Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

249 Results

84 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, January 6, 201528D"Roll the ___"Joel Fagliano
Tuesday, October 28, 201437AScotch ___ (3)Andrea Carla Michaels
Monday, March 3, 201427DReel-to-reel ___ (2)Andrea Carla Michaels and Michael Blake
Monday, December 2, 201355DAdhesiveAdam G. Perl
Monday, October 14, 20131AScotch ___ (3)Zhouqin Burnikel and D. Scott Nichols
Monday, September 2, 201315ARecord for later viewingJim Peredo
Sunday, October 28, 201272DFinish line, oftenMichael Sharp and Caleb Madison
Tuesday, August 16, 201136DMending aidDavid Steinberg
Saturday, August 6, 201133ABit of evidence in courtJoe Krozel
Tuesday, June 7, 201129DIt's on a rollDavid Liben-Nowell
Sunday, March 13, 201142DAnswering machine insertPatrick Berry
Friday, March 12, 201059DSomething to get caught onTim Croce
Sunday, May 31, 20091AEnd of a footraceKelsey Blakley
Friday, September 19, 200845AKind of delayAlex Boisvert
Wednesday, April 16, 20087DBit of Watergate evidenceEdward Sessa
Sunday, March 16, 200867DSticky stuff (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, March 9, 200829AGift-wrapper's needPatrick Berry
Friday, February 22, 200851DWhat some people get caught onMike Nothnagel and David Quarfoot
Tuesday, January 29, 200827DSurveillance evidence (2)C. W. Stewart and J. K. Hummel
Thursday, August 16, 200738DMarathon terminusAlan Arbesfeld
Tuesday, August 14, 20075ABit of surveillance evidenceC. W. Stewart
Monday, February 26, 20072DReel-to-reel ___ (2)Peter A. Collins
Wednesday, October 4, 200636DWiretapping evidenceAdam Cohen
Friday, August 18, 200636ACaptured, after "on"Joe DiPietro
Sunday, July 23, 2006111DPut on record, but not actually on a recordFred Piscop
Monday, June 12, 200654DSurveillance evidence (2)Curtis Yee
Saturday, April 15, 200623DBindBob Peoples
Tuesday, March 7, 200642ANot live broadcastingRichard Jacobs
Tuesday, February 7, 200652DGift-wrapping needElizabeth C. Gorski
Thursday, February 2, 200658DAlternative to a compact discByron Walden
Saturday, December 10, 200528DWelcome sight for a marathonerHenry Hook
Monday, March 28, 20053DPut on reel-to-reelElizabeth Babikan
Tuesday, January 11, 200555DCopy, as a filmSarah Keller
Thursday, December 16, 200424DCash register partMike Torch
Friday, September 3, 200455AMendEdgar R. Fontaine
Friday, August 20, 200424ARunner's goal (2)Harvey Estes
Thursday, May 20, 200456DEmergency medical kit itemGreg Staples
Monday, March 22, 200469AScotch ___ (3)Kyle Mahowald
Thursday, February 5, 200450DMending stuffAlan Arbesfeld
Friday, December 12, 200322ARace's end (2)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, August 24, 200399DRace finishPatrick Berry
Tuesday, June 17, 200329DItem for a D.J.Susan Harrington Smith
Sunday, June 8, 200345ASticky stuff (3)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, March 31, 200365AVCR insert (2)Patrick Merrell
Thursday, March 27, 20035DIt may be magneticDavid J. Kahn
Tuesday, December 31, 200219AFinish line, perhapsGene Newman
Friday, October 18, 200223AHard-to-refute evidenceManny Nosowsky
Monday, April 29, 200226DCash register outputHolden Baker
Tuesday, November 27, 200143ARace's finish lineEd Early
Sunday, November 25, 200138AWatergate evidenceBob Klahn and Harvey Estes
Monday, September 3, 200168ARecord on videoPeter Gordon
Sunday, August 26, 200165APiece of evidence in a trialRichard Silvestri
Monday, July 30, 200162DVCR insert (2)Nancy Kavanaugh
Saturday, March 31, 200155AA runner may break itRich Norris
Sunday, March 25, 2001113DIt comes in a rollTrip Payne
Saturday, November 25, 200021ASupply in a nurse's kitPatrick D. Berry
Monday, June 5, 20003D3M productWilliam A. Ballard
Sunday, May 28, 2000121ABlockbuster buyRichard Silvestri
Saturday, April 1, 200042AMeasurerManny Nosowsky
Tuesday, December 28, 199953DEnd of a dashRandall J. Hartman
Thursday, May 6, 199951ARecord (4)Matt Gaffney
Thursday, October 22, 199816ACapture on videoChuck Deodene
Sunday, December 7, 199755DSticky stuff (3)Randolph Ross
