Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

17 Results

6 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, March 26, 201424DFirst sports movie to win Best PictureAlex Vratsanos
Thursday, November 11, 201055DTumultuousAndrew Zhou
Sunday, January 18, 200933DNot smoothRandolph Ross
Monday, February 23, 20047DHaving lots of ups and downsAnne Garellick
Wednesday, October 24, 20011A1976 Best PictureSarah Keller
Saturday, February 20, 199955DUncertainRich Norris

11 results for ROCKY from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, March 27, 199214AOscar film: 1976Tap OsbornMaleska
Saturday, February 17, 197949D"The Italian Stallion"C. J. AngioMaleska
Wednesday, February 22, 19786DUnpavedWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, October 16, 197772DThe Italian StallionLouis BaronMaleska
Wednesday, January 9, 197418DMarcianoSara V. TuckermanWeng
Wednesday, November 15, 197257DHappy's husbandUnknownWeng
Wednesday, March 27, 196810DWell-known nickname.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, October 31, 1965148ANot smooth.Barbara L. GolubFarrar
Monday, February 10, 19641DCandidate.Macon ReedFarrar
Sunday, July 10, 196017DPopular boxing nickname.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, November 1, 1959106AGovernor's nickname.Charles GerschFarrar