Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

41 Results

14 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, August 19, 201425DResponsibility (2)Sam Buchbinder
Sunday, March 4, 2012102AWord with free or boundDavid J. Kahn
Friday, October 22, 201019AJob description detailScott Atkinson
Friday, July 30, 201045AAirport patrons often avoid itKevin G. Der
Sunday, April 13, 200850DImport taxCathy Millhauser
Saturday, October 18, 200331AWord before free or boundMyles Callum
Wednesday, May 28, 20033DShirkers shirk itAlan Arbesfeld
Thursday, December 26, 200211DCarrying out the trash, maybeCathy Millhauser
Monday, December 31, 20015DAssigned taskNancy Salomon and Harvey Estes
Tuesday, January 27, 19985DScout's pledge wordManny Nosowsky
Sunday, January 25, 1998121ATaxDave Tuller
Sunday, February 19, 1995118AIt's an impositionAlfio Micci
Sunday, November 6, 1994147AResponsibility (2)A.J. Santora
Tuesday, January 25, 19947DWord before free or callsJoel Davajan

27 results for DUTY from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, June 27, 1993106AObligationAlex K. JustinMaleska
Sunday, March 1, 199277AObligationEmanuel BergMaleska
Sunday, April 29, 1990120AImport taxFrances HansenMaleska
Sunday, October 20, 1985117AImpostJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Friday, March 16, 198436DObligationJesse RoarkeMaleska
Sunday, October 4, 1981109ALevyJoy L. WoukMaleska
Tuesday, September 29, 19813DCustomhouse levyChristy RidleyMaleska
Monday, May 11, 198113DChoreMaloneyMaleska
Wednesday, June 15, 197749DMoral obligationBeverly J. SewardMaleska
Saturday, November 20, 197647AObligationBert H. KruseWeng
Wednesday, July 14, 19763DImporter's burdenD. DavisWeng
Monday, August 4, 197561AImporter's concernVirginia ButlerWeng
Tuesday, July 22, 197545AImporter's burdenJackie AidieurWeng
Sunday, July 20, 196934DObligationH. L. RisteenWeng
Friday, May 17, 196845ACharge.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 28, 196755DObedience.Helen FasuloFarrar
Sunday, December 26, 196598ARespect.Frances HansenFarrar
Thursday, November 4, 196558DImporter's concern.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 1, 196531DWhat England expects every man will do.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 19, 196455DObedience.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Sunday, August 5, 196276ATariff.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Tuesday, May 22, 196213DObligation.Michael DubinFarrar
Saturday, January 20, 196213DRespect.Manny MillerFarrar
Saturday, December 23, 196134AResponsibility.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, November 2, 196151DMoral obligation.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, March 5, 196156AObedience.Christine ValenceFarrar
Saturday, March 12, 196034DObligation.UnknownFarrar