Thursday, December 4, 199746AMake a videoEileen Lexau
Wednesday, November 12, 199766AWinners break itRandall J. Hartman
Saturday, September 14, 199645DMeasuring aidChristopher Page
Tuesday, September 10, 199617AVideo (3)G. E. Paul
Sunday, August 18, 199698DVideo (3)F. and L. Sabin
Monday, March 18, 199653DStock ticker outputS. L. Robbins
Monday, January 22, 19964AScotch or masking, e.g.E. Gorski
Thursday, December 21, 199540DThe red kind is especially stickyRich Norris
Sunday, May 21, 1995121APreserve, in a wayDean Niles
Sunday, April 2, 199570DRecord (4)Norman S. Wizer
Saturday, January 14, 199523AShipping needRich Norris
Monday, January 9, 199515AVideo (3)Sidney L. Robbins
Tuesday, November 8, 199411DRecord (4)Richard Hughes
Wednesday, November 2, 199457DMasking, e.g.Harvey Estes
Sunday, October 30, 199424DEnd of the raceR.M. Hopkins
Wednesday, September 7, 199437DRace's end (2)Cathy Millhauser
Sunday, August 7, 199498DRunner's goal (2)Dean Niles
Thursday, June 30, 199423ASticky stripHarvey Estes
Tuesday, May 17, 199444DRecord (4)Harvey Estes
Tuesday, December 21, 19933DMend, in a wayJanie Lyons
Monday, November 22, 199331DFootrace terminusFred Piscop

1 result for TAPE from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
December 2, 2007diagramless8DCD alternativeMike Nothnagel

164 results for TAPE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tuesday, May 18, 19937ARecord, in a wayWilliam CanineMaleska
Sunday, April 18, 199311DRecordNorman S. WizerMaleska
Friday, August 21, 199232DCassetteCalista LuminatiMaleska
Friday, August 7, 199239DNixon's undoerBob SefickMaleska
Monday, June 22, 19921ARecordWilliam BaxleyMaleska
Monday, April 6, 19923DRecording ribbonArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Thursday, March 19, 19921DRecordMark BlakeburnMaleska
Wednesday, January 1, 199259DRecordJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, October 20, 199140ACassetteCalista LuminatiMaleska
Sunday, July 28, 1991143AUse the VCRRichard SilvestriMaleska
Sunday, June 16, 1991115ARecord, as a weddingMichael J. ParrisMaleska
Sunday, June 17, 199094DVCR insertionJack L. SteinhardtMaleska
Saturday, June 9, 199018DObstacle in redBert RosenfieldMaleska
Tuesday, March 13, 199028DRecordSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Monday, February 12, 199036D___ measureEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Friday, February 9, 199015ASprinter's targetBert RosenfieldMaleska
Friday, January 12, 199021ARecordErnst TheimerMaleska
Wednesday, November 29, 198913DSprinter's goalLouis SabinMaleska
Tuesday, November 21, 198957DBindAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Thursday, August 17, 198959ARecordWalter CovellMaleska
Sunday, March 12, 198937DUse the VCRAlfio MicciMaleska
Monday, November 14, 198828ARecording ribbonAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Saturday, July 30, 198867ARecordKenneth WitteMaleska
Monday, July 25, 19886ASandlot baseball's coveringSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Saturday, May 28, 198853AFerret, e.g.Martha J. DeWittMaleska
Saturday, May 21, 198867ARecord, in a wayJesse RoarkeMaleska
Tuesday, April 5, 19881DReel thingS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Tuesday, February 16, 198823ARecordArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Monday, December 21, 19871ARecordFred TooleMaleska
Wednesday, October 28, 198732ARecordErnie FurtadoMaleska
Friday, September 11, 19876ARecordJudith PerryMaleska
Saturday, June 13, 198727DRecord, in a wayPatterson PeppleMaleska
Friday, October 10, 198671ASprinter's targetNancy JolineMaleska
Wednesday, October 1, 198622DType of recordingKathryn RighterMaleska
Tuesday, June 10, 198658DRecordJudson G. TrentMaleska
Wednesday, April 30, 19861ABandage materialDorothy CannanMaleska
Monday, October 21, 198541ARecord of a sortFrank GearyMaleska
Monday, July 8, 198529DRecording deviceAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Saturday, June 29, 198512DRecordGayle DeanMaleska
Wednesday, December 5, 198422ARecordHal R. HollingerMaleska
