Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

233 Results

72 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, December 31, 201440DBig name in jeansDavid Woolf
Friday, January 17, 201442AOne of the 12 tribes of IsraelKevin G. Der
Sunday, October 28, 201225D___ Johnston, former fiancé of Bristol PalinMichael Sharp and Caleb Madison
Monday, October 22, 20124DJeans maker Strauss (5)Joel Fagliano
Tuesday, August 14, 201236DItalian writer PrimoIan Livengood
Monday, October 3, 201123D___ Strauss jeans (5)Stanley Newman
Sunday, September 4, 201188AVeronese masterpiece "The Feast in the House of ___"Dana Delany and Matt Ginsberg
Monday, August 29, 201155D___ Strauss jeans (5)Andrea Carla Michaels and Michael Blake
Saturday, April 9, 201118AChampion cyclist LeipheimerScott Atkinson
Wednesday, March 30, 201160ADolly the matchmakerErik Wennstrom
Sunday, February 20, 2011110DItalian author PrimoElizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, November 7, 201087DBig name in denim (2)Will Nediger
Wednesday, May 26, 201067AJohnston in 2008-09 newsAnna Shechtman
Tuesday, January 5, 201011DJeans maker ___ Strauss (5)C. W. Stewart
Tuesday, April 7, 200918A___ Strauss jeans (5)Joon Pahk
Monday, September 8, 20087DDenim pioneer StraussOliver Hill
Thursday, April 3, 20081ABenjamin Harrison's vice president, ___ P. MortonKevin G. Der
Tuesday, March 18, 200851DStrauss of jeansDavid Pringle
Saturday, June 16, 200754ASon of Leah (3)Joe DiPietro
Saturday, June 9, 200726ASinger Stubbs of the Four TopsKaren M. Tracey
Monday, April 9, 200765A___ Strauss & Co. (7)J. K. Hummel
Monday, January 23, 200638A___ Strauss jeans (5)Mark T. Milhet
Friday, January 20, 200651DFirst name among clothiersHarvey Estes
Sunday, November 13, 200587ASon of Leah (3)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Sunday, November 6, 2005114A1890's veep ___ P. Morton (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, October 24, 20058D___ Strauss & Co. (7)Lynn Lempel
Monday, August 22, 200534DBig name in denim (2)Lynn Lempel
Friday, July 29, 200541ASon of Leah (3)Kyle Mahowald
Thursday, June 23, 200560DStrauss of jeans fameCourtenay Crocker III
Thursday, June 16, 200555D"The Periodic Table" author Primo ___Elizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, January 19, 200528DStrauss of denimLeonard Williams
Friday, December 31, 200445ADolly of "Hello, Dolly!" (5)David Quarfoot
Monday, June 28, 200412DJeans purveyor StraussSarah Keller
Thursday, June 17, 20043DForebear of one of Israel's 12 TribesRobert H. Wolfe
Sunday, November 23, 200383DAuthor of "Christ Stopped at Eboli"Leonard Williams
Thursday, October 23, 200357DSon of Jacob and Leah (2)Michael Shteyman
Thursday, June 26, 200332ACarlo who wrote "Christ Stopped at Eboli"Patrick Berry
Monday, October 21, 200235A___ Strauss & Co. (7)Peter Sarrett
Sunday, August 25, 200219AStubbs of the Four TopsRandolph Ross
Thursday, August 8, 200257DSon of JacobPatrick Merrell
Tuesday, June 4, 200265AFirst name in jeans (4)Matthew J. Koceich
Sunday, January 13, 200219AFormer Israeli leader ___ EshkolNelson Hardy
Tuesday, January 8, 20027DJeans maker Strauss (5)Janet R. Bender
Friday, December 14, 200154DFord attorney general Edward ___Brendan Emmett Quigley
Tuesday, November 20, 200132DFirst name in jeans (4)Kelly Clark
Thursday, November 15, 200116ADolly of "Hello, Dolly!" (5)Alan Arbesfeld
Thursday, August 23, 200166A___ P. Morton (1890's veep)Peter Gordon
Wednesday, March 28, 200138AIsrael's EshkolElizabeth C. Gorski
Friday, August 4, 200042D1889 Vice President ___ P. MortonJim Page
Wednesday, October 13, 199912D"The Drowned and the Saved" authorDavid Levinson Wilk
Tuesday, October 5, 199918A___ Strauss & Co. (7)Stephanie Spadaccini
Friday, July 16, 199943AAbolitionist CoffinGerald R. Ferguson
Wednesday, July 7, 19992DDolly of "Hello, Dolly!" (5)Richard Silvestri
Thursday, June 10, 199960D1890's Veep ___ P. Morton (2)Adam G. Perl
Wednesday, February 10, 199911DDolly ___ of "Hello, Dolly!" (5)Nancy Salomon
Monday, February 1, 19996D___ Strauss & Co. (7)Dorothy Smitonick
Tuesday, November 3, 199836D___ Strauss & Co. (7)Ed Early
