Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

49 Results for ITSELF

19 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

Sunday, September 20, 20153DWord after in and ofJason Mueller and Jeff Chen
Sunday, September 5, 2010101D"... is fear ___" (2)Will Nediger
Sunday, January 24, 201011DWhat "ipso" means (2)David Kwong and Kevan Choset
Sunday, May 24, 200978AIn and of ___ (2)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, August 24, 200875AIn and of ___ (2)Kevin G. Der
Sunday, March 2, 200815DThe "se" in per se (2)Patrick Blindauer and Tony Orbach
Friday, January 19, 200746DWord of emphasisKaren M. Tracey
Monday, August 2, 200441D"The only thing we have to fear is fear ___": F.D.R.Holden Baker
Friday, February 27, 200450DIn ___ (per se)Myles Callum
Sunday, December 22, 200210DIntensifying wordFrances Hansen
Wednesday, August 14, 200211D"... is fear ___": F.D.R.David Levinson Wilk
Wednesday, November 7, 200144DA thing unto ___Brendan Emmett Quigley
Wednesday, January 31, 20015D"... is fear ___" (2)Jon Delfin
Thursday, December 14, 20001DWhat "ipso" means (2)Peter Gordon
Saturday, January 22, 200046A"Pays for ___!"David J. Kahn
Friday, September 24, 199943A"Thou art the thing ___": King LearMartin Ashwood-Smith
Tuesday, September 30, 199725AIn ___ (intrinsically)Nancy Schuster
Thursday, March 6, 19972DThe "se" in per se (2)Shannon Burns
Tuesday, November 8, 199436DAn end in _____Richard Hughes

2 results for ITSELF from Variety puzzles.

March 16, 2008acrosticSWhat a tapeworm may fertilize to reproduceEmily Cox and Henry Rathvon
December 14, 2003acrosticL"Art never expresses anything but ___" (Oscar Wilde)Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon

28 results for ITSELF from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Sunday, January 6, 199113AReflexive pronounDaniel GirardiMaleska
Saturday, July 14, 199043DReflexive pronounNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Saturday, March 25, 198943AReflexive pronounEli WesoffMaleska
Wednesday, March 30, 198846D"Thou art the thing ___": Shak.Shirley SolowayMaleska
Sunday, September 21, 198615D"Charity vaunteth not ___ . . . ": I Cor. 13:4Dale O. BurgenerMaleska
Monday, May 12, 198619DReflexive or intensive pronounSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Saturday, May 16, 198142AReflexive pronounVaughn KeithMaleska
Friday, August 15, 19808D"For love is still most precious in ___": Shak.Joy L. WoukMaleska
Saturday, September 29, 197937AThe very thingJack LuzzattoMaleska
Wednesday, January 17, 19796D"Thou art the thing ___": King LearFloy StrykerMaleska
Monday, June 14, 197645A"It will pay for ___ in no time"Henry HookWeng
Sunday, January 25, 197656AEmphatic pronounVirginia SchneiderWeng
Tuesday, May 29, 197317DPronounUnknownWeng
Saturday, May 23, 19701APronounUnknownWeng
Wednesday, April 15, 19704DPronounUnknownWeng
Tuesday, August 27, 196829APer se, with "by."UnknownFarrar
Saturday, August 3, 196832DPronoun.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 20, 19644DPronoun.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, January 5, 196443APronoun.Sidney LambertFarrar
Sunday, May 26, 196361DNeuter pronoun.Brice MetcalfeFarrar
Thursday, November 9, 196131AReflexive pronoun.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 19, 195935AEmphasizing pronoun.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, August 31, 195885DReflexive pronoun.W. E. JonesFarrar
Monday, August 26, 195751DReflexive pronoun.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sunday, January 20, 1957102APronoun.Jack LuzzattoFarrar
Tuesday, December 11, 195646DPronoun.S. A. KayFarrar
Thursday, August 27, 195326APronoun.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, April 30, 195315DReflexive pronoun.Eugene T. MaleskaFarrar