Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

13 Results for ENCAGE

4 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, March 27, 201554ALock up (2)David Kwong
Tuesday, September 16, 200312DPenMichael Doran
Thursday, November 25, 19997DConfineDavid J. Kahn
Wednesday, November 16, 199416ALock up (2)Chuck Deodene

9 results for ENCAGE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, November 2, 198824DConfine, as a canaryRita YelleMaleska
Tuesday, November 3, 198731AConfine a canaryMargaret W. HuskeyMaleska
Saturday, October 24, 19878DConfine a budgerigarKenneth HaxtonMaleska
Sunday, May 3, 198791DPut behind barsFrances HansenMaleska
Thursday, September 26, 198527DLock upLouis SabinMaleska
Saturday, August 28, 198252AImprisonWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Wednesday, June 20, 196243DCover completely.Lois HillisFarrar
Sunday, July 17, 196066AShut up.Mary GrowFarrar
Monday, November 12, 195129APen up.UnknownFarrar