Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

50 Results

23 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, November 5, 201328AHeart (3)Paula Gamache
Thursday, June 13, 201327DSmall lumpDavid Steinberg
Sunday, December 18, 201176DCore (2)Patrick Merrell
Sunday, August 22, 201071DCentral point (2)Patrick Berry
Sunday, July 26, 200945ACenter (2)Kevin G. Der
Monday, February 23, 20094DHeart (3)Alan Arbesfeld
Monday, February 5, 200736ACentral point (2)Joy C. Frank
Sunday, April 9, 200634DCenter (2)Paula Gamache
Tuesday, May 17, 200564DGist (6)Sherry O. Blackard
Monday, August 4, 200340DKernel (2)Nancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Wednesday, January 22, 20036AOne-inch pencil, sayMichael Shteyman
Tuesday, December 31, 200221AGist (6)Gene Newman
Monday, November 25, 200260AEssence (2)Randall J. Hartman
Wednesday, June 12, 200234DGist (6)Nancy Salomon and Bill Zais
Thursday, June 28, 200159DGist (6)Alan Arbesfeld
Thursday, May 4, 200061DGist (6)Richard Hughes
Sunday, August 1, 199936DEssence (2)Randolph Ross
Wednesday, January 6, 199950DKernel (2)Sam Bellotto Jr.
Wednesday, November 4, 199832ACore (2)Rich Norris
Thursday, June 12, 199760DHeart (3)Gilbert H. Ludwig
Sunday, September 1, 1996118DGist (6)D. J. Kahn
Wednesday, April 26, 199519ACrux (2)Wayne Robert Williams
Sunday, October 30, 1994103DCrux (2)R.M. Hopkins

1 result for NUB from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
July 29, 2007diagramless64AGistByron Walden

26 results for NUB from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Saturday, May 1, 199359DGistJune A. BoggsMaleska
Monday, January 25, 199322DCore; kernelPageMaleska
Thursday, October 29, 199227DGistIrene SmullyanMaleska
Friday, February 22, 199126ACruxArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Thursday, September 6, 199044AThe real issueNancy W. AtkinsonMaleska
Thursday, July 17, 198625APunch lineLouis SabinMaleska
Thursday, May 12, 198329DGistBert RosenfieldMaleska
Thursday, October 15, 198133AGistChristy RidleyMaleska
Monday, November 3, 198057DKernelHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Monday, July 30, 197955DGist of a storyH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Sunday, December 4, 197717AGistA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thursday, October 27, 197733AThe heart of the matterJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Sunday, November 7, 197633AGistNancy W. AtkinsonWeng
Wednesday, October 6, 197637ASmall pieceHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Monday, December 17, 197335DGistUnknownWeng
Tuesday, June 13, 197234ANitty-grittyUnknownWeng
Tuesday, September 3, 19685APith.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, October 3, 196742AGist.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 28, 19677DKnob.William LutwiniakFarrar
Monday, August 1, 196619DPoint: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Friday, June 4, 196557DGist: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 27, 1964104DGist: Colloq.Frances HansenFarrar
Saturday, October 8, 19604DKnob or knot.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 15, 195954DGist of a story: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 31, 195926DGist.Harold T. BersFarrar
Sunday, April 26, 195975APoint; gist.Sam LakeFarrar