Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

56 Results

16 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, December 8, 201366DStreetcar soundPatrick Berry
Tuesday, November 29, 20117DTrolley sound (7)Aimee Lucido
Sunday, July 24, 201140DTrolley sound (7)Kurt Mueller
Sunday, June 12, 201140DTrolley sound (7)C. W. Stewart
Saturday, May 17, 200815DChuck wagon bell soundMike Nothnagel
Tuesday, February 19, 200822DTrolley sound (7)Victor Fleming
Sunday, October 15, 200635DWorrisome mechanical soundNorma Johnson & Nancy Salomon
Sunday, March 26, 20066ACowbell soundPatrick Berry
Friday, July 1, 200531ABell soundBrendan Emmett Quigley
Wednesday, March 26, 200322ATrolley sound (7)Randall J. Hartman
Sunday, November 4, 200148ABe jarringManny Nosowsky
Saturday, April 22, 200010ABrassy soundRich Norris
Friday, January 22, 19995DRepeated word in "The Trolley Song"Ed Early
Wednesday, November 1, 199519ATrolley sound (7)D.J. DeChristopher
Tuesday, June 20, 199554DTrolley sound (7)Jon Delfin
Monday, May 29, 199555AJail door soundBernice Gordon

2 results for CLANG from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
September 14, 2014diagramless25ATrolley soundFred Piscop
March 4, 2001cryptic23AArchaic language includes metallic sound (5)Richard Silvestri

38 results for CLANG from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Saturday, March 21, 199233DMetallic soundTimothy S. LewisMaleska
Monday, May 7, 19901DTrolley soundLois SidwayMaleska
Tuesday, November 29, 198846ABell soundWhittenMaleska
Sunday, June 8, 1986151A"Trolley Song" wordBarry L. CohenMaleska
Friday, May 23, 19863DTrolley soundWilliam S. McIlrathMaleska
Thursday, January 26, 198429DSound in a body shopBette Sue CohenMaleska
Thursday, December 8, 198327DLoud resounding noiseAlbert J. KlausMaleska
Friday, March 13, 19811AWord in "The Trolley Song"Kay SullivanMaleska
Thursday, September 25, 198047ATram soundMaduraMaleska
Monday, August 25, 198022DTrolley soundCharles EnglerMaleska
Friday, February 3, 197813DMetallic soundWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Sunday, January 29, 197856DAlarm-bell soundJames & Phyllis BarrickMaleska
Tuesday, June 29, 19761DTrolley soundMary HarrisWeng
Sunday, March 23, 197570DBell soundTom MixonWeng
Sunday, August 25, 197452DTrolley soundJack WherryWeng
Sunday, June 16, 1974106ATrolley soundRaymond F. EisnerWeng
Wednesday, April 17, 197442DTrolley soundSara V. TuckermanWeng
Sunday, October 22, 197255ATrolley soundFrank NosoffWeng
Monday, October 9, 197228DBell soundUnknownWeng
Thursday, July 6, 197227DTrolley soundUnknownWeng
Monday, June 7, 197113ATrolley soundUnknownWeng
Monday, June 29, 197054ATrolley soundUnknownWeng
Thursday, May 21, 197037AMetallic soundUnknownWeng
Thursday, July 11, 196865AMetallic sound.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 8, 196732ARinging sound.Martha J. DeWittFarrar
Friday, June 23, 196751DLoud noise.Louise EarnestFarrar
Sunday, August 28, 196633ARing.William A. Lewis, Jr.Farrar
Wednesday, August 24, 196643AMetaIlic sound.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 19, 196645AResounding sound.Anne FoxFarrar
Wednesday, September 22, 196548ATrolley sound.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, March 26, 19647DHarsh noise.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 6, 196248ARinging sound.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Friday, November 3, 196133ASound of the trolley.UnknownFarrar
Friday, May 19, 19611AHarsh sound.UnknownFarrar
Monday, January 23, 196150ALoud ringing sound.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, August 9, 19601ADeep ringing sound.UnknownFarrar
Monday, May 11, 19591ATrolley sound effect.Thomas MeekinFarrar
Sunday, April 5, 195998ASound of alarm.Harold T. BersFarrar