Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

64 Results for PING

25 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Thursday, May 7, 201535DWorrisome engine noiseTracy Gray
Saturday, September 6, 201436AContact briefly electronicallyJames Mulhern
Tuesday, March 4, 201410DWorrisome engine sound (3)Bruce Haight and Peter A. Collins
Monday, January 6, 201446D___-PongZhouqin Burnikel
Tuesday, December 27, 201155DRadar soundJohn Dunn
Monday, June 13, 201123AWith 57-Across, game that includes the starts of 17-, 29-, 48- and 64-AcrossAlex Vratsanos
Wednesday, June 2, 201067AUnwanted engine sound (2)Adam Cohen
Sunday, December 7, 2008120AWorrisome engine sound (3)Jim Page
Tuesday, December 2, 200832A... a table tennis ball (with 45-Across)Matt Ginsberg
Sunday, April 13, 200883DWorrisome engine sound (3)Cathy Millhauser
Thursday, March 6, 200854DPinball soundPamela Amick Klawitter
Wednesday, December 26, 200734DUnwelcome auto noiseJim Page
Monday, May 15, 200612DSonar soundJohn R. Conrad
Sunday, August 14, 200528ASonar pulsePatrick Merrell
Saturday, September 27, 200336ABullet soundCraig Kasper
Sunday, September 7, 200343AEngine sound (3)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, March 10, 200343DUnwanted engine sound (2)Gail Grabowski
Monday, September 11, 200056DEngine knock (3)Gregory E. Paul
Friday, September 1, 200038DStriking soundJoe DiPietro
Wednesday, June 21, 200050DEngine sound (3)Greg Staples
Wednesday, January 19, 20001AWorrisome car soundArthur S. Verdesca
Sunday, October 18, 199864AEngine sound (3)David J. Kahn
Thursday, August 20, 199850DRicocheting bullet soundHarvey Estes
Wednesday, November 5, 199733DEngine knock (3)A. J. Santora
Tuesday, May 27, 199712DEngine knock (3)Stephanie Spadaccini

39 results for PING from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Monday, April 19, 19931ABullet soundAlex F. BlackMaleska
Saturday, July 18, 199219A"Turandot" roleDaniel GirardiMaleska
Thursday, July 5, 19907DEngine soundKenneth WitteMaleska
Wednesday, May 20, 198738ASharp, metallic soundPeter SwiftMaleska
Saturday, April 4, 19871D"Turandot" trio memberBetty JorgensenMaleska
Thursday, January 6, 198367AUnwanted engine soundWhittenMaleska
Tuesday, October 26, 198226D"Turandot" baritone roleJoy L. WoukMaleska
Saturday, October 24, 198117ACharacter in "Turandot"C. J. AngioMaleska
Wednesday, July 9, 198012DOne of a "Turandot" trioMary Virginia OrnaMaleska
Monday, October 15, 19797DEngine noiseN. M. MeyerMaleska
Thursday, July 7, 197749AEngine knockAllan BlackmanMaleska
Thursday, October 3, 197429AHalf a gameFloy StrykerWeng
Sunday, September 29, 197432DBullet soundElaine D. SchorrWeng
Monday, November 22, 19718DEngine knockUnknownWeng
Thursday, April 8, 197163ASharp soundUnknownWeng
Wednesday, June 10, 197033ABullet soundUnknownWeng
Saturday, November 8, 196949DMetallic sound.UnknownWeng
Sunday, March 30, 196951DMetallic soundE. ToroWeng
Friday, June 17, 196654DMotor knock.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 13, 196552ASharp sound.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 26, 196453AMetallic sound.W. E. JonesFarrar
Thursday, September 7, 19619DSharp sound.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 24, 196038ASharp sound.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 21, 195922AMetallic sound.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, January 13, 195934AMetallic sound.A. H. Drummond, Jr.Farrar
Tuesday, November 25, 195869AMetallic sound.S. A. KayFarrar
Sunday, December 8, 195773DMetallic sound.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Friday, October 11, 195723DTable tennis sound effect.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, May 30, 195753ALight ringing sound.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Monday, December 5, 195537DSound of glass breaking.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 30, 19556DEchoic word for a sound.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, May 12, 195453DSlight ringing sound.M. S. ManningFarrar
Thursday, March 18, 195413DLight ringing sound.S. A. KayFarrar
Sunday, October 4, 1953108ASharp sound.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Monday, November 3, 195238ASound in a tennis game.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 20, 195299ASound of a bullet.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Wednesday, August 22, 195161ASound made by a hollow celluloid ball.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 21, 195150DMotor noise.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, November 29, 194245ARinging sound.Willard N. JordanFarrar