Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

108 Results

25 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, September 19, 201251DLeg part (2)Michael Shteyman
Monday, January 2, 201243ABaby bovine (2)Paula Gamache
Thursday, November 10, 201122DRoping targetTim Croce
Sunday, August 28, 2011104ANewborn on a ranchPatrick Berry
Sunday, May 1, 201129ADogie, e.g.Xan Vongsathorn
Tuesday, November 30, 20101AFarm newbornKristian House
Monday, May 24, 20101ACow's offspringBob Johnson
Monday, November 3, 200810ABossy's offspringSusan Gelfand
Thursday, October 2, 200858ABarn young 'unSamuel A. Donaldson
Thursday, March 30, 200649AA little lower (4)Richard Silvestri
Thursday, May 12, 200551DYoung whaleManny Nosowsky
Wednesday, February 16, 20055DMassage target for a runnerRichard Silvestri
Sunday, September 19, 200442DLeg part (2)Kyle Mahowald
Monday, August 16, 200455DRanch newbornJoy C. Frank
Saturday, September 28, 20026A"Golden" oneRaymond Hamel
Monday, July 8, 20022DBaby elephantSheldon Benardo
Monday, November 5, 20011AMuscle that a runner stretchesJenny Gutbezahl
Sunday, October 8, 20001AA little lower (4)Richard Silvestri
Sunday, September 10, 200036DDelivery in the fieldElizabeth C. Gorski
Wednesday, April 14, 199940DYoung rhinoAlan Arbesfeld
Thursday, December 24, 19983DBaby whale (2)Jim Page
Sunday, April 14, 199681DA little lower (4)Henry Hook
Thursday, March 14, 199632DBaby whale (2)R. Silvestri
Monday, May 1, 199526DBaby bovine (2)Sidney L. Robbins
Sunday, March 13, 199469DA little lower? (4)Nancy Nicholson Joline

