Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

109 Results

32 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Thursday, January 8, 20153D11-Across makerJacob Stulberg
Sunday, September 28, 201473DLustrous black (3)Todd Gross
Sunday, July 20, 2014100ATrickster of American Indian mythologyEric Berlin
Monday, May 19, 20146APoe bird that quoth "Nevermore"Michael Hawkins
Tuesday, October 1, 201326AN.F.L. player with a black helmetJoel Fagliano
Tuesday, September 3, 20136DBaltimore footballerDan Schoenholz
Monday, November 12, 201270APoe bird (5)Randall J. Hartman
Saturday, March 24, 201237ABlack scavengerBarry C. Silk
Sunday, May 15, 201174ABaseball : Oriole :: football : ___Cathy Allis
Thursday, October 2, 20081AIn a poem, it "perched upon a bust of Pallas just above my chamber door"Samuel A. Donaldson
Saturday, April 26, 200842ACroaking flierBrad Wilber
Thursday, November 8, 200756ALustrous black (3)Paula Gamache
Monday, June 19, 200616APoe bird (5)Raymond Hamel
Tuesday, June 6, 200616ABaltimore athleteBarry C. Silk
Monday, December 19, 200553DPoe bird (5)Richard Hughes
Sunday, November 13, 200518DSee 109-Across, with "The"Brendan Emmett Quigley
Wednesday, September 28, 200535D"Nevermore" speakerRandall J. Hartman
Saturday, January 24, 20042DMystery writer's awardMark Diehl
Wednesday, October 16, 200234ATalking bird of poetry (2)Alan Arbesfeld
Sunday, June 9, 200215DLustrous black (3)Randolph Ross
Sunday, May 12, 200259DPoe bird (5)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, February 4, 200232DShade of black (2)Gregory E. Paul
Sunday, August 12, 200146ATalking bird of poetry (2)Nancy Nicholson Joline
Monday, June 25, 200132APoe bird (5)Stanley Newman
Tuesday, December 28, 199921DPoe called it "grim, ungainly, ghastly, gaunt and ominous"Randall J. Hartman
Tuesday, February 23, 199933DPoe visitorRobert Zimmerman
Sunday, November 15, 199863DArk's first disembarkerRobert H. Wolfe
Saturday, November 7, 19982DDeep blackRaymond Hamel
Saturday, December 30, 19953DShade of black (2)Joe DiPietro
Thursday, November 17, 199451D"Rapper" of verseRich Norris
Tuesday, May 31, 199432D"Nevermore" quoterRoger H. Courtney
Tuesday, January 11, 199427DBird "perched upon a bust of Pallas"Albert J. Klaus

1 result for RAVEN from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
January 12, 2014acrosticMGlossy blackEmily Cox and Henry Rathvon