Friday, August 24, 198462ARecordWilliam CoburnMaleska
Saturday, May 26, 198410ARecordBevingtonMaleska
Thursday, May 17, 19847DCassette inputFrank GearyMaleska
Monday, March 12, 198415ASprinter's targetJohnsonMaleska
Saturday, March 3, 19841DCassette itemReichertMaleska
Tuesday, February 7, 198458ARecordVirginia P. AbelsonMaleska
Thursday, December 29, 198320ARecord, in a wayEli WesoffMaleska
Wednesday, November 23, 19837DRecord of a sortWhittenMaleska
Friday, September 2, 198361ARecordJohn R. ProsserMaleska
Saturday, August 27, 198356AFinish lineWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Saturday, July 16, 198354DRecord of a sortPeter G. SnowMaleska
Monday, May 16, 198354DRed or ticker followerVirginia P. AbelsonMaleska
Thursday, October 21, 198213DWhat a front runner breaksKathryn RighterMaleska
Monday, July 26, 198223DRecordHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Tuesday, June 15, 198213AFinish lineBette Sue CohenMaleska
Monday, June 14, 198237DRecordKatherine GouldMaleska
Wednesday, May 5, 198231AKind of wormPeter SwiftMaleska
Monday, April 19, 19821DFinish lineNancy McCarthyMaleska
Wednesday, April 7, 198263ABinding materialGerald BrooksMaleska
Monday, February 8, 19829ARecording mediumChristy RidleyMaleska
Tuesday, October 27, 198154DTicker followerChristy RidleyMaleska
Sunday, October 18, 198130ARecordLouis BaronMaleska
Thursday, September 24, 19817DFinish lineWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wednesday, March 4, 198123AWhat a sprinter seeks to breakRobert KatzMaleska
Sunday, September 14, 198070DSprinter's goalC. J. AngioMaleska
Monday, June 16, 198012DRecordJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tuesday, May 20, 19803DFinish lineJudson G. TrentMaleska
Saturday, April 12, 198048DCassetteC. J. AngioMaleska
Thursday, March 6, 198060AKind of measureC. J. AngioMaleska
Monday, February 11, 198047DStrip broken by a sprinterJohnsonMaleska
Monday, January 14, 198013DRecord, in a wayKathryn RighterMaleska
Tuesday, January 8, 198021DScotch ___Peter SwiftMaleska
Thursday, November 1, 197952DRecord for TVGeorge LaczkoMaleska
Saturday, April 21, 197915AKind of deckA. J. SantoraMaleska
Saturday, December 2, 197818DRecordJean J. DavisonMaleska
Monday, June 19, 197853DScotch followerArnotMaleska
Wednesday, June 14, 197843AKind of measureJohnsonMaleska
Wednesday, September 14, 197746DRecordJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Wednesday, August 17, 197736AEight-track itemTap OsbornMaleska
Monday, May 30, 197767ACassetteJohnsonMaleska
Sunday, May 22, 1977134ARecorder inputMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Saturday, May 7, 197760DFoot racer's goalJohn FinchMaleska
Tuesday, April 5, 197748DCassetteJeanne WilsonMaleska
Tuesday, September 21, 197613DTicker ___Marie WestWeng
Monday, June 7, 197631DRecordHerb L. RisteenWeng
Sunday, August 31, 197598AKind of measureBarbara LewisWeng
Thursday, August 28, 197519ARecording materialEdrico SternWeng
Saturday, August 9, 197532DRed or adhesiveBaronWeng
Sunday, July 13, 197529DRecorder inputMel RosenWeng
Monday, December 30, 197416ASprinter's goalLeonard SussmanWeng
Tuesday, December 10, 197456DFinish lineMartha J. DeWittWeng
Wednesday, September 11, 197416ARed or tickerHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Friday, May 24, 197444ARecorder's offspringRuth N. SchultzWeng
Saturday, May 4, 197450ARecordHerb L. RisteenWeng
Wednesday, January 9, 197412DTV standbySara V. TuckermanWeng
Thursday, November 15, 197355DItem often brokenUnknownWeng
Wednesday, August 22, 197321DMeasuring deviceUnknownWeng
Saturday, August 4, 197370ARecorder contentsUnknownWeng
Thursday, January 25, 197325DRunner's goalUnknownWeng
Thursday, November 16, 197229DPut on filmUnknownWeng
Saturday, October 7, 19722DRecordUnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 4, 19726AFinish-line materialUnknownWeng
Friday, August 18, 197251DKind of measureUnknownWeng
Monday, May 8, 197249DMeasuring deviceUnknownWeng
Friday, December 3, 197164AMeasuring deviceUnknownWeng
Thursday, October 14, 197161ARecordUnknownWeng