83 results for CALF from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Tuesday, July 13, 199348DDogie, e.g.Michael S. MaurerMaleska
Saturday, May 8, 19931ABaby bisonTap OsbornMaleska
Saturday, April 3, 199347DYoung sealBernard MerenMaleska
Monday, March 1, 19931DLeg partJames L. BeattyMaleska
Sunday, January 17, 199365DSmall ice massMel TaubMaleska
Wednesday, December 2, 199210ALeg partPeter GordonMaleska
Tuesday, September 15, 199227DYoung rhinocerosMartha J. DeWittMaleska
Wednesday, April 8, 199210AMember of the herdBernice GordonMaleska
Wednesday, November 27, 19915AElmer and Elsie's babyPatricia A. CevaalMaleska
Thursday, August 8, 19911ASmall ice massPatricia A. CevaalMaleska
Friday, April 13, 199049DShoe materialNancy Scandrett RossMaleska
Wednesday, January 24, 19903DDogieRichard SilvestriMaleska
Tuesday, January 23, 19909AYoung bullSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Wednesday, September 28, 19881DYoung hippoArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Saturday, May 14, 198822DLittle whaleCharles J. MatontiMaleska
Wednesday, April 27, 198839DYoung bullNorma SteinbergMaleska
Tuesday, April 12, 19887DYoung elephantKenneth WitteMaleska
Saturday, February 27, 19889DYoung mooseArthur S. VerdescaMaleska
Friday, January 8, 19883DYoung mooseKay SullivanMaleska
Tuesday, November 24, 198744AWord with fatted or goldenJoy L. WoukMaleska
Saturday, October 24, 198751DLeg partKenneth HaxtonMaleska
Wednesday, October 14, 19871DVeal sourceEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Thursday, March 19, 198710ASmall ice massBetty JorgensenMaleska
Saturday, December 27, 19861DIceberg offshootJesse RoarkeMaleska
Thursday, July 3, 19861ADogieElaine GeorgeMaleska
Tuesday, April 8, 19861ABarnyard offspringJudith PerryMaleska
Tuesday, March 11, 19863DRanch newcomerH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Thursday, June 27, 198533DYoung hippoKathryn RighterMaleska
Sunday, April 14, 1985114DYoung whaleBert H. KruseMaleska
Sunday, August 26, 198487AYoung whaleAlfio MicciMaleska
Friday, July 22, 198345AElephant's youngJohn GreenmanMaleska
Tuesday, November 23, 198246DYoung sealBurnsMaleska
Thursday, July 29, 198210AYoung hippopotamusC. J. AngioMaleska
Wednesday, April 29, 19815AFatted ___Michael J. ParrisMaleska
Friday, February 20, 198110AWhence veal comesWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Friday, January 23, 198139AYoung mooseBernice GordonMaleska
Saturday, October 18, 198024DYoung whaleGeorge P. SphicasMaleska
Thursday, September 11, 198054AYoung rhinocerosN. M. MeyerMaleska
Tuesday, August 5, 19801DLeg partPeter SwiftMaleska
Tuesday, May 27, 19801DCallow bovineJenkinsMaleska
Tuesday, April 15, 198050DDogieJean J. DavisonMaleska
Tuesday, December 18, 19795ADevotee of cow's milkSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Monday, May 21, 197910ACow's youngI. Judah KoolykMaleska
Tuesday, February 6, 19791AVeal sourceSidney L. RobbinsMaleska
Thursday, November 30, 197823AYoung cowWilliam JarvisMaleska
Saturday, August 5, 197810AWhence veal comesWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tuesday, February 28, 197810ALeg partHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Sunday, January 1, 19783DDogieFrances HansenMaleska
Thursday, October 20, 197742ABovine babyHenry HookMaleska
Saturday, October 1, 19771AGolden ___ (riches)Mel RosenMaleska
Sunday, June 26, 1977112DDogieSam LakeMaleska
Saturday, March 26, 19776DCowboy's concernBert BeamanMaleska
Saturday, January 15, 197714ADogieAnthony B. CanningWeng
Friday, July 16, 19765AGolden or fattedJohn PrytzWeng
Sunday, July 4, 1976108DYoung animalAnne FoxWeng
Friday, July 2, 19761AElephant-herd memberMaura B. JacobsonWeng
Saturday, November 29, 197551DFarm animalJordan S. LasherWeng
Saturday, July 13, 197440DLeatherBert BeamanWeng
Friday, November 23, 197323DJunior bovineUnknownWeng
Sunday, June 10, 19734DLeatherAlfio MicciWeng
Saturday, April 14, 197310AFarm animalUnknownWeng
Wednesday, February 14, 197324AShapely leg areaMel RosenWeng
Wednesday, December 9, 197032DYoung whaleUnknownWeng
Monday, September 14, 197026DDogieUnknownWeng
Monday, February 9, 19701DPasture animalUnknownWeng
Monday, January 5, 19701ADogieUnknownWeng
Saturday, November 15, 196954AYoungling.UnknownWeng
Wednesday, October 29, 19691AShin's neighbor.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, June 17, 196954DFarm animal.UnknownWeng
Tuesday, February 18, 196948ALeather.UnknownWeng
Monday, December 16, 19681ALeather.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 28, 196866DDogieSidney LambertFarrar
Monday, May 27, 19686DGlove leather.UnknownFarrar
Friday, January 26, 196837AFarm animal.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, September 3, 196651ALeather.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, June 28, 196655DLeather.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, April 27, 196668ALeather.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 11, 196538DLeather.Hume R. CraftFarrar
Friday, April 30, 19656AYoung elephant.UnknownFarrar
Monday, September 16, 196353DFarm animal.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 12, 196352DDomestic animal.Diana SessionsFarrar
Friday, December 30, 19601DLeather.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, July 26, 196022ABookbinder's leather.UnknownFarrar