Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

20 Results for MODESTY

3 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, September 26, 200341DUnwillingness to crowEric Berlin
Sunday, May 18, 200325AWhat blowhards lackNancy Nicholson Joline
Sunday, August 20, 200085DVictorian virtueCharles M. Deber

17 results for MODESTY from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Friday, October 25, 199135ADecorumPatterson PeppleMaleska
Friday, November 22, 19857DDecorumGayle DeanMaleska
Sunday, January 27, 198578DFlower-of-an-hourFrances HansenMaleska
Sunday, March 20, 1983105DDecorumJudith C. DaltonMaleska
Sunday, February 22, 197695DHumilityTap OsbornWeng
Saturday, January 24, 197625DDecorumSidney NelsonWeng
Friday, January 31, 197547AUnpretentiousnessJordan S. LasherWeng
Thursday, January 31, 197447AHumilityJoan DeRossoWeng
Wednesday, August 26, 197010DVictorian virtueUnknownWeng
Friday, December 28, 196260AOld-fashioned virtue.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Sunday, December 22, 195797DDiffidence.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Thursday, October 3, 195738DShyness.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, October 9, 195578DOpposite of boastfulness.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Monday, April 18, 195543DMaidenly trait.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Wednesday, October 25, 195019AAn old-fashioned virtue.Edward BucklerFarrar
Sunday, September 17, 195047ADiffidence.Alice CookFarrar
Sunday, March 29, 194253A"A virtue not often found among poets."—Cervantes.Alvin AshbyFarrar