Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

23 Results

5 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, February 18, 201513DBogeymanEd Sessa
Wednesday, June 8, 201113AScare slightlyPeter A. Collins
Wednesday, April 24, 20029ACloak-and-dagger personSheldon Benardo
Wednesday, September 19, 200128DScareSteven Dorfman
Thursday, February 17, 199448ASpiritBrett Blaylock

18 results for SPOOK from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Saturday, September 23, 198914DSpy, slangilyNancy JolineMaleska
Friday, May 5, 198938DApparitionArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Thursday, March 10, 19889DGhostWalter CovellMaleska
Monday, January 19, 19874DFrightenWhittenMaleska
Saturday, March 6, 19821AGhostEdward MarcheseMaleska
Sunday, September 23, 197936DGhostGeorge Rose SmithMaleska
Wednesday, January 17, 197969AGhostFloy StrykerMaleska
Saturday, December 27, 197525DHalloween figureAnthony B. CanningWeng
Sunday, September 7, 197566AOctober figureHume R. CraftWeng
Friday, July 2, 197131AHalloween figureUnknownWeng
Tuesday, September 12, 196751AHobgoblin.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tuesday, October 4, 196611DSpirit: Slang.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, April 23, 196610DGhost-writer: Slang.UnknownFarrar
Friday, April 1, 196633AHobgoblin.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, August 5, 19629DHaunt.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sunday, June 10, 1962108AHaunt: Colloq.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, May 1, 196064DHeadless horseman, for one.A. H. Drummond Jr.Farrar
Monday, June 22, 195939AHalloween apparition.UnknownFarrar