Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

16 Results for ANVILS

6 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context.

DateGridClueAuthor
Friday, September 23, 201142DForgers' toolsMike Nothnagel
Wednesday, June 4, 20084D12-Down hardwareBillie Truitt
Sunday, May 11, 20032DForge thingsPatrick Berry
Saturday, October 3, 19989APercussion instrumentsRich Norris
Saturday, December 20, 199746DShoemaking sitesRich Norris
Monday, November 3, 199746AWhere some shoes are madeStephanie Spadaccini

1 result for ANVILS from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
June 24, 2007acrosticKHeavy gear needed for Verdi's "Il Trovatore"Emily Cox and Henry Rathvon

9 results for ANVILS from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Thursday, February 11, 199321ABlacksmiths' shaping blocksMichael A. RampinoMaleska
Saturday, June 13, 19926DFarriers' iron blocksEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Monday, May 24, 197659ASmithy fixturesElizabeth M. QuackenbushWeng
Saturday, August 4, 197310D"Trovatore" propsUnknownWeng
Wednesday, June 8, 196646DSmithy features.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, June 19, 196325DIron or steel blocks.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, July 9, 1961135DStage props in "Trovatore."Threba JohnsonFarrar
Saturday, March 30, 195749ABlocks for metal workers.J. F. KellyFarrar
Sunday, October 23, 195594AProps for "Aïda" chorus.George ArguimbauFarrar