Find clues or match patterns

See all the clues for any answer word,
or all answers that match a specified pattern

Pattern matching options:
Sort items:
Answer length:
length enforced when pattern includes *
Enter a word or pattern:

22 Results

7 Shortz Era entries found. Click any date for context. Repeated clues show (number of Shortz Era occurrences). See the dictionary definition.

DateGridClueAuthor
Wednesday, December 22, 201026AFrench theologian who wrote "Sic et Non"Michael Sharp
Saturday, April 3, 20103D"Sic et Non" theologianPeter A. Collins and Joe Krozel
Sunday, December 17, 200648D"Sic et Non" authorJoe DiPietro
Sunday, May 22, 200596ALover of Héloïse (2)A. J. Santora
Saturday, September 4, 20041ATheologian who wrote "Sic et Non"Patrick Berry
Thursday, June 7, 200143AHéloïse's correspondentRandolph Ross
Friday, January 26, 199641DLover of Héloïse (2)M. Nosowsky

1 result for ABELARD from Variety puzzles.

DateTypeGridClueAuthor
April 20, 2003acrosticFMedieval theologian with an illicit loveEmily Cox and Henry Rathvon

14 results for ABELARD from older pre-Shortz puzzles.

DateGridClueAuthorEditor
Sunday, April 19, 199211AIll-fated lover of yoreNancy Nicholson JolineMaleska
Saturday, December 28, 199113DHéloïse's belovedPageMaleska
Tuesday, December 4, 199044DBeloved of HéloïseMelvin KenworthyMaleska
Saturday, February 10, 199012AHéloïse's belovedNancy JolineMaleska
Tuesday, January 19, 198849ATutor of HéloïseBernice GordonMaleska
Sunday, May 24, 198729DStudent of Guillaume de ChampeauxS. E. WilkinsonMaleska
Sunday, February 12, 198499AHéloïse's belovedDerrick C. NiedermanMaleska
Friday, May 23, 198023DHéloïse's belovedDorothea E. ShippMaleska
Saturday, September 22, 197316AFrench philosopherUnknownWeng
Tuesday, October 20, 197048DFrench scholar and loverUnknownWeng
Monday, January 11, 196540AFrench scholar.UnknownFarrar
Wednesday, July 31, 196336DFounder of the Univ. of Paris.UnknownFarrar
Tuesday, February 9, 19603DFrench philosopher of 12th cen.UnknownFarrar
Sunday, May 24, 195986AHeloise's Pierre.Jack LuzzattoFarrar