Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

105 Results

34 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Monday, April 7, 20148AHaving a couple of elementsDouglas Taillon
Wednesday, November 27, 201316AWord before income or exhaustJules P. Markey
Tuesday, March 5, 201369ALike some people's citizenshipsGareth Bain
Monday, September 26, 201137A___ exhaustDavid Gray
Sunday, August 7, 201132DDesigned for twoTony Orbach and Janie Smulyan
Thursday, April 28, 201152DLike some citizenshipGary Cee
Tuesday, February 1, 201128ALike a Jekyll/Hyde personality (2)Ron and Nancy Byron
Sunday, January 23, 201178DKind of income (2)Chris A. McGlothlin
Friday, January 21, 201116AJanus-facedPete Mitchell
Tuesday, September 28, 201043AWith 39-Across, kind of engineMichael Torch
Thursday, December 24, 200919ATwin (3)Nancy Salomon
Thursday, July 13, 200626ATwo-partManny Nosowsky
Thursday, September 29, 200555DTwofold (7)Sam Bellotto Jr.
Tuesday, July 12, 200529DTwofold (7)Nancy Salomon
Friday, September 3, 200449ATwin (3)Edgar R. Fontaine
Tuesday, July 20, 200448ATwofold (7)Nancy Kavanaugh
Thursday, May 6, 200434A___ purpose (2)Kevan Choset
Tuesday, July 31, 200141ALike some exhaustsSarah Keller
Sunday, June 10, 200129D___-purpose (2)Cathy Millhauser
Wednesday, June 6, 200130AIn two partsRichard Silvestri
Monday, January 8, 200112DTwofold (7)Gregory E. Paul
Sunday, August 27, 200067DLike some controlsDana Motley
Sunday, December 26, 199988DLike some citizenshipsGreg Staples
Friday, October 8, 199954DKind of income (2)Nancy Salomon
Sunday, February 21, 199915ALike some track meetsFred Piscop
Wednesday, April 29, 199831AKind of citizenGayle Dean
Sunday, September 7, 1997101AKind of exhaust (2)Randolph Ross
Wednesday, August 20, 199722ATwofold (7)Chuck Deodene
Monday, December 25, 199537DKind of exhaust (2)Sidney L. Robbins
Thursday, December 21, 199542ALike a Jekyll-Hyde personality (2)Rich Norris
Monday, September 18, 199512DTwofold (7)Alan Arbesfeld
Wednesday, August 9, 19957DWord with citizen or purposeRichard Hughes
Wednesday, February 1, 19951ATwin (3)Chet Currier
Tuesday, April 12, 199429ATwofold (7)Ernie Furtado

2 results for DUAL from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
February 3, 2013diagramless32DTwofoldPaula Gamache
May 23, 2004panda47DLike "Laud, laud!"Mel Taub

69 results for DUAL from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, December 16, 199236DDenoting twoHarold B. CountsMaleska
Friday, July 12, 199134ATwofoldJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Sunday, December 30, 199090ATwofoldNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Tuesday, October 23, 199047ADoubleAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Saturday, September 15, 199034DTwofoldKevin BoyleMaleska
Sunday, July 1, 1990127DDoubleJohn GreenmanMaleska
Sunday, January 28, 199047DTwofoldLouis BaronMaleska
Saturday, March 4, 198919DHaving a double natureRobert KatzMaleska
Sunday, February 12, 198922ALike some highwaysJune A. BoggsMaleska
Tuesday, January 17, 198960ATwofoldDon GroatMaleska
Tuesday, October 18, 198856DTwofoldLois SidwayMaleska
Monday, October 26, 198762ATwofoldAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Sunday, July 19, 198775DDoubleKathryn RighterMaleska
Friday, July 3, 198742ATwo-foldWilson McBeathMaleska
Thursday, June 26, 19867DTwofoldElaine GeorgeMaleska
Tuesday, June 17, 198662ATwofoldBurnsMaleska
Tuesday, December 3, 198558DTwofoldPageMaleska
Friday, February 1, 198550DLike certain controlsJudith PerryMaleska
Friday, September 21, 198435DTwo-wayUllmenMaleska
Tuesday, April 17, 198453DTwofoldBurnsMaleska
Monday, May 9, 198337ATwofoldNewellMaleska
Monday, March 22, 198255ATwofoldN. M. MeyerMaleska
Sunday, September 28, 1980107ALike certain controlsHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Friday, January 18, 198046DTwofoldPeter SwiftMaleska
Sunday, October 28, 197990ATwinJordan S. LasherMaleska
Thursday, June 21, 19793DTwofoldKathryn RighterMaleska
Sunday, June 25, 197877ATwinLouis BaronMaleska
Friday, June 23, 197815ATwofoldHallie & Gerald ParsonsMaleska
Saturday, May 13, 197816ATwofoldTap OsbornMaleska
Saturday, April 22, 197815ALike Jekyll's personalityHenry HookMaleska
Sunday, October 9, 197785DKind of roleElaine D. SchorrMaleska
Sunday, July 24, 1977100DTwofoldJay SpryMaleska
Sunday, July 10, 1977111ATwofoldJordan S. LasherMaleska
Monday, May 9, 197732DBinaryEvelyn BenshoofMaleska
Friday, April 29, 197740DKind of personalityTap OsbornMaleska
Friday, September 12, 19756ATwofoldReginald L. JohnsonWeng
Saturday, May 17, 197525ATwofoldHallie & Gerald ParsonsWeng
Friday, November 29, 197455DTwofoldSophie FiermanWeng
Friday, September 13, 197429ADoubleSophie FiermanWeng
Friday, April 19, 19741D___ purpose (having two uses)Norton RhoadesWeng
Thursday, April 4, 197452DTwofoldWilliam A. ChambrunWeng
Wednesday, February 27, 197421ATwofoldDorothy N. DavisWeng
Monday, January 14, 197432D___ Alliance of 1879Bill ScollonWeng
Wednesday, June 13, 197330DDoubleUnknownWeng
Friday, May 25, 19734DTwofoldUnknownWeng
Tuesday, July 6, 197128DKind of allianceUnknownWeng
Tuesday, July 28, 197044DHaving two partsUnknownWeng
Sunday, June 22, 196988ATwofoldEileen BushWeng
Wednesday, November 6, 196853DTwin.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, June 22, 19686ATwofold.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, March 26, 196825AOf two.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, October 12, 196753DBinary.Sara V. TuckermanFarrar
Thursday, August 31, 196734ABinate.Samuel K. FliegnerFarrar
Friday, March 11, 196640D___ personality.UnknownFarrar
Friday, December 24, 196565ATwofold.UnknownFarrar
Monday, June 14, 196510ATwin.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 11, 196569ADouble.Diana SessionsFarrar
Friday, April 9, 196528ADenoting a certain personality.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, September 1, 196457DTwofold.UnknownFarrar
Monday, February 24, 196446DTwofold.Helen FasuloFarrar
Wednesday, January 1, 196461ATwin.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, April 23, 196328ATwofold.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 21, 196329DTwofold.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Wednesday, March 28, 196211DDouble.A. J. SantoraFarrar
Thursday, May 18, 19616DTwofold.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, March 18, 196134DTwofold.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 3, 196045ATwofold.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, April 6, 196051DTwofold.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, July 30, 195925ATwo-fold.UnknownFarrar