Monday, September 13, 197174ARacer's goalUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 25, 197129ACassetteNancy W. AtkinsonWeng
Wednesday, February 17, 197148DRecordingUnknownWeng
Thursday, September 24, 197025AReplay mediumUnknownWeng
Wednesday, June 10, 197045ARecordUnknownWeng
Thursday, April 2, 197049AKind of measureUnknownWeng
Wednesday, April 1, 197026DBinderUnknownWeng
Sunday, March 8, 19705DFabric stripEva Pollack TaubWeng
Monday, February 16, 197061ABind protectivelyUnknownWeng
Friday, December 12, 196967ARecord.UnknownWeng
Friday, October 10, 19691DRecord.UnknownWeng
Monday, August 25, 19698DRecord.UnknownWeng
Monday, June 30, 196968ARecord.UnknownWeng
Friday, December 13, 196811DRecording ribbon.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 2, 196824DRecord.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, November 7, 196842DRecord.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 27, 196863ABandage.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 2, 196852DMeasure.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 12, 196825ABinding material.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, December 12, 196758ARecord.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 13, 196733DTicker strip.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 27, 196749DRecording medium.Arthur SchulmanFarrar
Friday, March 31, 196751DBinding.George LaczkoFarrar
Tuesday, February 28, 196732DRecord.Helen FasuloFarrar
Friday, December 30, 196616ATicker output.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 1, 196663ARecording.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 29, 196664ARecord, in a way.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 10, 19651AType of recording.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 19, 19651AMagnetic ___.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 16, 196561DMagnetic ___.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, December 15, 196458DKind of recording.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 1, 196434ARecord.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 3, 1964106ARecording ribbon.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, March 12, 196451DRed ___.UnknownFarrar
Monday, November 4, 196320DTicker ___.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Tuesday, May 7, 19632DNarrow fillet.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 4, 196351DRibbon.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 10, 19621ARed ___.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 30, 196229AFinish line.Michael DubinFarrar
Thursday, June 21, 196232DTicker ribbon.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 29, 196254DKind of recording.Roberta MorseFarrar
Thursday, February 15, 19621AFinishing line.Louise EarnestFarrar
Wednesday, December 20, 196150AFinishing line.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, October 26, 19616ARecording medium.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 10, 196126ARecord.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Saturday, September 2, 196163ABinding strip.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 28, 1961123DNotions counter item.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Saturday, May 27, 196122ARecord.UnknownFarrar
Monday, April 10, 19612DItem in the notions department.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 12, 196014ATV recording vehicle.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, November 30, 196056AFinish line.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 10, 196034DFinish line.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 8, 196047DRecording medium.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 6, 1960108AOfficial routine.Spiro K. KostofFarrar
Monday, February 15, 196021DRed ___.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, September 23, 195927ARed ___.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, July 21, 195955DType of recorder.Louis SabinFarrar
Thursday, March 26, 195924ATicker ribbon.Anne GerlachFarrar