Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

66 Results

18 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Sunday, December 1, 201369DPublicizeAlan DerKazarian
Sunday, November 24, 201379DHype (2)Gary Cee
Friday, August 9, 201328AHype (2)Patrick Berry
Sunday, August 26, 2012123AUp (2)Amanda Yesnowitz and Doug Peterson
Monday, October 3, 201115APromoteStanley Newman
Wednesday, October 15, 200853ASpirits lifterKevin G. Der
Monday, May 12, 200837AShot in the arm (2)Randall J. Hartman
Sunday, December 30, 200714DLeg up (5)Elizabeth C. Gorski
Sunday, October 28, 200758DBackBen Tausig
Sunday, September 9, 2007106DLeg up (5)Patrick Berry
Sunday, August 5, 200785AAccelerationCaroline Leong
Wednesday, April 20, 200548DShot in the arm (2)Joe DiPietro
Saturday, June 28, 200341DUp (2)Robert H. Wolfe
Wednesday, November 20, 20025DLeg up (5)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, October 17, 199980DHikeBob and Sharon Klahn
Tuesday, July 27, 199947ALeg up (5)Alfio Micci
Friday, March 14, 199725DLeg up (5)Manny Nosowsky
Sunday, June 9, 199638DPlugM. Gaffney

48 results for BOOST from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, July 18, 199344AShot in the armMark DiehlMaleska
Friday, February 8, 199145ABackBert H. KruseMaleska
Friday, January 6, 19897APromoteJean J. DavisonMaleska
Tuesday, September 8, 198734APromoteKenneth WitteMaleska
Friday, August 22, 19869APromoteIrene SmullyanMaleska
Saturday, May 11, 198524DPromoteJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Sunday, March 31, 198562APromotePeter G. SnowMaleska
Tuesday, July 3, 198433APrice increaseArthur W. PalmerMaleska
Friday, July 1, 19837DAid a causeRemleyMaleska
Wednesday, May 18, 198326DGive a leg upEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Wednesday, February 24, 198232DGive a leg upC. J. AngioMaleska
Saturday, November 21, 19819APromoteFraasMaleska
Sunday, November 8, 19818DLiftMargaret RigbyMaleska
Sunday, January 18, 198184DEncouragementWilliam LutwiniakMaleska
Tuesday, April 22, 19805ARaiseJoy L. WoukMaleska
Friday, April 27, 197917AHelping handA. J. SantoraMaleska
Tuesday, February 27, 19791AUpward shoveJeanette K. BrillMaleska
Friday, January 14, 197726DPromoteReginald L. JohnsonWeng
Friday, September 17, 197613AGive a leg upDennis ListortWeng
Friday, July 23, 197613DHoistFrank GearyWeng
Tuesday, January 27, 197644AHelp onto a horseDorothea E. ShippWeng
Thursday, July 24, 197538DSupport a candidateBill ScollonWeng
Saturday, May 3, 197542AThump the tub forAnthony B. CanningWeng
Saturday, February 22, 197541APromoteJames A. BrusselWeng
Wednesday, November 13, 197462APromoteNancy Scandrett RossWeng
Sunday, December 30, 1973106AGive a leg upFrances HansenWeng
Monday, February 7, 197226DBeat the drum forUnknownWeng
Saturday, June 26, 197147DPush upMel TaubWeng
Friday, February 5, 197113DSound praises forUnknownWeng
Friday, January 9, 197027DRaiseUnknownWeng
Saturday, October 5, 196829ARaise: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, September 1, 1968120DGive a liftWill WengFarrar
Thursday, April 6, 196741AOpposite of knock.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Monday, November 7, 196627DLift: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, October 15, 196647DPush up: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, April 3, 196638DKnock's opposite.William LutwiniakFarrar
Tuesday, August 10, 196524DRaise.UnknownFarrar
Friday, July 30, 196535APromote: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, June 27, 196545DPlug.Anne FoxFarrar
Monday, August 17, 196410DRaise.UnknownFarrar
Friday, September 7, 196221ARaise: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, May 22, 196234DRaise.Michael DubinFarrar
Friday, November 18, 196044AIncrease: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, February 18, 196044DHelp forward: Colloq.UnknownFarrar
Monday, December 7, 195939AOpposite of a knock.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, November 29, 19591AIncrease: Colloq.Herbert EttensonFarrar
Monday, March 9, 195921DOpposite of "knock."Joseph LaFauciFarrar
Wednesday, February 18, 195937ASpeak in favor of: Colloq.Sidney LambertFarrar