Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

54 Results for EMOTED

23 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences).

Friday, July 27, 201222DDidn't hide one's feelings, to say the leastJoe Krozel
Tuesday, July 17, 200747DHammed it up (5)Natan Last
Monday, October 18, 200420AHammed it up (5)Steve Kahn
Sunday, October 10, 2004104AWent over the top, in a wayElizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, August 8, 200499AActed badlyBill Zais
Friday, August 6, 20047DGushedBob Peoples
Wednesday, May 22, 200254AWept wildly, maybeSherry O. Blackard
Sunday, May 12, 200272AOverplayed one's feelingsAlan Arbesfeld
Sunday, September 9, 200171AOverplayedHarvey Estes and Nancy Salomon
Monday, August 27, 200121AActed hammilyHolden Baker
Sunday, November 5, 200036DWas a bad player, perhapsMichael S. Maurer
Monday, November 17, 199727AHammed it up (5)Holden Baker
Tuesday, July 8, 199744DHammed it up (5)Stephanie Spadaccini
Monday, July 7, 19976DChewed the sceneryGregory E. Paul
Sunday, March 9, 199756APut on a showJune Boggs
Friday, October 25, 199633AMuggedM. Nosowsky
Wednesday, May 29, 199646DDidn't act subtlyR. Norris
Wednesday, July 5, 199544DActed amateurishlyNorman S. Wizer
Tuesday, May 16, 19955DDid B-grade stage workDavid J. Kahn
Saturday, April 8, 199548DWaxed perfervidA.J. Santora
Thursday, January 26, 199551ADid with a passion?A.J. Santora
Monday, November 14, 199425AHammed it up (5)Sidney L. Robbins
Sunday, January 23, 199468AMugged, maybeCharles M. Deber

31 results for EMOTED from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

Sunday, October 17, 1993103DHammed it upJeanette K. BrillTaub
Wednesday, May 19, 199365AHammed it upJune A. BoggsMaleska
Friday, December 13, 199124DHammed it upJeanne WilsonMaleska
Thursday, October 10, 199133DHammed it upWilliam BaxleyMaleska
Sunday, November 18, 199075DEmulated Pearl WhiteEdward MarcheseMaleska
Monday, October 8, 199010DOveractedFred TooleMaleska
Saturday, September 1, 199044DHammed it upErnst TheimerMaleska
Sunday, July 22, 1990101DOveractedJoy L. WoukMaleska
Friday, March 9, 199016AIndulged in cabotinageWilliam BaxleyMaleska
Monday, November 20, 198921AHammed it upSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Friday, March 18, 198810DEmulated Mary PickfordR. S. JonesMaleska
Thursday, December 10, 198753AWas impassionedCharlotte ShoreMaleska
Friday, June 12, 198746DRaged onstageLois SidwayMaleska
Sunday, November 2, 198664DEmulated William GilletteMaurice J. TeitelbaumMaleska
Saturday, November 23, 198520AShowed feelingJesse RoarkeMaleska
Sunday, October 6, 1985118AWhat Pearl White did in filmsA. J. SantoraMaleska
Sunday, March 20, 198332AChewed the sceneryJudith C. DaltonMaleska
Friday, November 7, 198017AChewed the sceneryA. J. SantoraMaleska
Thursday, October 9, 198037DHammed it upRobert KatzMaleska
Sunday, March 23, 198080DOverplayedHal R. HollingerMaleska
Thursday, June 14, 197949APlayed a part to the hiltStephanie SpadacciniMaleska
Friday, November 25, 197751AOveractedWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, January 17, 197119DWas theatricalH. L. RisteenWeng
Sunday, December 20, 197016DPut on an actAnne FoxWeng
Sunday, October 18, 197051DHammed it upJoseph LaFauciWeng
Friday, March 6, 197046DActed in a wayUnknownWeng
Thursday, December 12, 19634DEmulated certain actresses.Bernice GordonFarrar
Saturday, July 20, 196363AOveracted: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 17, 196140ABehaved theatrically: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 5, 1955124AOverdid a scene.Ralph AndersonFarrar
Sunday, June 19, 1949117DDisplayed feeling: Jocose.Leonard GoldbergFarrar