Sunday, October 25, 199848ADolly ___ of "Hello, Dolly!" (5)Nancy Nicholson Joline
Monday, September 21, 199819A___ Strauss & Co. (7)Matthew Lees
Sunday, June 14, 199866AFirst name in jeans (4)Manny Nosowsky
Wednesday, May 27, 199817AFirst name in jeans (4)Mark Elliot Skolsky
Thursday, January 22, 199848DFounder of one of the 12 tribesPatrick Jordan
Thursday, December 18, 199764ASon of Jacob and Leah (2)Cathy Millhauser
Tuesday, February 18, 199753D___ Strauss jeans (5)F. Piscop
Monday, January 20, 199716A___ Strauss (jeans maker)S. Spadaccini
Friday, September 27, 199652D1890's Vice President ___ P. Morton (2)B. Sefick
Thursday, January 25, 19966AFour Tops leader___StubbsD. Kahn
Wednesday, August 30, 19952DManufacturer StraussJohn R. Conrad
Friday, November 4, 199437AJeans maker Strauss (5)Matt Jones
Friday, August 19, 19949AMatthew, originallyMartin Ashwood-Smith
Monday, March 7, 199416A1890's Vice President _____ P. Morton (2)Alex K. Justin
Friday, November 26, 199352DJeans maker Strauss (5)Nancy A. Corbett

4 results for LEVI from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
February 24, 2008diagramless56D___ StraussPatrick Blindauer
September 9, 2007diagramless22DStrauss of denim fameJanet R. Bender
June 17, 2007diagramless35DJeans-maker StraussBarry L. Cohen
June 5, 2005panda52DEvil fellowMel Taub

157 results for LEVI from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, September 19, 199395DAbolitionist CoffinJohn M. SamsonTaub
Saturday, July 31, 199348DA tribe of IsraelTap OsbornMaleska
Saturday, May 8, 199354DA brother of SimeonTap OsbornMaleska
Monday, May 3, 199364AJacob's third sonNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Tuesday, April 13, 199338AGolfer Wayne ___Nancy JolineMaleska
Wednesday, January 6, 199330DA StraussLois SidwayMaleska
Sunday, November 15, 199257AStreisand role in "Hello, Dolly!"Bette Sue CohenMaleska
Sunday, October 4, 199283DA tribe of IsraelRandolph RossMaleska
Wednesday, September 2, 199260DThird son of Jacob and LeahWayne Hall-EastmanMaleska
Sunday, June 14, 199298DJacob's third sonBert H. KruseMaleska
Wednesday, May 20, 199253DFirst name in jeansLois SidwayMaleska
Friday, May 15, 199253DJeans maker StraussMichael J. ParrisMaleska
Wednesday, April 22, 19927DTribe of IsraelJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Friday, April 10, 199223AJacob's third sonTap OsbornMaleska
Friday, February 14, 199240DAuthor of "Christ Stopped at Eboli"Michael A. RampinoMaleska
Monday, January 6, 199210DThird son of JacobAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Thursday, September 5, 199113AThird son of Jacob and LeahJudith PerryMaleska
Sunday, September 1, 199192AIsraeli P.M. Eshkol: 1963-69Frances HansenMaleska
Wednesday, May 15, 199135DWayne of golfPeter GordonMaleska
Friday, May 10, 199118DFirst name in jeansJim PageMaleska
Saturday, February 9, 199157DMatthew's original nameJesse RoarkeMaleska
Wednesday, December 12, 19903DMatchmaker DollyRichard SilvestriMaleska
Saturday, October 6, 199058DHe wrote "Christ Stopped at Eboli"Daniel GirardiMaleska
Friday, July 27, 199014AGolfer Wayne ___Roger H. CourtneyMaleska
Monday, June 25, 199016AA son of JacobFred TooleMaleska
Tuesday, March 27, 199057DJacob's third sonJean M. HuntMaleska
Wednesday, March 14, 199016AStrauss of jeans fameLois SidwayMaleska
Saturday, December 30, 198968AJacob's third sonChristy RidleyMaleska
Sunday, September 10, 19896AA son of JacobBert H. KruseMaleska
Wednesday, August 9, 198919DJacob's third sonJune A. BoggsMaleska
Monday, June 12, 198955DA son of Jacob and LeahFred TooleMaleska
Saturday, October 8, 198853DAn avenger of DinahKevin BoyleMaleska
Tuesday, September 13, 198816AJacob's third sonWhittenMaleska
Monday, March 28, 198811DJacob and Leah's third sonNancy McCarthyMaleska
Saturday, March 12, 198844A"Hello, Dolly!" nameWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Thursday, January 28, 198826DClothier StraussJune A. BoggsMaleska
Thursday, January 14, 198859AGolfer Wayne ___Dorothy CannanMaleska
