Help support XWord Info

Donation Amount

XWord Info is only possible when people like you choose to support it through donations.

Consider giving $10, $20, or more so this site can continue to provide in-depth analysis of NYT puzzles. Thank you!

Donate any amount and get full access to XWord Info for a year.

Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

101 Results

45 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Tuesday, June 17, 201429DPond growthZhouqin Burnikel
Thursday, April 24, 201454DFood for tadpolesStanley Newman
Thursday, August 22, 201330ADeterrent to swimmingStu Ockman
Sunday, July 21, 2013100DPhycologist's studyTracy Bennett
Sunday, September 2, 2012112ATank top?Joel Fagliano
Sunday, June 3, 2012112ABiofuel sourcePatrick Berry
Tuesday, May 24, 201115ASeaweed, e.g.Michael Blake and Andrea Carla Michaels
Tuesday, June 8, 20103DPond buildup (3)Peter A. Collins
Friday, May 28, 201053APotential pond poisonerJoe Krozel
Wednesday, December 16, 20091AFish tank buildupDavid J. Kahn
Saturday, April 18, 200956ARed ___Byron Walden
Friday, February 29, 200822DPool owner's nuisancePatrick Berry
Monday, February 18, 200847DAquatic plant lifeLynn Lempel
Sunday, February 25, 2007122AAquarium buildupDavid J. Kahn
Thursday, January 18, 200755AAquarium problemRandolph Ross
Monday, September 25, 20063DTiny pond plantsLynn Lempel
Thursday, November 3, 200548DPool problem (2)Byron Walden
Saturday, July 31, 200441AIt may fill up your tankByron Walden
Monday, May 3, 200410DPond buildup (3)Gregory E. Paul
Monday, January 26, 200412DPond growthsPatrick Merrell
Sunday, September 28, 200365DPlankton components (2)Brendan Emmett Quigley
Monday, July 28, 200331DPond buildup (3)Gregory E. Paul
Friday, February 15, 200248APlankton, in partSherry O. Blackard
Wednesday, April 25, 200121APond cover (2)Mel Taub and crossword class
Monday, September 18, 200027DLow end of the food chainSherry O. Blackard and Lyell Rodieck
Monday, May 8, 200056ASeaweedEd Early
Saturday, April 15, 200048DFrog spitRaymond Hamel
Sunday, February 27, 200083DTank buildupHarvey Estes
Thursday, February 17, 20004DWith fungi, they form lichensMatt Gaffney and David Bianco
Sunday, October 10, 199989ACertain thallophytesCathy Millhauser
Saturday, July 10, 199929ASea drifters?Rich Norris
Saturday, October 17, 199857APool problem (2)Bryant White
Sunday, May 31, 199842ABasis of the marine food chainCathy Millhauser
Tuesday, December 16, 19972DLake lifeElizabeth C. Gorski
Monday, November 3, 199732DPond covering (2)Stephanie Spadaccini
Wednesday, September 17, 199720ASwimming pool problemKaren Hodge
Saturday, August 23, 199710ASign of stagnationRich Norris
Wednesday, July 30, 199759APool owner's headacheJohn D. Leavy
Tuesday, December 19, 199511DPond cover (2)Marie Heller
Wednesday, August 30, 199522ATiny hydrophytesJohn R. Conrad
Sunday, January 1, 199572APlankton components (2)Henry Hook
Wednesday, November 23, 199425DPond filmSusan Smith
Sunday, September 11, 199464DFish foodLouis Sabin
Sunday, August 14, 1994121DSpirogyrasDeborah Kathryn Trombley
Tuesday, November 23, 199365APond covering (2)Lois Sidway

1 result for ALGAE from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
June 17, 2007diagramless16ACanal growthBarry L. Cohen

55 results for ALGAE from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Wednesday, August 12, 199210DWater plantsJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, May 31, 199281DWater plantsEugene T. MaleskaMaleska
Saturday, March 21, 199223DPool owner's baneTimothy S. LewisMaleska
Wednesday, January 1, 19923DWater plantsJoy L. WoukMaleska
Sunday, October 27, 199134DSeaweedsMary M. MurdochMaleska
Friday, April 20, 199048ACause of pool problemsBernice GordonMaleska
Thursday, August 4, 19884DSeaweedsJames E. Hinish, Jr.Maleska
Friday, February 19, 198843ADiatomsJim PageMaleska
Thursday, June 4, 198725DRockweedsMary S. SnyderMaleska
Tuesday, December 30, 198640DBane of pool ownersMelvin KenworthyMaleska
Saturday, June 14, 198647AStonewortsCharlotte ShoreMaleska
Wednesday, October 2, 198514APond growthJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Monday, April 22, 19855ASea mossesH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Thursday, September 20, 19842DSeaweedsShirley SolowayMaleska
Wednesday, June 6, 198445DSeaweedsH. Hastings ReddallMaleska
Monday, April 16, 198438AKelp and nostocVirginia L. YatesMaleska
Friday, October 14, 198318DMarine plantsWilliam E. HeinemannMaleska
Thursday, February 17, 198325DSea growthJoel D. LafargueMaleska
Saturday, December 25, 198249DSeaweedJohn M. SamsonMaleska
Friday, February 12, 198262ASeaweedsWhittenMaleska
Sunday, August 23, 198172AStonewortsArnold MossMaleska
Thursday, October 30, 198011DPlants containing chlorophyllBensonMaleska
Wednesday, October 22, 198063APool owner's banePlattMaleska
Wednesday, July 23, 198030DKelp and Irish mossHarriet Gilson RosenbergMaleska
Wednesday, June 11, 198065ASwamp growthsCarlyleMaleska
Tuesday, January 22, 19809DWater growthsHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Wednesday, May 16, 197944DSeaweedHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Thursday, March 30, 197814AWater plantsBette Sue CohenMaleska
Wednesday, August 10, 19775AChief aquatic plant lifeHerb L. RisteenMaleska
Tuesday, May 3, 19772DSeaweedsAlice H. KaufmanMaleska
Thursday, March 3, 197721ARootless plantsMike MillerMaleska
Sunday, September 26, 197635DAquatic plantsJordan S. LasherWeng
Thursday, July 22, 197636AWater plantsFrancis HuetherWeng
Sunday, August 24, 197569AWater plantsJim PageWeng
Friday, July 11, 197532DSeaweedsJack L. SteinhardtWeng
Sunday, April 20, 197517DSeaweedsMary M. MurdochWeng
Sunday, January 2, 19724DPond scumFrances HansenWeng
Wednesday, November 15, 196742AKelp.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 12, 196735AWater plants.UnknownFarrar
Thursday, June 1, 196734ASeaweed.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Sunday, May 29, 196696ASeaweed.B. A. HeimbinderFarrar
Thursday, January 13, 196631DSeaweed.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, December 26, 196591DPond scum.Frances HansenFarrar
Monday, March 1, 196547AKelp, dulse, etc.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, May 13, 196453ASeaweed.UnknownFarrar
Monday, October 14, 196350DSeaweeds.Leonard SussmanFarrar
Monday, June 3, 196346AWater growth.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, February 11, 196228AStoneworts.Threba JohnsonFarrar
Wednesday, July 26, 196112DSea lettuce and rockweed.UnknownFarrar
Monday, July 3, 196147ASeaweeds.UnknownFarrar
Monday, March 20, 196133DSeaweeds.UnknownFarrar
Saturday, December 3, 196028DSubject for study in 27 Across.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, October 5, 196035DSeaweeds.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, August 31, 19605DPond life.UnknownFarrar
Friday, August 26, 196016ASeaweeds.UnknownFarrar