeng
Sunday, June 8, 1969113APruneAnthony MorseWeng
Sunday, February 23, 1969113DSpruceFrances HansenWeng
Monday, February 17, 196950DDecorate.UnknownWeng
Wednesday, February 5, 196962ADecorate.UnknownWeng
Sunday, January 19, 196963DShipshapeEugene T. MaleskaWeng
Sunday, August 4, 196870AShipshapeThreba JohnsonFarrar
Saturday, June 8, 196851AAdorn.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, January 17, 196830AHaircut.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 20, 196737AOrderly.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tuesday, February 21, 196755DOrderly.Louise EarnestFarrar
Thursday, January 5, 196711DAdorn.George LaczkoFarrar
Monday, August 8, 196653DShipshape.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, June 2, 196621AIn good order.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 24, 196611DBarber's specialty.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 2, 196626AShipshape.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Saturday, May 29, 196510AUncluttered.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, April 28, 196560ADress.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 14, 196416AAdjust sails.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 30, 196468ATonsorial item.UnknownFarrar
Monday, June 15, 196451DOrderly.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, March 11, 196469AGood condition.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 2, 196446DWindow dressing.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 3, 196314DSet a sail.Will WengFarrar
Saturday, December 22, 196249DDecorate.Kathryn RighterFarrar
Monday, December 17, 196214AWindow dressingEileen LexauFarrar
Tuesday, October 30, 196219AClip.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 26, 196226DWindow dressing.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, May 30, 196265AExterior woodwork.Brice MetcalfeFarrar
Sunday, May 6, 1962101DDefeat: Colloq.Sidney LambertFarrar
Thursday, April 26, 196210ADecorate.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Sunday, March 12, 196144DShipshape.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Monday, August 24, 195955DClip.Mary LandFarrar
Tuesday, July 28, 195926DAdorn.H. L. RisteenFarrar
Wednesday, July 15, 19591AShipshape.Jan DubinFarrar
Tuesday, June 30, 19596AWindow dressing.Melville P. LiveranceFarrar
Saturday, January 3, 195919ADecorate.UnknownFarrar