Wednesday, October 7, 198760AStrauss, the trousers makerBarbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Friday, August 7, 198716AA brother of SimeonMark DiehlMaleska
Sunday, July 19, 198792DGolfer Wayne ___Kathryn RighterMaleska
Saturday, July 11, 198715AOne of Dinah's avengersEdward BobbMaleska
Saturday, June 20, 198725AO.T. nameJames & Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Thursday, February 26, 198741DManufacturer StraussElaine GeorgeMaleska
Monday, February 2, 198740AA son of LeahJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, January 19, 198716AJacob's third sonWhittenMaleska
Wednesday, January 7, 198747AA tribe of IsraelPeter SwiftMaleska
Saturday, November 15, 198626ADolly of "Hello, Dolly!"Eugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Thursday, November 13, 198615AGolfer WayneIrene SmullyanMaleska
Tuesday, July 1, 198611DJacob's third sonChristy RidleyMaleska
Monday, November 4, 198533DJacob's third sonAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Friday, May 31, 198533DDinah's avengerWhittenMaleska
Sunday, April 21, 198540DA brother of SimeonEdward MarcheseMaleska
Wednesday, April 3, 198536AThird son of JacobAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Thursday, December 27, 198414AGolfer Wayne ___John M. SamsonMaleska
Friday, November 2, 198433DThird son of JacobJoy L. WoukMaleska
Wednesday, February 8, 198419AGolfer WayneKathryn RighterMaleska
Monday, January 30, 198435AJacob's third sonNorma SteinbergMaleska
Saturday, October 1, 19832DDolly of "Hello, Dolly!"Ernst TheimerMaleska
Thursday, July 14, 198353AMatthew's original nameBette Sue CohenMaleska
Tuesday, July 5, 198314AV.P. MortonBarbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Wednesday, June 1, 198319AStrauss of dungaree fameEli WesoffMaleska
Thursday, March 10, 198359AA son of JacobBernice GordonMaleska
Tuesday, February 8, 198315AThird son of Jacob and LeahLois SidwayMaleska
Monday, July 5, 19822DThird son of JacobWhittenMaleska
Monday, May 24, 19821DV.P. Morton: 1889–93Barbara J. WeakleyMaleska
Saturday, February 6, 198224DA son of Leah and JacobJohn GreenmanMaleska
Tuesday, September 22, 198142AThird son of JacobPlattMaleska
Wednesday, July 22, 198117ADolly of musical fameLouis SabinMaleska
Sunday, June 14, 198118DV.P. MortonJudith C. DaltonMaleska
Wednesday, March 18, 198133DJacob's third sonC. J. AngioMaleska
Sunday, March 1, 1981112DRole for ChanningJordan S. LasherMaleska
Tuesday, December 30, 19801AIsraeli statesman ___ EshkolPeter SwiftMaleska
Tuesday, December 2, 198043ASon of JacobJoy L. WoukMaleska
Monday, November 24, 19803DDolly of "Hello, Dolly!"Carol DuttingMaleska
Friday, November 21, 198058AJacob's third sonJudson G. TrentMaleska
Friday, June 13, 19802DPants designer StraussA. J. SantoraMaleska
Friday, May 2, 198028DEshkol of IsraelGhulam Y. FarukiMaleska
Sunday, April 20, 198037D"Hello, Dolly!" nameWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Monday, December 17, 197954ADolly of "Hello, Dolly!"Evelyn BenshoofMaleska
Monday, December 10, 197947DThird son of Jacob and LeahN. M. MeyerMaleska
Tuesday, July 17, 197916AJacob's third sonJean J. DavisonMaleska
Friday, July 13, 197945AA son of Leah and JacobElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Friday, March 25, 197763AJacob's third sonEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Tuesday, March 22, 197712AHebrew tribeHarriet Gilson RosenbergMaleska
Friday, March 19, 197636DSon of JacobChet CurrierWeng
Wednesday, September 24, 197558ADolly's last nameWilliam LutwiniakWeng
Wednesday, September 10, 197519AJacob's sonMartha J. DeWittWeng
Wednesday, March 12, 19753DJacob's sonLeonard GoldbergWeng
Saturday, December 7, 19741DSon of JacobHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Saturday, August 10, 197419AGenesis manLois HillisWeng
Thursday, May 2, 197443DOne of Israel's 12 tribesGansWeng
Wednesday, March 13, 197461ASon of JacobMary DormanWeng
Wednesday, February 27, 197425DSon of LeahDorothy N. DavisWeng
Thursday, December 6, 197340AJacob's sonUnknownWeng
Tuesday, August 21, 197339AJacob's sonUnknownWeng
Wednesday, May 9, 197351ASon of JacobUnknownWeng
Sunday, April 15, 197370DJacob's sonHerb RisteenWeng