76 results for RAVEN from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, March 19, 199340APoe's one-word birdEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Tuesday, January 12, 199362ABlack and lustrousMichael A. RampinoMaleska
Tuesday, November 24, 199241APoe's one-word birdRuth MinaryMaleska
Monday, June 15, 19921ALarge black birdJeff HerringtonMaleska
Monday, September 16, 199138DElijah's providerGayle DeanMaleska
Wednesday, June 26, 199119AGlossy-blackEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Sunday, May 26, 199170DFictional talking birdAlfio MicciMaleska
Sunday, January 6, 199183DProwl after preyDaniel GirardiMaleska
Thursday, September 13, 199039DProwl hungrilyWilson McBeathMaleska
Sunday, June 3, 199060DProwl after preyJames E. Hinish Jr.Maleska
Wednesday, January 10, 199045DBlack birdReginald L. JohnsonMaleska
Sunday, December 18, 198819DProwl after preyEdward MarcheseMaleska
Monday, August 15, 19886D"Nevermore" uttererNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Saturday, August 15, 198723DLike some locksKay SullivanMaleska
Tuesday, June 9, 19876DPoe's birdWhittenMaleska
Tuesday, January 27, 198752DPoe's one-word birdEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Wednesday, September 11, 198547D"Nevermore" squawkerEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Wednesday, May 1, 198526DProwl after preyEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Friday, September 14, 198426AGlossy blackD. JonesMaleska
Wednesday, March 7, 198415APoe's "The ___"Albert J. KlausMaleska
Tuesday, February 28, 198416AProwl hungrilySawikinMaleska
Thursday, April 28, 198326DE.A.P. subjectEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Thursday, March 3, 198324DBlack croakerDorothy SmitonickMaleska
Tuesday, January 26, 198226DCrow's kinC. J. AngioMaleska
Tuesday, September 22, 198153DDespoilPlattMaleska
Friday, August 21, 198118AProwl hungrilyLois SidwayMaleska
Sunday, September 7, 198093DPoe's one-word birdCaroline G. FitzgeraldMaleska
Thursday, March 27, 198028DPoe's one-word birdRobertMaleska
Sunday, November 18, 197992AProwl after preyWilliam J. YskampMaleska
Sunday, October 21, 197930ALustrous blackDavid J. Pohl and John M. SamsonMaleska
Thursday, February 22, 197927DPoe birdMaura B. JacobsonMaleska
Monday, February 5, 197923AGlossy blackHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Monday, January 22, 197952D"Nevermore" birdSamuel K. FliegnerMaleska
Thursday, November 30, 197827DOne-word bird in a poemWilliam JarvisMaleska
Friday, June 23, 19781DBlack birdHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Saturday, March 25, 197842ADisplay edacityWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Saturday, January 1, 197740D"Nevermore" quoterEvelyn BenshoofWeng
Wednesday, March 24, 197617APlunderVirginia ButlerWeng
Monday, January 19, 197640AFamous birdNorton RhoadesWeng
Wednesday, October 1, 197557AFeed greedilyMarie WestWeng
Wednesday, July 30, 19756DLustrous blackHenry HookWeng
Thursday, May 29, 197530DBlackbirdWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Monday, May 26, 197524APoetic birdTap OsbornWeng
Monday, October 21, 197465ACorvine birdGeorge MadridWeng
Wednesday, October 2, 197414ABlackbirdJack L. SteinhardtWeng
Saturday, September 7, 197448ABlackbirdWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Tuesday, August 27, 19745DCrow's cousinVirginia GodwinWeng
Sunday, May 26, 197444APlunderOlga KowalsWeng
Saturday, April 20, 197414A"Nevermore" birdVirginia ButlerWeng
Friday, January 12, 197332DGlossy blackUnknownWeng
Friday, January 21, 197241AGlossy blackUnknownWeng
Friday, December 18, 197049AFamous poem, with "The"Arthur SchulmanWeng
Wednesday, January 28, 197033ABirdUnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 15, 196954ABird.UnknownWeng
Thursday, January 23, 196938ABird.UnknownWeng
Saturday, December 28, 196843A"Midnight dreary" visitor.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 2, 196816AGlossy black.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, May 6, 196727DBlack and lustrous.George LaczkoFarrar
Tuesday, April 4, 196740DLustrous black.William LutwiniakFarrar
Friday, December 2, 196630DBird.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 11, 196673DGlossy-black.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, May 30, 196646ABird.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 6, 196649DGlossy black.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 28, 196627DBarnaby Rudge's pet.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 2, 196667AGlossy-black.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Monday, September 27, 196541DBird.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 25, 196525ABird.Anne FoxFarrar
Monday, July 13, 196436AHair shade.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 6, 196426ABlack and shiny.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 18, 196425DBlack and glossy.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 3, 196462ABarnaby Rudge's pet.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Wednesday, December 4, 196317ABlack and glossy.S. A. KayFarrar
Sunday, November 4, 196236ABlack.Diana SessionsFarrar
Wednesday, June 29, 196039ABlack and lustrous.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, April 12, 196031DBird.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, November 17, 195926DBird.UnknownFarrar