Sunday, March 25, 1973140ASon of JacobA. J. SantoraWeng
Sunday, March 18, 197387AJacob's sonJean J. DavisonWeng
Saturday, June 17, 197255DSon of JacobUnknownWeng
Saturday, May 20, 197255DSon of JacobUnknownWeng
Monday, April 24, 197257AGenesis nameUnknownWeng
Sunday, February 27, 197242DSon of JacobWard W. SmithWeng
Saturday, February 26, 197227DJacob's sonUnknownWeng
Friday, August 13, 19712DDolly of "Hello Dolly"UnknownWeng
Monday, July 19, 197113ASon of JacobUnknownWeng
Sunday, January 31, 1971103DSon of JacobMartha DeWittWeng
Sunday, November 8, 1970132DJacob's sonEdward J. O'BrienWeng
Friday, July 17, 197033ABiblical ancestorUnknownWeng
Tuesday, January 13, 197011DJacob's sonUnknownWeng
Saturday, January 10, 197014ASon of JacobUnknownWeng
Thursday, November 13, 19698DJacob's son.UnknownWeng
Monday, October 27, 196956DSon of Jacob.UnknownWeng
Monday, September 1, 19693DSon of Jacob.UnknownWeng
Friday, July 4, 19693DBiblical tribe.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, February 4, 196950AGenesis figure.UnknownWeng
Thursday, May 23, 196814ASon of Jacob.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, February 14, 196858DJacob's son.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 5, 196834DItalian author.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, September 28, 196763AJacob's son.Helen FasuloFarrar
Tuesday, May 23, 196744DJacob's son.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Tuesday, May 16, 19677DJacob's son.Cora GoodmanFarrar
Saturday, May 6, 196735ASon of Jacob.George LaczkoFarrar
Tuesday, January 31, 196714AMan's name.Martha J. DeWittFarrar
Sunday, January 1, 196726AV. P. Morton.Anne FoxFarrar
Thursday, July 21, 196616AV. P. Morton.UnknownFarrar
Monday, January 24, 196659AIsrael's Premiere Eshkol.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, October 30, 19652DBlue jeans designer.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, June 3, 196567AItalian writer.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 11, 196515DSon of Jacob.Diana SessionsFarrar
Friday, October 16, 196410AVice President Morton.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 27, 196452DJacob's third-born.UnknownFarrar
Friday, April 3, 196459ASon of Jacob.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, October 26, 196326DJacob's son.Louise EarnestFarrar
Friday, September 13, 196311DItalian author.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 8, 1963120ASon of Jacob.W. E. JonesFarrar
Friday, September 6, 19631DJacob's third son.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 3, 19631DSon of Jacob.UnknownFarrar
Friday, January 18, 196344AV. P. Morton.Kay RichmanFarrar
Sunday, August 19, 196215DLeah's third son.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Thursday, May 24, 196253DContemporary Italian writer.Joseph CrowellFarrar
Wednesday, March 28, 196232ASon of Jacob.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Thursday, March 8, 196223AJacob's son.Annamarie LobbFarrar
Monday, February 19, 196211DSon of Jacob.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar
Tuesday, February 6, 196249DSon of Jacob.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Tuesday, September 12, 196124DItalian author.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 27, 196150DSon of Jacob.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 20, 19612DSon of Leah.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, January 5, 196153DItalian writer.UnknownFarrar
Friday, December 9, 196054DJacob's son.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 16, 196048DFounder of Biblical priesthood.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, November 21, 195914ASon of Jacob.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 15, 195950DFounder of Biblical priesthood.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 21, 195915DItalian author.William A. Lewis Jr.Farrar
Sunday, March 22, 195975DSon of Jacob.Jules ArensbergFarrar
Sunday, March 8, 1959150DItalian author.Charles E. GerschFarrar
Tuesday, February 17, 195944ASon of Jacob.Madeline CorseFarrar